We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took me back to France” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Four

Brasserie Four
4 E Main St, Walla Walla, WA 99362-1922
509-529-2011
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 114 Restaurants in Walla Walla
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Took me back to France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We were lucky to get in on a Saturday night after rolling into Walla Walla that afternoon. The steak frites - perfect. The sliced medium rare steak in a pool of creamy, rich gravy, had great char on the outside, while the pile of frites stacked on top were perfectly crisp, with just the right amount of salt. While they have lots of French wines, stick with the local Walla Walla wines.

The only dislike is that I wish they'd update their website and include their menu.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    71
    22
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kabul
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Lovely food, friendly staff on main street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Visiting from the East Coast. Visited on a stormy night and the place was still very busy - the staff were super and the food was generous and delightful. Would have liked more local wine - but understand the french influence here. Very very nice place. Highly recommend.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Classic and inventive french cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

Relaxed atmosphere with solid food with a french flair. We had a new dish on the menu, "Tartilflet" (? spelling) that melted in our mouths. Excellent onion soup that had the perfect amount of salt, great Cassoulet, and a good selection of cheeses. Unique approach to wines - they sell them by the bottle at retail prices which saves some $. Overall a great experience.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Your introduction to French food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I ate here after ecommendations from several locals. I had the Steak Fritte which was quite good. My husband had the fish special of filet of Dover Sole. The fish was well cooked and very light, however at $16 it was quite a small portion and came with no sides. He also had parsnip and Jonagold apple pureed soup. It was very good and an unusual selection. Dessert was creme brulee...good but fairly standard. All in all we felt the overall price wasn't too bad. The decor is sparse and tasteful. The lighting was very low and romantic. A good choice, but not the best food we had in town.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Relaxing Night Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This was a very pleasant surprise in Walla Walla. We thoroughly enjoying the marinated olives and Steak Frites. The steaks was cooked perfectly to our liking and the quantity was Very generous & our puppy was a very happy boy later that night. However, I could not resist ordering the hazelnut crepe - Fantastic! The wine list was extensive enough for what we were interested in & the bartender was very helpful in finding just the right wine for my taste that evening. The atmosphere was very friendly and they had a full house. The staff overall were very attentive w/o being annoying. The decor was a little more muted than I had expected for a french restaurant, but the cushions on the bench sitting were a very nice touch. If in the area again, we will definitely revisit.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Four also viewed

 

Been to Brasserie Four? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie Four, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.