We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Sweet Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Colonial Motel to your Saves list
Colonial Motel
2279 East Isaacs Ave, Walla Walla, WA 99362   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Walla Walla
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Port Hadlock, WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home Sweet Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is our home away from home in Walla Walla. We love the Colonial. Spent 4th of July weekend at the Colonial and had a wonderful stay. Great air conditioning. BBQ is a bonus! Don't overlook the heartfelt hosting Dick and Carolyn do at the motel. And their son has joined the team too!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    36
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
25
49
8
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

After reading several reviews we decided to stay here for 2 nights. The place is neat and clean and has a great little courtyard garden with fountain. It's a nice place to sit and relax and one of the only places anywhere around you can find a bit of shade.

We should have done a bit more research however. It's about 3 miles to downtown, and we were on our motorcycle. Unlike many, we actually wear protective gear which makes it a bit of a task when it's 95 degrees and you just want to go downtown for a bite to eat. Their website says walking distance to eating and shopping.... Yeah, but that's a bit of a stretch. There's a Big K Mart across the street and some fast food about 1/4 mile away but we didn't see much else.

The staff is very friendly and you can tell they are committed to you having as nice a stay as possible. And for only $66 a night, there's really nothing you can complain about. Just a bit too far from downtown.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

If road trips are a classic American institution, so is the Colonial. Quaint, clean, affordable, and very friendly, it is a must stay for anyone hitting the road in and around Walla Walla. Comfortable beds, 5 minutes from lake side hiking, and a resident flock of pelicans (ask John), what more can you ask?

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Fresh white motel is tucked behind a center yard of trees and a cultivated garden, on old Hy 12, facing the Blue Mountains. Knotty pine paneled room,includes amenities of crisp bed linens, good bed, soft pillows, fluffy towels, water glasses in paper wrappers, and nice soap. Bathroom is immaculate although in need of cosmetic work. Owners are gracious and welcoming. Motel is easy drive from lovely town of Walla Walla with good restaurants on tree lined Main Street. Excellent quality for price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

John, Dick and Carolyn:
You made my stay in Walla Walla an enjoyable experience. I found the accommodations comfortable, the room clean, quiet and very close to Whitman College- where I attended my grandson's graduation.
Should I find my way to Walla Walla in the future, I will certainly make reservations for another stay. I would also be more than happy to recommend the Colonial Motel to others.
Ray

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is an old style motel that has been well maintained. Our room was clean and quiet. The price is very reasonable. Breakfast is not included, but there are several fine places to get breakfast nearby in downtown Walla Walla. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

TripAdvisor has not let me down yet. We loved this place. The place is older, but nicely maintained. The owners were very friendly and most helpful with restaurant choices. The garden area was beautiful. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonial Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Motel

Address: 2279 East Isaacs Ave, Walla Walla, WA 99362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Walla Walla
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Walla Walla
#4 Romantic Hotel in Walla Walla
#4 Family Hotel in Walla Walla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Motel is conveniently located in Walla Walla's Eastgate area midway between Walla Walla Community College and Whitman College. One mile from the Walla Walla airport complex and the airport winery zone. We are about 5 minutes drive from Walla Walla's award winning downtown and the Marcus Whitman Convention Center. In our clean homey rooms you will find free Wi-Fi internet connection, coffee, remote control cable TV, microwaves and refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Colonial Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonial Hotel Walla
Colonial Motel Walla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.