We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who thought school could be so much fun!?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schoolhouse at Cannondale

Schoolhouse at Cannondale
34 Cannon Rd., Wilton, CT
203-834-9816
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Schoolhouse at Cannondale is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 46 Restaurants in Wilton
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Next to train station
Transit: We share a parking lot with the Cannondale Train Station that connects in Norwalk CT.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Who thought school could be so much fun!?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Schoolhouse at Cannondale is amazing on every level. Inventive and delicious dishes, great atmosphere and friendly staff! I went for the first time earlier this month and I can't wait to go back again! I must try for any foodie!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    11
    13
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
378 reviews 378 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Go On Thursday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This farm to table restaurant is still terrific. Go on Thursday when you get a special 4 course dinner for $40 - you select from among two choices for each course. Some of the courses include ingredients rarely seen elsewhere or in unanticipated and surprisingly pleasant combinations. Occasionally a choice is just so-so, but most are excellent so if you are not too picky this is a great place to experience farm to table cuisine. The restaurant is set in a historic one room schoolhouse - quaint as could be.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I will never go back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I went here a couple of months ago for brunch, and to start it off the host/manager? was completely rude. We were a "walk-in" and the host just said to me that they were busy and walked away. My husband came in after parking and inquired about a table and the host finally sat us. We waited over an hour for a mediocre burger, which actually had a piece of plastic in it. When I told the manager he just shrugged it off, and left it at that! My husband's side order arrived 10 minutes after we finished our meal. The waiters never checked in on us,as we sat with empty plates and water glasses, and they wouldn't even look our way when we needed to flag them down. It's a shame because it's a cute location, but I would never go back and give them any additional business.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, CT
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Much Better Years Ago”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Cannondale was a remarkable upscale shopping area years ago. One could browse through antiques shops and specialty restaurants in a cozy, nostalgic venue. Sadly, that is not the case the last time I visited.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Go back to School!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This astounding restaurant is mostly farm to table and locally sourced. Fresh, invigorating, creative. The chef is young and hip and prepares food that is truly memorable. Excellent wine list. The tasting menu on Thursday nights is not to be missed. Best value in the state.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schoolhouse at Cannondale also viewed

 

Been to Schoolhouse at Cannondale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schoolhouse at Cannondale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.