We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron Mediterranean Kitchen

Saffron Mediterranean Kitchen
125 West Alder, Walla Walla, WA 99362
(509) 525-2112
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 114 Restaurants in Walla Walla
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Great owner / chef presence. Wonderful food. Wait-staff very good. Interesting/ creative food with middle-eastern trend.
Again like family for me. Wish i owned this one too.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    62
    22
    10
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Superb and Unusual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is, flat out, one of the best meals my wife and I have had in years (and we live in Paris for part of the year). We sat at the "Chef's Table" so were able to watch our flatbread, our sturgeon, and everything else that we ordered being prepared. The service was...well, it wasn't like "service" at all; it was like being a guest in someone's home. We talked about food and wine with the owner and her chef husband; we talked with the sous chef and our waiter, who helped us to order and to choose just the right wine. I can usually find something that might be improved--food, ambience, service--but in this case nothing. It was perfect and we hope to return soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
270 reviews 270 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
580 helpful votes 580 helpful votes
“Saffron is, bar none, the best restaurant in Walla Walla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

As usual, we spent Saturday evening during Fall Release at the Chef’s Table. We love Island and Chris and Bo, our server, is always a delight. This weekend did not disappoint as our simple dinner choices were flawless. After a day of tasting wine, it was just the perfect ending to an enchanting day.

Usually we bypass wine at this point, having had our full, but a glass of wine, recommended by Bo, complimented our meal and we couldn’t say no! Sparkling water doesn’t hurt both when you are yearning for liquids and want something light to quench your thirst!

We started our meal with their mixed green salad made of organic greens, house made red wine vinaigrette, Valdeon bleu cheese & fried shallots. Perfect for sharing. And, when at Saffron, you must try their flatbreads (all made in house). We choose the Lahmachun, a very thin Turkish flatbread, with a thin layer of tomato-pepper purée, topped with spiced lamb & lemon oil and finished with fresh parsley. It’s very fun to eat as you roll it prior to eating. I love ‘playing’ with my food and eating with my fingers, so this is a perfect dish for me.

Our main course was their Tagine of Guinea Hen. Wonderful, mysterious flavors blend with the tenderest of meat. It falls apart as it intermingles with wild mushrooms, tender leeks and a semolina crumble. It will transport you to exotic places.

By this time we usually don’t’ have room for dessert, but simply had to try the panna cotta. I forget exactly how it was described, but it had a unique blend of ingredients and all of a sudden I was transported back in Istanbul. So fun to travel without leaving the comfort of the restaurant!

There are several items on their menu I see over the months that I want to try at Saffron, but I think I’ll have to go back during the various seasons instead of just Fall. As they change their menu to take advantage of each season’s bounty, your favorite dish might not be on the menu when you go. Check out their website where they have their current menu listed.

Notes: Make sure to make a reservation. Their policy is to wait until all your party arrives before seating. Due to the small venue, it can get quite noisy, but that’s part of what makes it festive and fun. They don’t take American Express, if that is the card you usually use. This is restaurant in which most of their items are meant to be shared…all the better for being able to taste a lot of incredibly wonderful, exciting, sensational flavors!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton. NY
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Don't Let the Storefront Look Put You Off”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We almost didn't go in when we pulled up in front of this very casual looking establishment. We are very glad we entered. The food is really good, a little different with a Mediterranean flair. The service is very good and very friendly. We were curious about the Walla Walla onions, so they made a point of preparing a few for us. The clientele in Walla Walla is surprisingly sophisticated and really enjoy the fine wines available in the Washington wine country. If you are int the area, don't miss Saffron.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Try the turkish flat bread! Enjoyed dinner there. Beautiful decor. Reservations are a must. Nice service. Wines good too

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Mediterranean Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Saffron Mediterranean Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron Mediterranean Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.