We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Basel Cellars Estate Winery

Basel Cellars Estate Winery
2901 Old Milton Hwy, Walla Walla, WA 99362
509-522-0200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 83 things to do in Walla Walla
Attraction details
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

If you can only go to one winery in Walla Walla make it this one.  The setting is everything.  High up so that you can see the vineyards and the incredible estate you want to stay here all day.  Friendly, beautiful and great tastings make this a favorite site to visit in Walla Walla.  And...... they rent out the whole place for events, weddings and more for a very reasonable price compared to the Napa Valley which is much closer to where I live.  Do check it out. I read the other reviews after we went here and was very surprised. The staff was very friendly and we bought 2 bottles of their wine! Try it for yourself

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Waste of Time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Worste winery experience in Walla Walla. The new ownership has ruined this place. We used to love it when Becky and Greg owned the winery. It was always so friendly. Now the new managment is rude and your treated as if your a nuisance for tasting. From now on I'll be buying their wine from the grocery store.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful and good wines!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is a must see estate! Drive in the gate, through the vineyard to the beautiful mansion estate. Worth the trip!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
1 review
“Basel Cellars is tops of all Walla Walla Wineries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

If you're considering wine tasting in Walla Walla, I highly recommend tasting and a tour at Basel Cellers Estate Winery. The estate is one of a kind and the staff is incredible. We received a warm reception from a very knowledgeable staff. The grounds and the vineyards were very impressive. I gave very high marks for their "Merriment", a red blend as well as the "Cabernet" and "Cab Franc". I've since found their "Claret" locally and always have bottles on hand. With my membership to their wine club, I am kept apprised of all special events and this winery has many. They treat their club members very well. What a great surprise in Walla Walla.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not my favorite”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stopped by Basel less for the wine (which we heard was mediocre) and more to see the estate (which we heard was wonderful). The drive up the long driveway was fun - the property is beautiful and the house is worth seeing. However, you are not actually allowed to walk around. The tasting room is in a little room off the main house and it is not impressive. The wine was fine, but the setting was not.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basel Cellars Estate Winery also viewed

 

Been to Basel Cellars Estate Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basel Cellars Estate Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.