We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th birthday surprise celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 West Rose Street, Walla Walla, WA 99362   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Walla Walla
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Tacoma, Washington
1 review
“50th birthday surprise celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I started planning my wifes 50th birthday celebration 11 months in advance. The first person I spoke with at the Marcus Whitman was front office manager Jonathon Grant and he was so accomodating in helping me with reservations and allowing 3 other couples check into OUR room a couple hours early to help decorate and surprise my wife. It was an absolute surprise and success. EVERYONE at the hotel was so helpful and courteous. The accomodations were spectacular. The restaurant & food were outstanding !! For us this is THE only place to stay while in Walla Walla. We wont stay anywhere else when we return. Thankyou to all at Marcus Whitman for sharing my wifes special day and making it one she wont forget !

Room Tip: there are no bad rooms !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    158
    52
    32
    21
See reviews for
96
326
33
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I have stayed at several places in my business travels and Marcus Whitman ranks right there at the top in regards to their customer service and overall experience. I have not met one person yet who has not made sure that my stay is comfortable. Jonathan at the Front Desk is professional and is always gracious. He remembered me after my first visit which is nice to be remembered after a long day of travel. Therese is also warm and friendly; The staff in the Vineyard Lounge and Restaraunt are fantrastic, and the food is excellent. When they say you are family...I really feel like I am.

Room Tip: The rooms in the tower are worth the extra cost. The rooms in the wing are nice, but the tower room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I would highly recommend the chef's 4 course dinner with wine pairing. I was the best meal I've had in months, and I eat out a lot. As a server, Nathaniel did a nice job, so it was a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

If you're in Walla Walla for a night or two, this is the centrally located place to stay. A beautiful hotel with an immaculate lobby. Plus a great breakfast. After dinner, grab a glass of wine and sit by the fire downstairs,,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

This is a beautiful, historic hotel within walking distances of many downtown shops, restaurants, and wine tasting rooms. The staff friendly and helpful. Thr hotel houses a great restaurant, lounge and tasting rooms. The only down side, no pool or sauna, but does have a small exercise room.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

When I checked out (and I was the only person at the front desk at the time) neither of the two employees even asked me how my stay was! The only question they asked me was if I had received a bill under my door that morning. I thought the Marcus Whitman was a 4 or 5 star hotel but you sure couldnt tell that my the staff. The employees in the breakfast room acted bored, annoyed and tired. I almost felt like I needed to apologize for being there and putting them out. I had told the reservation staff it was a big birthday that we were coming into town to celebrate and they put us in the Annex which was cramped and small. Again, this stay was so average. I could of saved the money, time and hassel and gone to the Davenport to be treated special and like they want my business...Stay at the Motel 6. Its the same as the MW...Sad

Room Tip: Dont let them put you in the Annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

On a long US roadtrip recently I checked into the Marcus Whitman in downtown Walla Walla , and was pleased to find excellent quality rooms at a decent price ($139 - booked direct with the hotel). I was in the tower overlooking the parking lot , rather than the annexe , (which has had mixed reviews) - also watch out for the road noise in some of the tower rooms on the lower levels which look out onto the street - they may not be right for light sleepers. The hotel lobby is spectacular , and reminiscent of the grand old big city hotels , with wood panelling , and high chandeliered ceilings. The decor may be a little dated for some peoples taste , but it shouts quality and is beautifully maintained. The staff are all very well trained , courteous , friendly , and very knowledgeable.
The bedrooms and bathrooms are well appointed with quality decoration , fixtures and fittings - the bathrooms particularly. Bed comfort is excellent with a high quality pillow-top mattress.
Of particular note is the hotel's Marc restaurant, and the Vineyards bar , both serving the same super-quality menu . If you want a fine-dining atmosphere , try the Marc , otherwise the Vineyards bar has a nice relaxed atmosphere , and the food is superb. The winelist is also excellent providing a good choice of local (and other US) wines by the glass , and a selection of bottles that make for good reading as well as drinking. Three local wineries have also setup tasting rooms off the hotel lobby , so you can try some of the areas best wines without even leaving the hotel..... however there are many more tasting rooms downtown within walking distance of the hotel, so you wont need to worry about drinking and driving.
The one oddity here is the breakfast , which , by the way , is included in the room price. Let me say right away that there is NOTHING WRONG with the food quality , and items offered.....what I found strange is that the breakfast is so.....ordinary.....buffet style with the hot dishes kept warm in the hot-water bath style of stainless flip-lid containers. It just seemed odd to me that for a hotel which has such a high standard of accommodation and boasts one of the best fine-dining restaurants (in the entire region) , that the breakfast is so...ho-hum.....when there are clearly the facilities here to do something really special , even if it was provided at extra charge.....food for thought for the hotel's management I hope. If you want to try an interesting alternative , a 5 minute drive to 'Bacon & Eggs' (yes, seriously) down the street , offers a wider range of hot breakfasts , as well as the low-fat options for the health conscious.
I would not hestitate to return to the Marcus Whitman , and a very high standard for a small city.......... it is clearly the number one place to stay in town.

Room Tip: Watch out for the rooms in the tower , closest to the road junction on the lower levels - they may b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 6 West Rose Street, Walla Walla, WA 99362
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Walla Walla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Walla Walla
#1 Family Hotel in Walla Walla
#1 Romantic Hotel in Walla Walla
#2 Business Hotel in Walla Walla
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1928 through a community labor of love, The Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center is a downtown Walla Walla landmark where history and luxury intertwine. The property was fully renovated in 2001 and restored to its original grandeur, while adding modern updates to provide a truly luxurious experience for today's traveler. The full grounds include a 127-room hotel with luxury suites, a state-of-the art conference center featuring grand renaissance ballrooms, six on-site wine tasting rooms, and the award-winning The Marc Restaurant - recently named "Restaurant of the Year" by the Washington State Wine Commission - and The Vineyard Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marcus Whitman Hotel Walla Walla
Marcus Whitman Hotel And Conference Center
Marcus Whitman Walla

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marcus Whitman Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.