We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss visiting the Marc!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marc Restaurant

Marc Restaurant
at the Marcus Whitman Hotel, Six West Rose, Walla Walla, WA 99362
+1 509-525-2200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 114 Restaurants in Walla Walla
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Our award-winning chefs don't just craft flavorful, picture-perfect dishes at The Marc Restaurant, they also creates memorable experiences that will expand your palate, engage your senses and get you excited about food. Recently awarded "Restaurant of the Year" by the Washington State Wine Commission, The Marc Restaurant offers a fresh twist on Pacific Northwest Cuisine. The culinary staff works diligently to bring the best of what is in season right from the farm to your table by building relationships with local and regional growers. From the micro-greens grown in-house to the breads and pastries made fresh in the kitchen, a dining experience at The Marc is an encounter with the incredible and an event you'll long remember.
Walla Walla, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't miss visiting the Marc!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

At last, a quiet, friendly, comfortable bar, with a menu of its own, plus availability of the entire selection from the main restaurant. We go very frequently. The food has been good in recent years, but now with the new chef it is outstanding. The lobster bisque, the mushroom soup, the prime rib... I could go on and on. For us the quiet of the restaurant is a major feature: we can speak and hear each other! It's not The French Laundry, but we don't have to re-mortgage the house to dine there. We love the staff: personable, genuine, dedicated to their worksite.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    379
    54
    33
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
milton-freewater oregon
2 reviews
“The Best Prime Rib in the Walla Walla Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2011

Two weeks ago a friend and I had dinner at the Marc Restaurant in the Marcus Whitman Hotel and Conference Center. The service and dessert were fantastic! The best part of the meal was the Prime Rib dinner that I ordered. It had the most wonderful tasting glaze and was cooked exactly to what I ordered. I am never disappointed when I dine at The Marc...and I plan to return soon!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Okay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Went there on vacation with family and have eaten at the lounge twice. Food was great the first day (prime rib dip & burger). Our last day wasn't great at all. Ordered the prime dip again & fish and chips (would've tasted good if there wasn't so much breading, VERY little fish was cooked) and service horrible. We waited an hour for our food both times. The waitress never brought us menus(we took one from another table where someone already ate), silverware (had to flag someone down), our waitress never came once to check up on us, when we were done eating we waited about half hr for a bill so we went up to the bar to pay. After asking for a comment card, it was then our waitress asked how our meal was and what she could do. Told her about the fish and chips and she took that off our menu. Prime rib dip was about $10.00 and the final bill came to $13.00. We decided not to fight this as this was our last night and just wanted to head up to our room. Both nights eating here the staff really did more apologizing to customers for lack of service because of "understaffing" in kitchen and floor, couldn't really understand this reason because there wasn't many customers to begin with.
I have no complaints of bar service as I have gone one day to have a couple drinks & was well-taken care of.
Wouldn't recommend just for service alone. Food was good, service-not so much.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We went New Years day. Hardly anyone there. Staff took care of us, offered the bar menu to the kids and we had a great time. Great local wine at pretty good prices too.

  • Visited January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, USA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A restaurant stretching and not reaching”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

It's not a bad thing when a restaurant tries to set a high bar culinarily and doesn't necessarily reach it. However, one thing that will kill a restaurant is inattentive service and inappropriate pacing. The Marc, at least on this evening, suffered mightly from both and it soured the experience. We had long gaps in service where our finished and dirty plates sat and we ended up having to flag someone down to remove them(we had multiple servers, which only further confused things for us, and them). Another faux pax - they brought salads and appetizers at the same time.
From a culinary standpoint, the kitchen is hit-and-miss. Our salmon hush puppy appetizer was good: a nice spicy sweet remoulade accompanied it but there was simply too much dough. Our caesar salads were not good - mayonnaisy dressing, couldn't detect the mentioned anchovies nor garlic. Our entrees were marred by obviously having sat under heat for a few minutes. My pork shank was smoky and fall-apart tender though. The risotto with lemon zest was toothsome and the lemon well offset the smokiness of the pork. Unfortunately my wife's Washington Chicken - the meat of the locally raised fowl quite most - had a sweet potato "hash" (really just slices) with chantarelles was simply too sweet from apples. There's a good wine list but the prices are gouging a bit. Overall, our food was decent but the service was just plain not there and not knowledgeable about what they were serving or how things were prepared. I would not recommend this place for that reason.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marc Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Marc Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marc Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.