We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Birthday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whitehouse-Crawford Restaurant

Whitehouse-Crawford Restaurant
55 W Cherry St, Walla Walla, WA 99362
509-525-2222
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Whitehouse-Crawford Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 114 Restaurants in Walla Walla
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 2nd Avenue
Walla Walla, Washington, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Special Birthday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We visited Whitehouse-Crawford with a party of 8 for a Special Birthday celebration. They graciously set the table with provided party favors and served a special dessert. My son had ordered wine as a surprise and that was on the table with a card the restaurant provided. We were very well taken care of and never felt rushed or ignored. The food was Fabulous, from appetizers to ice cream. Our table ordered duck, salmon, pasta, pork and a burger and everyone was happy with their choices. The setting is beautiful with a crackling fire and linen and flowers on the tables. You will enjoy your special meal at Whitehouse-Crawford.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    50
    34
    20
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
walla walla
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Special Occasion or impromptu dining at the bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Whitehouse-Crawford is just simply the best. They have ample room for dining and it is great for large groups. Chef Jamie offers the very finest local ingredients and the menu is always changing depending on what is in season. I love to sit at the bar and watch the magic happen. Besides an extensive wine list, the bartenders mix up the most amazing and inventive cocktails. It's the season for a late-night hot buttered something - so many choices!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food & service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The food was great as was the service but the prices were a bit more than comparable dining we have had.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Left Coast
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“A nice urban feel, but showing its rural side too much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

First I have to say the physical plant at this restaurant is very nice. The ambience at this place is excellent. While generally I am opposed to high ceilings, here they work. The rustic exposed beams and remnants of an industrial setting make this restaurant a visual experience to enjoy.
The wine selection is good, as are the cocktails with an excellent selection of house specialties. Only a single local pour by the glass was a disappointment. Not everything on the list or cocktail menu is available, and I was served the house special aperitif in a Collins glass which was surprising. (It was a tasty cocktail, it was simply HUGE and not really a functional aperitif.)
The menu is very good as well, though I get the impression it has been designed by multiple chefs as it wandered.
The disappointments here relate to the food and the mild service, that could be better. The service was not bad, it simply was not what I would consider to be on par with what the place should be. And the food was spotty. Some dishes were very good, some were ok. Some where dreadful. Like many places, I get the idea that some items are prepared by line chefs that do not know the dish or understand it, and as a result are cooking by rote. One dish tasted and appeared to have been cooked by wait staff or someone unfamiliar with the basic concepts of cooking and was inedible (literally inedible - I was very hungry and could not physically eat it).

I would go back if I had a large group that wanted to celebrate a special event, as the physical plant really is amazing. But if I wanted good food and solid service, then I would go elsewhere.

In sum, this is a great place to hang out, and be and be seen, but very inconsistent with the substance. It is like someone designed a restaurant to look good in a magazine and forgot to fully train the cooks and staff, or stock the place. It might be a good first or last stop on a night of hopping around for cocktails, but not for a nice full dinner.

But for the one dish that was truly inedible (poorly made and salty enough to burn my lips) I would rank this place very good. But as that was one out of three entrees, and a 33% fail rate is way too high, I can't go above average, especially when combined with other inconstancies.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Poor service, exorbitant corkage”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We vstited with a group of 10 while touring wineries in the area. The corkage charge for the table was $15. for the first bottle and $25 for subsequent bottles (for the table, not per couple). One of the wineries we visited called and asked them to reduce the charge but they declined. Our reservation was for 6:00, so the restaurant was not at all busy. Our server, Jeanna, was unmotivated, disinterested and curt in her responses. After our first round of drinks she disappeared for a long period. Finally, one of our group was able to waive her over for a second drink which arrived at the same time as our food and glass of wine to go with dinner. The food, which is prepared on an open fired grill was quite good. However, the rude, slow service and exorbitent corkage (in a winery filled area) would cause us not to return to this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitehouse-Crawford Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Whitehouse-Crawford Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitehouse-Crawford Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.