We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss in Walla Walla” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Blackberry Creek

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walla Walla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Blackberry Creek
Save
You added Inn at Blackberry Creek to your Saves list
1126 Pleasant, Walla Walla, WA 99362   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Walla Walla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Bliss in Walla Walla”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

This was our fourth stay at the Inn at Blackberry Creek (IBC) and for us this remains heaven away from home. Barbara Knudson, the innkeeper, should be teaching seminars on how to run a B+B.

IBC is a beautifully restored and thoughtfully updated period farmhouse located just a few blocks from beautiful Pioneer Park and a perfect walking distance to the Whitman campus and the downtown area with its restaurants, quaint shops and tasting rooms. Yet the expansive grounds are beautifully landscaped and create a park like atmosphere that make you feel miles away. Sit by the creek, with a book and listen the the birds and water and feel your pulse slow and your blood pressure drop.

The three rooms are beautifully appointed with private baths and exceptionally comfortable mattresses. The common areas up and downstairs are comfortable and inviting and feel 'lived in'. Barbara's amazing cookie recipes are always available to sample and fresh coffee, tea and drinks available in the kitchen and in the microfridge in your room (all free).

And as others here have commented, Barbara's legendary breakfasts are a cut above anything you will experience anywhere else.

Finally, Barbara and her staff (Sue and Carlie) are such gracious and warm hosts that you can't but feel welcomed and cared for. And Barbara is a rich source of information about Walla Walla and surrounding area..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
301
11
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bettendorf, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

Treat yourself to this exceptionally well-appointed, immaculately clean, stunningly beautiful inn. A true gem in Walla Walla, convenient to Whitman and the downtown shops and restaurants. Start your day with the best breakfast you have ever had: fresh ingredients, extensive menu, beautiful presentation. We loved every minute of our stay and we're still talking about it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Wow. This place is gorgeous! The grounds are beautiful, and the decorations inside are cute. Breakfast was good. The owner woman was very nice. The cookies were super yummy!

We stayed in the room that is on the first floor and has a deck with a jacuzzi. Bed and decor is great, a really nice room. It had a mini-fridge in the closet. The jacuzzi is not super private: it is on the driveway and there is a window from another guest room above it. But we still enjoyed wine tasting followed by jacuzzi time!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

We were referred to this B&B by friends and made our reservations 9 months prior to our stay. Not usually B&B travelers, we prefer the privacy of our timeshare condos. But one night at Inn at Blackberry Creek and I have changed my mind.....at least in regard to this wonderful place! We arrived in the afternoon and were greeted by a lovely lady who showed us the lay of the land and our rooms. Every attention to detail was apparent.....fruit in a bowl, fresh (and oh-my-God-delicious) cookies, popcorn to pop, fresh coffee, ice cream pints to purchase in the freezer, the list goes on and on. Our room was a splendid example of how to make people feel comfortable. Fabulous bed with luxurious linens and pilllows, robes, a small refrigerator with complimentary water and soda, not just one chocolate, but an entire bowl, and on and on. There were bikes on the porch to use whenever you want.

After an amazing night's sleep, we enjoyed coffee in adirondack chairs on the manicured lawn and entered for breakfast. Ummm, YUM!

There are not enough accolades for the Inn at Blackberry Creek. We were so sad that we were only there for one night. Will we be back? Heck yeah!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

The service was excellent, we were greeted and welcomed the moment we arrived. Barbara, the owner is an exceptional host. We were shown around and treated to freshly bake cookies right away. Barbara took care of all of our needs and helped us find a place to have dinner nearby.
The room was large and comfortable..We especially liked the decor and spaciousness of the room along with the large private bath.
The grounds were beautiful, hand manicured by the owner. There are quite places to sit and enjoy the little creek that runs through the property. At night, we listened to the water feature in the nearby pond as we were lulled to sleep by the singing frogs.
The breakfast was amazing. We were given a choice of eating in our room, the dining room, or out on the patio. We were also given the choice of time. When we sat down and discovered an actual menu, we were pleasantly surprised at the choices provided. There was homemade pastries, fresh fruit along with a host of other items to choose from. What a great way to start the day!
We loved our stay at the Inn and hope to get back again some day.

.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

If you are looking for place to get-away from all the day to day stress...THIS IS IT!
Every detail of this inn is perfect. The room, the gardens and of course Barbara's breakfast, all truly amazing. We will definitely be back.
Sonia & Fred Z

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port orchard, wa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

This was our second stay at the Inn at Blackberry Creek. The house is lovely, the bedrooms large and nicely appointed, the beds are comfortable, the grounds are beautiful, the bathrooms are perfect; all in all, after staying at quite a few b and b's I have to say that this one is "done right." It's not stuffy, prissy or pretentious. It's spotless, friendly, and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Blackberry Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Blackberry Creek

Address: 1126 Pleasant, Walla Walla, WA 99362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Walla Walla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Walla Walla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Historic Property with modern ammeneties decorated in the English Country Style. The Inn is situated on approx. two acres of rolling lawns and large shade trees. This very private facility is totally dedicated to guests, all rooms have king beds/private baths, TV,VCR,Mini Fridge, Electric Fireplaces, One room has private hot tub and private deck. One Suite has a private hot tub and garden, and a small kitchen. Two blocks from pioneer park, close to downtown, wineries and Whitman College. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Blackberry Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.