We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Duck Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walla Walla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fat Duck Inn
Save
You added Fat Duck Inn to your Saves list
527 Catherine St, Walla Walla, WA 99362   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Walla Walla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Eagle, Idaho
2 reviews
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My husband and I had 2 nights away and had never been to Walla Walla. Based on reviews I selected the Fat Duck Inn...and they did not disappoint! A seamless stay, beautiful, clean, comfortable, wonderful hosts, amazing food! A lovely walk into town each night, and home again after incredible wine tasting and food! We were extremely happy with every aspect of our stay! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    13
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
92
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I spent 2 nights at the Fat Duck Inn in Walla Walla and the only thing missing was the ability to extend my stay. Every element of the Inn was thoughtfully planned and executed from our arrival to our final parting. Breakfast was a true delight and far beyond expectations as was the helpful local tourist advice on best vineyards and places to dine. You can't ask for a better B&B experience. Book it.

Room Tip: Each of the rooms were perfectly appointed. I stayed in the room in the basement and liked the fact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed two nights at the Fat Duck. The breakfast was excellent and artfully presented. Cynthia and her husband are welcoming and gave a number of tips to guests about the area, wines, etc.
The decorations are in good taste and very comfortable.
The bed was excellent with quality sheets!
Central air was welcome on this very hot weekend.
Room tip- the Loon room is a single with no bathroom. The bathroom was advertised as "just across the hall and private for you except during the Sat night dinner". It is really down the hall and off the kitchen and dining room so not private at all. It works out but just beware.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnation, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The food & wine paring for the "Wine Makers Dinner" was fabulous. The inn is very clean, comfortable & inviting. Rich & Cynthia have a true winner with this B&B. The group @ the dinner was very enjoyable as were our hosts. I don't remember when I slept so soundly away from home. A most comfortable bed & amenities with every attention given to detail. Then there is the food. Wow, what a treat! We will certainly take that road trip again with The Fat Duck Inn as our main stop.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was my first time to Walla Walla. My boyfriend and I were both extremely happy with our choice of stay. The home sits in a great, classic neighborhood with many old craftsmen style homes within walking distance to town. The owners were very welcoming and made us feel like home, and served fantastic breakfasts that we enjoyed having on the front porch. Our hosts were also very informative and led us to all we were looking to experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My wife and I decided to experience the up and coming wine and culinary area of Walla Walla. For our five night trip to this hidden jewel of a town, we selected (based on other Trip Advisor Reviews) the Fat Duck Inn. While the reviews we had read sang the praises of the the Inn, as well as Cynthia and Rich, words of praise are insufficient to describe what a great place this is. From the great location in the historic downtown area, to the comfortable appointments of the Inn, to the knowledgeable and welcoming "hosting" of Cynthia to the truly incredible culinary talents and attention to detail that Rich displayed at both our daily breakfasts fit for a king as well as an "out of this world" food and paired wine celebration of the Fourth of July our stay could not have been better.

We experienced a perfect combination of privacy and helpful and friendly hospitality throughout our stay. The attention to detail, evident each morning in Rich's breakfast creations and fully on display at the dinner was remarkable. But as good as the food was, and let me tell you it was more than the equal of the finest restaurants we have been to in New York, Washington, San Fransisco or any major foodie city, the experienced was enhanced by the welcoming atmosphere created by Cynthia and Rich.

Walla Walla delivered all we had hoped for as we enjoyed great wine tastings (don't miss the reserve tastings at L'Ecole 41, Dunham and Long Shadows), fantastic restaurants (The tasting meal at the Marc and dinner at Saffron) and great golf at Wine Valley.

The only negative was having to leave, but even that was offset a bit by planning our next, of hopefully many, return trips to the Fat Duck Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This was my third visit to the Inn, and Rich and Cynthia treat us like family. The breakfasts were great, and Rich introduced a new pastry that was unbelievable. There is always a fun crowd at the Inn, sharing notes and making connections.

Room Tip: The downstairs suite is great for post dinner relaxation
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fatduckWallaWalla, Owner at Fat Duck Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you, please come 'home' soon. There is so much more to see and do in Walla Walla!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fat Duck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fat Duck Inn

Address: 527 Catherine St, Walla Walla, WA 99362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Walla Walla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Walla Walla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fat Duck Inn is a remodeled Craftsman gem in the heart of the Washington Wine Country. Chef-Owner serves superb gourmet dinners. Located on one of Walla Walla's historic tree-lined streets, moments from downtown & Whitman College. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Duck Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.