We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as always. ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cactus Rose

Cactus Rose
5 River Road, Wilton, CT 06897
(203) 762-8484
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 45 Restaurants in Wilton
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Danbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent as always. ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Had an excellent meal here once again. The drinks were good, the corn chowder was amazing as was the tequila chicken. This place never disappoints. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    4
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilton, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Always a smile and a warm welcome
The food and menu is creative ,tasty, and beautifully presented.

Looking to the next visit

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellence Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We dined outside on their patio that had a real southwest atmosphere. The food and service was great. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to others. I will be returning to try other items on the menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Outdoor Patio, drinks and tapas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I like having an early dinner here while waiting for the kids at their kung fu lesson. The outdoor covered patio and the incredibly fresh food is what this place is all about. We usually order a couple of mojitos with muddled cucumber (a drink so refreshing and delicious that I copied it at home) and four tapas between the two of us. Everything has been super fresh, creative and nicely presented. The drinks, though delicious, are a bit skimpy in size, so I end up having two when normally one would be sufficient. As we go quite early at 5:30, I cannot comment on the experience at a more normal dinner time. It might be wise to make a reservation to eat outdoors in case the patio gets crowded. I would not care to eat inside. The hostess is charming and all the staff seem to be speaking Spanish, which adds to the authenticity of the place, with its Mexican name.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Incredible surprise....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

An unexpected visit to Wilton at lunch time enabled us to find this wonderful gem. As we drove by a shopping center, we noticed several restaurants listed on the marquee. We drove through the parking lot to check out the offerings and were charmed by the exterior of the Cactus Rose. We were seated right away and offered the opportunity to sit outside near the fireplace. Inside looked lovely, but the outside patio had several hanging baskets decorating it and was just so pleasant. We both ordered the Shrimp Burrito; they were served with a small but more than adequate side green salad with julienned carrots and jicama. Service was excellent (everyone was realllly nice!), and someone was around filling my water glass constantly! We were full in spite of not ordering any additional starters or sides. The prices seemed fine, considering this is Fairfield County!!! We will be back, even though it is more than a 1-1/2 hr dr for us; there are other items on the menu I would love to try, but I enjoyed the Shrimp Burrito sooo much...it might be tough to order something else....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Rose also viewed

 

Been to Cactus Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cactus Rose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.