We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Four

Brasserie Four
4 E Main St, Walla Walla, WA 99362-1922
509-529-2011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 114 Restaurants in Walla Walla
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Idaho
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great for Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This is a low key brasserie (complete with a French flag in the window) that has good food and service. Onion soup, an actual baguette, lots of choices on the menu. I recommend it

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    75
    24
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Walla Walla, WA
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fondu Fantastique!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Pleasantly surprised when I made reservation for a Tuesday evening and found out it was Fondu night. Wow, that an experience. Loved the cheese blend in the fondu and the accompaniments that we orded with it. We tried it all, everything was perfect. I would return every Tuesday if I could. I grew up with Fondu for Holiday parties so it was fun to have it again. This fondu is real, authentic and not what you would get at the Melting Pot (which is not good at all). We always have a fantastic bottle of wine, that we choose from the Wine Wall. Our son, enjoyed everything we ordered, he loved the Fondu also. We finished with a classic slice of Tarte Tatin, it was perfect (I learned to make Tarte Tatin from a French Pastry Chef)!! Can't wait to go back. I love this place and it has become our favorite place to eat in Walla Walla!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“They Try Hard...But Just OK...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Superb ingredient quality...Some dishes wonderful, but most suffer from suffocating, heavy handed sauces that numb the food quality...A tarte tatin was an over baked, gooey mess...French fries, on the other hand...are pre-par boilled...as God intended, and might be the best I've had in the US. Cleverly organized, reasonably price, excellent wine choices.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, service needs (a great deal of) work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Love the food, been several times. Our favorite place to eat dinner when in Walla Walla. This trip we ordered several courses, a bottle of wine and food was terrific.

We started with a bottle of wine and starter of salad and pate -all very good. However, only minutes into our starters our 2 main courses arrived-very poor orchestrating on the servers part. We made a comment that this was too soon and he just plunked the plates down on the side of the table and walked away. Dumbfounded! It was obvious he had no clue about timing of courses, nor did he care. We had to stop eating our starters, shuffle plates so we could try our hot dinner while it was still hot. We felt rushed and he was rude and aloof at times. We had to waive the female server down to request more bread, etc. She was great!

It's unfortunate, as service like this can break a place. As mentioned previously, we've been here many times and it's been better, but this was a special 10 yr Anniversary dinner and we couldn't wait to get away from this inept server back to our hotel.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walla walla
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Trendy but casual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Brasserie Four is a perfect spot for high-end casual dining. I believe they are "French Country." I love the quiche and salad - fresh high quality ingredients and fabulous flavors. Large selection of wine to have there or take with you.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Four also viewed

 

Been to Brasserie Four? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie Four, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.