We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In town for vacation & a college tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 West Rose Street, Walla Walla, WA 99362   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 hotels in Walla Walla
GreenLeadersGold level
LA California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“In town for vacation & a college tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were on vacation and driving from Seattle via Walla Walla and could not have been more pleased with the decision. The Marcus Whitman is nothing short of first class. We were given an upgrade for the old part (which I would ask for upon check in) and it was FANTASTIC.

Along with the room and location, the buffet breakfast is AWESOME!!!!

Very nice place can't think why everyone wouldn't.

You will be happy, trust me.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    528
    131
    41
    30
    20
See reviews for
83
269
30
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The staff is incredible, from the front desk to the cleaning staff. I have stayed in both the main tower and the more modern West wing. Both are very comfortable. The tower suites offer beautiful updates to a historic old builing. However if you are staying in the West wing, opt for the standard King room and not the Luxury King room. I have stayed in both, and oddly the Luxury King is tucked behind the elevators. The location is fabulous for wine tasting. There are numerous high end winery tasting rooms within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: Don't opt for the Luxury King in the West wing. I have stayed in both the standard and luxury ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This was my first time in Walla Walla & I'm so glad that I was calling the Marcus Whitman my temporary home. I was helping with a wedding for a friend and BRENT was a *phenomenal* contact and coordinator. All of the staff (but Brent especially) were personable & helpful without being fake-nice. Everyone was efficient, warm, and approachable. Also, this hotel is gorgeous.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My husband and I came out to Walla Walla out on a whim after a family loss. All we wanted to do is getaway and reconnect so after doing some quick research we were told to check out Walla Walla and stay at the Marcus Whitman. Superior customer service, thank you Andrea and our junior suite was pure perfection from the elegant living room to the posh bathrobes and bed linens. My husband travels weekly and is a stickler for customer service and was by far impressed. Take advantage of the complimentary breakfast, it is pretty good offering all sorts of pastries, coffee, cereals, juices and hot entrees (bacon, sausage, potatoes, eggs etc…) We look forward to coming back to the MW. While you are in Walla Walla you must experience; The Green Lantern Taver, The Marc (At the Marcus Whitman) Lavender Farm, Watermark Winery, open mike at Vintage Cellars and The Chocolate Shop Wines.

The MW is walking distance to the heart of Downtown and lots of tasting rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights in July.

Staff - Everyone from the Reception desk (Allen rocks!) to cleaning crew was nice and friendly. They all made us feel welcomed.

Room - We stayed in the West Wing. I know many recommend the tower. But we know we will not spend lots of time in the hotel so we chose the West wing. The room was clean and bed comfy. Bathroom has hair dryer. Shampoo, conditioner, soap and lotion are all in dispensers which I liked. I did not need to shake hard to get shampoo out from a tiny bottle.

Breakfast - Loved the homemade yogurt. The menu was the same all 3 mornings; fresh fruits, yogurt, oatmeal, scrambled eggs, potatoes, sausages, bacon, pastries, bread, bagels and cereals. I ate too much as they were good. Although it was buffet, the friendly staff constantly refilled my coffe.

Wifi - I had the best connection I have ever had in any hotels. Fast and reliable.

Location - This was one of the reasons we chose this hotel. Restaurants, stores and tasting rooms are all nearby. Cannot ask for more.

They also have a cart in the lobby in the morning after breakfast hours (coffee, mini scones and muffins) and in the evening(lemonade, iced tea and cookies). One night the cookies were all gone to my husband's disappointment. Checkout the telephone boxes by the reception desk. They totally fit to the lobby decor.

Overall we had a relaxing stay. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I chose this hotel for a birthday surprise for a friend. The hotel surpassed my expectations and was a delightful surprise for my friend. Our room was large with a nice view. Linens were luxurious and nothing was forgotten. If you can swing it, upgrade to a king suite. It's worth the extra money. I needn't spend more time extolling the virtues of this hotel as others already have. Just stay here if you can and God Bless America!

Room Tip: Pay the extra money to get a King suite. It will make your experience one that lasts forever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel looks great outside and even better inside.This hotel had wonderful customer service. From housekeeping to front desk this hotel has a great staff. The front office manager Jonathan Grant is an amazing person who runs the pleasant atmosphere. I have only good things to say and will recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Walla Walla.
Room was very clean, bed was very comfy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 6 West Rose Street, Walla Walla, WA 99362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Walla Walla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Walla Walla
#1 Family Hotel in Walla Walla
#1 Green Hotel in Walla Walla
#1 Business Hotel in Walla Walla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 through a community labor of love, The Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center is a downtown Walla Walla landmark where history and luxury intertwine. The property was fully renovated in 2001 and restored to its original grandeur, while adding modern updates to provide a truly luxurious experience for today's traveler. The full grounds include a 127-room hotel with luxury suites, a state-of-the art conference center featuring grand renaissance ballrooms, six on-site wine tasting rooms, and the award-winning The Marc Restaurant - recently named "Restaurant of the Year" by the Washington State Wine Commission - and The Vineyard Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcus Whitman Hotel And Conference Center
Marcus Whitman Hotel Walla Walla
Marcus Whitman Walla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.