We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AmericInn Hotel & Suites International Falls

Save Saved
You added AmericInn Hotel & Suites International Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
AmericInn Hotel & Suites International Falls
1500 Highway 71 Box 272, International Falls, MN 56649   |  
Hotel amenities
Prospect, KY
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

This was a blind pick for me as the town was filled up for hotel rooms when we needed to stay. What a pleasant surprise. The room was spacious and had a small refrigerator and microwave. There was a modern flat screen TV and the bed was comfortable. The decor is a bit dated, but the hotel is very clean. No strange odors anywhere to be found. The indoor pool area was nice as well, my daughter reported the water to be COLD though. There is a restaurant on site that we did not try. The lounge was a nice amenity. They had multiple flat screen HDTV's showing various sporting events. Wine selection was limited, but they had several beers on tap including a local microbrew. All of the staff was friendly and helpful. All around this was a nice hotel and I will stay here again when returning to International Falls.

Room Tip: Room 265 has a great view of the Rainy River behind the property. You can see Canada! Room is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    15
    22
    12
    8
See reviews for
22
15
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel was OK as a place to sleep, the room was clean and the front desk staff was very friendly.

The hot tub and sauna were both not working and pool was unheated. My kids still enjoyed the large pool and pool area but they did tell me that the pool was cold to get into.

The largest issue we had was with the breakfast staff. One morning, there was no juice, no syrup for the waffles, no coffee or cups, no knifes or forks and they were down to 2 cartons of milk in the fridge. Once the front desk was told they got the breakfast girl out to help but you could tell she wanted to be somewhere (anywhere) else that morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these International Falls hotels

Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I had been fishing in the back woods for 6 days with the guys. That hot shower and soft bed looked good. It was not the Ritz by any means but it was well kept and clean. The staff was nice and friendly. If you go make sure to see the back of the property. It backs up to the river and the plantings are nice. This one was dead in the middle of moderately priced hotels. I will stay again.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the rear away from the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

This was no "suite". Just 2 rooms combined to form the suite. The furniture is old, mismatched and odd. In the main room as you walk in, there was a wrought iron outdoor table, an old peeling oak nightstand, a cherry wood fern stand (not sure why?), a wine cooler, a microwave and a coffee pot. There was a dirty, cigarette burned sectional in brown, rust and black sitting on red shag carpet. The accessories were equally as odd. Random picture place on random screws on the wall with what looked like dollar store decorations placed on the flat surfaces. The bedroom area looked a little nicer. The bed was large and plush, and the furniture was updated. There was a flat screen tv and a whirlpool tub. The tub had seen better days as the access panels were falling, off, but it was okay. It looked like it needed a good cleaning. The bathroom needs a good mildew spray throughout. Please...if you're going to charge extra for this room, hire someone to decorate it. It needs NEW carpet and furniture. The word will get around, and people will pay the extra to stay here. As it is now, its just plain sad.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

As Noted, an older layout but completely redone. Comfortable and very
livable for the area however note that because it has the only
enclosed pool it will be the site of numerous get-togethers on
weekends particularly in colder weather.

The on-site restaurant and bar is open every evening and while not the fanciest but is certainly more than adequate. Remember where you are!

Staff will work with you to make you comfortable and the owner is
usually available. It will also house most of the traveling workers
and consultants for the large paper plant in town and as well as
holding most of the automobile engineers for winter car testing. There might be many of them but are well behaved and friendly and the free breakfast can get busy when they are in residents..

Free breakfast is adequate for the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, Warks
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Tricky review this one....... Whilst there's nothing fundamentally wrong with this hotel My experience was tainted by the four million kids left to run around the hotel like it was a wonderful maze far to late into the night. There is a pool in the middle of the hotel, great I hear you shout....but beware, if there is a hockey game on our it's simply a weekend the kids will drive you crazy especially if you have a room backing onto the pool area. It was like a fun fair in the middle of the hotel (or for the Brits like having butlins next door;-).

I'm no grumpy old man but I reckon it could really upset some people, the staff didnt seem bothered .....

But, pros !

- good food in the bar !
- staff friendly
- reckon its the nicest in IF
- Room nice enough
- breakfast average really :-/

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here because we could not find any other convenient place to stay in the area. The room was okay, but listed as non-smoking. When we opened the door the smell nearly knocked us over. This is a hunting and fishing mecca and evidently most of the folks staying here are smokers and completely disregard the no-smoking designation.

When we complained to the front desk, the manager on duty came to the room, walked in, and said she couldn't smell anything. I asked her if she smoked, and she said yes. She did give us some spray to help dissipate the odor, but it still lingered and we had less than a restful night.

Room Tip: Come prepared with your own room spray and use it liberally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to AmericInn Hotel & Suites International Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AmericInn Hotel & Suites International Falls

Address: 1500 Highway 71 Box 272, International Falls, MN 56649
Location: United States > Minnesota > International Falls
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 hotels in International Falls
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the heart of vacation paradise! Located on the beautiful Rainy River, you will have easy access to the wilderness areas of Rainy Lake, Voyageurs National Park and our international neighbor, Canada. Come, enjoy small-town friendliness and the comforts of home. Our experienced staff is committed to making your stay a pleasant and enjoyable one. The environment is warm and cozy, inviting you to kick back and relax. Whether inside our convention rooms or outside in our gardens, the Holiday Inn is always the perfect setting for wedding receptions, banquets, conventions, business meetings, reunions, and birthday parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AmericInn Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your AmericInn Hotel & Suites International Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americinn Hotel And Suites International Falls
Holiday Inn International Falls
International Falls Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AmericInn Hotel & Suites International Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.