We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful House, Amazing Suites, Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vine & Roses Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Walla Walla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vine & Roses Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Vine & Roses Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
516 S. Division Street, Walla Walla, WA 99362   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Walla Walla B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bellevue, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful House, Amazing Suites, Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Not particularly a big fan of B&B’s as the whole Victorian style thing can be a bit overdone and kitschy but not at Vine & Roses. This was obviously an impressive house before they did the re-model and craftsmanship and quality that went into its current incarnation is stunning.

We stayed in the Champagne Suite and the term spacious would be an understatement. Despite it’s size it felt very warm and comforting and the finishing’s form the bed, the linens, the furniture to the marble in the bathroom, huge soaking tub and large walk-in shower were amazing.

The staff was fantastic, super responsive in helping us plan and book several wine tastings, warm, welcoming and helpful while we were there and the breakfast served in the morning was amazing.

Great place to stay, we will definitely return here on our next visit to Walla Walla.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Vine & Roses Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
We are so glad you are now a fan of Vine & Roses! We strive to be an unusual experience for all our guests. We gladly await your return visit. Just let us know if we can help plan your next visit as well. Something new next time?! Walla Walla is full of new adventures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
110
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Walla Walla is a small town by most standards. Population 30,000. But it is a wine center and perhaps the next Napa Valley. So lots of wine fans want to come here and of course you will need a place to stay. THIS is the place to stay! Wonderfully redecorated Victorian house more than 100 years old. No expense spared in molding it into a gorgeous B+B. Sierra is your hostess and she cooks up a storm every morning. It is a 5 minute walk from Pioneer park, a must see. You can walk to downtown in 15-20 minutes. No wine served at this place but you can BYO and they provide the cellar or cooler and the corkscrew and glasses. We looked for alternatives, but trust me, you will be happy you chose this place. The only reason you would stay elsewhere would be to save money or you cannot get in because it is already booked by others who beat you to the punch.

Room Tip: Parisian Suite was a great room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Vine & Roses Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Wow, what a great review! Happy to know that you enjoyed your time at Vine & Roses! We love to make sure all the bases are covered! Thank you for the recognition, it means a great deal to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

My husband and I escaped to Walla Walla for a long weekend for our birthdays and Spring Release. Our stay at Vine & Roses B & B was fantastic. This is a beautiful home with very large rooms. We stayed in the Burgundy room which was beautiful, quiet and had the most comfortable bed I think I've ever slept in. The breakfasts were amazing! Owners Kathy and Tim were gracious hosts and gave us great recommendations for restaurants and wineries. We had a very fun weekend of biking, wine tasting and relaxing in Walla Walla. We would highly recommend Vine & Roses.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VandRInnkeeper, Owner at Vine & Roses Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 10, 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We just love Walla Walla, and helping our guests experience and enjoy it as well is our pleasure! Thank you for the wonderful review. We look forward to our guests return visits..they have the familiar feeling of returning home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchum, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We made a last minute reservation as we were driving north to Canada and despite arriving late in the evening, our host readily made us feel welcome and gave us directions to our dinner reservations. Breakfast was fantastic, hearty with fresh fruit and strong coffee. We stayed in the champagne suite and it was a perfect respite after a busy week and eased us into our vacation. We hope to return during the crush to take full advantage of Vine&Roses.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VandRInnkeeper, Owner at Vine & Roses Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
We thank you for your lovely review of Vine & Roses! We loved being your hosts in February, what a great time to come to Vine & Roses for relaxation. Always a pleasure to be your hosts! Looking forward to seeing you during Fall Crush.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

My husband and I along with another couple had the pleasure of staying at the Vine & Roses Bed & Breakfast last weekend. This was our first trip to Walla Walla and we were absolutely delighted with our stay at the Vine & Roses. There has been great attention paid to every detail in this beautiful, comfortable home and the gorgeous antique furniture adds such beauty and warmth. We were welcomed by Sierra and her assistant and made to feel instantly at home. The large spacious kitchen and eating area have everything you'd expect in a high end kitchen. Our breakfasts were delicious, beautifully prepared and presented with a wonderful assortment of dishes at each meal. We stayed in the lovely Parisan Suite that was as sumptuously appointed as any 5 start hotel I've stayed at. The bed, the linens, towels, bath robes and L'Occitane products were all first class. We also had a fireplace and marvelous soaking tub. I know that we'd have been comfortable in any of the lovely rooms. This is the kind of B & B that you will want to return to many times in the future. The owners have thought of every possible comfort including homemade cookies in the cookie jar. The garden has been planted with fruit trees and lovely flowers and the home has a lovely bubbling brook that runs around the perimeter of the property. If the weather had been warmer we'd have enjoyed sitting out on the lovely front or back porches. I have nothing but raves about our stay at the Vine and Roses and we plan on returning as often as possible.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VandRInnkeeper, Owner at Vine & Roses Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you for your glowing remarks about Vine & Roses! We love return guests and look forward to hosting you again and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We stayed here before Thanksgiving (yes I am late in publishing reviews). Loved the attention to detail. We stayed in the Burgundy Suite. The bathtub, fireplace, shower, bed everything was wonderful. We sat in the parlor and played games, cards, drank wine, visited wineries, and enjoyed the breakfasts. It was a nice and relaxing short mini-vacation. We will be back!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VandRInnkeeper, Owner at Vine & Roses Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
We love having guests in November! Thank you for your wonderful review of Vine & Roses. We shall look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

This place is fantastic. We came to Walla Walla to drink some wine and unwind and were successful in no small part because of our stay at Vine and Roses. Days spent lounging on one of the porches and driving to wineries and evenings out eating amazing food at local restaurants and lounging on the porches some more. Relax-o-rama. V&R is located in a lovely neighborhood near a bird sanctuary. It is not easy walking distance to downtown, which may be the only negative I can conjure up, but the drive is only a couple of minutes.

I need to address the feature of this B&B that sets it apart from ANYWHERE we have ever stayed/slept (including our own home), The rooms are near silent. Not just quiet, but practically silent. The place was re-built for lodging guests, so Kathy (the owner) had the rooms designed to block noise from everywhere. The doors are solid core and have sound baffles built into the gaps. The walls are insulated with rock-wool.(sorry for the geekiness, but as a voiceover guy, I can't help it)
As an example: our room had a jetted tub. We decided to use it around 11:30 at night, but were worried about disturbing other guests. So we filled the tub and started the pump. It made the typical noises, not the loudest thing, but not quiet by any means. I went into the hallway (wearing a robe, don't worry) and closed the door. You could only hear the tiniest hum if you put your ear up to the door. We heard no voices or other guests, no vacuum cleaners, nothing. In case you can't tell I'm a horrible sleeper and wake easily with the slightest noise. Not at V&R. We'll go back just so I can get some solid nights of sleep.

The rest of the inn is as others have described it. Kathy and Co do a wonderful job making everyone feel welcome. The food is delicious and plentiful. The wine cellar availability is lovely convenience. The peace is priceless.

Room Tip: Not sure which rooms are quieter, because as far as I can tell, every room is built like a vault.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VandRInnkeeper, Owner at Vine & Roses Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Ah....you have experienced one of our secrets! We have guests who ask for coffee at 6:00 am... but never make it down that early. :) Others ask us, if they have the whole B&B to themselves this evening. :) We just smile sheepishly. .... Say "not really"... very softly. And wait to see their surprised faces when other guests join them for breakfast! The popluar question is, "where in the world was your suite last night?" We smile some more. Do come back for another night of blissful sleep!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vine & Roses Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vine & Roses Bed & Breakfast

Address: 516 S. Division Street, Walla Walla, WA 99362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Walla Walla
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Walla Walla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Walla Walla, surrounded by magnificent gardens, an exquisitely restored 1893 Victorian home offers the finest in luxury and gracious hospitality. Vine & Roses Bed & Breakfast features five suites offering fireplaces, king beds, spacious suites, soaking tubs, and spa showers. Unique features include trompe l'oeil art, cathedral ceilings, period antiques, balconies, a sun room or patio. 5 - 10 minutes to downtown, local sights and most wineries, and walking distance to Whitman College. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vine & Roses Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.