We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable for Excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Orme Drive, Vicksburg, MS 39180   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Vicksburg
Decatur, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Memorable for Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

In traveling from Georgia to Texas, we found this to be the favorite place we stayed for our winter trip. Everyone on staff was very thoughtful to make sure our needs were met. The breakfast was just right, not too heavy or too light. Yes, Goldilocks would really say, "Just right!" We had a comfortable rest and sleep with no worries. We were even given a goodie bag when we checked out. You will want to check into this Fairfield at Vicksburg!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Manager at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Wow! Thanks for sharing such a wonderful review!

We always love to hear from our guests after their stays, but is extra nice when they have had such a nice experience with us! Our whole team is thrilled to hear that your stay with us was so pleasant and that you were so comfortable here. We hope we will see you again the next time you are in Vicksburg.

Please let us know if there is ever any way we can we can be of service.

Thanks again,
Eric Hoxit
Regional Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    35
    38
    10
    11
See reviews for
40
38
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coppell, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were on the road and called only an hour in advance of our arrival. We were greeted at the door when we arrived. The staff was very courteous. Even though we were dropping in with very little warning, they did everything they could to quickly get us a room. They made us feel very special and their service was a comfort at the end of a long day on the road. At breakfast, the buffet was constantly being refreshed and tables were cleaned right away as diners finished.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Manager at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thanks for such a nice review!
We are so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Fairfield Inn Vicksburg.
It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed our hot breakfast buffet and that our team took such good care of you. We hope to see again the next time your travels bring to the area.
Please feel free to contact us directly if there is any way we can make your travels more comfortable.
Thanks,
Eric Hoxit
Regional Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Due to its location near the National Military Park and the casinos, we chose the Fairfield Inn because I could use by Marriott points. My wife and I stayed two nights while we visited the Park and the local casinos. We had an excellent stay. The hotel was spotless and well-maintained. But we were most impressed with the staff - from the front desk, to the housekeeping folks, and the continental breakfast and happy hour personnel. Everyone was friendly, engaging, and helpful. The complementary breakfast was very good and the complementary happy hour was a nice touch with beer, wine and snacks. Our only disappointment was the upkeep of the pool; the skimmers weren't working and there was debris and bugs floating on the water. But we didn't go there for the pool so it wasn't a big deal.

Room Tip: Get a front room facing the highway, not the back that overlooks a Wendy's drive thru.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacke H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I am glad that you and the Mrs. enjoyed yourselves. We aim to please each and every guest. Sometimes guests don't get all that they want (free rooms) then they complain. I understand that times are hard but we want all of you to be happy. Your response was the pat on the back my team and I needed. The same services you received, they all receive. We want to make you feel as you are home. The pool had debris in it, I'm not sure why but I will keep a closer look at that issue. I do thank you and wife for visiting us here at Fairfield Inn, Vicksburg. Please come again and we will improve as the days go by.


Thank you ,
Jacke Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are small & smelly. Housekeeping needs to tighten up. When I asked to speak with a manager, there wasn't one available upon arrival & checkout. Who does this? For the money, I spent, I was extremely disappointed. The only saving grace was the nice lady at the front desk. She was really nice to my little girl & gave her candy & a coloring book. Overall, the stay was not worth the pay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacke H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
I want to first say I apologize for your stay not being what you expeced. When you arrived, we wanted to make you feel happier than when you walked through the door. We knew something was wrong, we did try to make your stay pleasant. Our staff was hopeful to make that happen, we will never stop trying. Please accept our apology and hope to see you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Over the past year I have stayed at this Fairfield several times. The last trip will be my last. Every time I have stayed, I have had some annoying issue to look past and each trip the annoyance got bigger and bigger.

First the keys did not work on my door. Two or three times a day I had to go the front desk to have them reprogram it. Often this took several trips to get it to work. I got to where I didn't want to leave my room, knowing I couldn't get back in. The key issue has happened during several stays, so it was not just one room.

The elevator smells like burnt electronics. It is pretty scary riding in an elevator with those smells. My first stay I didn't see it as a huge issue and assumed they would be working on it. After almost a year, I would have thought they could have fixed the elevator smell, so this issue did get more annoying.

Cleanliness was hit or miss. Some stays it would be clean, others I found objects left behind from previous guests, bugs in the room, and weird smells.

About 90% of the staff was great, the other 10% not so much. My last check in was done by a lady with her ta-ta's out for the world to see and an even bigger scowl on her face. I dropped something she handed me, and she rolled her eyes. That pretty much set the theme for this entire visit.

The absolute worst thing of all was my final day. I was there on business and this trip had me working until 2:00 or 3:00 in the morning. I was absolutely exhausted by the end of this stay, so on my final night I turned off my alarms, put the do not disturb on the door, and tried to get a few extra hours before my long drive home. Well I guess this was too much to ask for and I was jilted awake by housekeeping twice banging on my door. Not quietly wondering if someone was in there, I am talking about a - the building is on fire and everyone needs to evacuate type of knock and yells. Once at 8:30 and then again at 9:30. At that point I was almost in tears from frustration and exhaustion. Apparently "do not disturb" meant something closer to do not disturb housekeeping if they want to clean your room first thing in the morning regardless of having paid for the room until 11:00. I packed up and left immediately having the angriest drive home I have experienced in many years of travel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacke H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Wow, let me be the first to say I'm sorry. I see you have had a lot of bad stays at Fairfield Inn's and you have stayed here at ours and you have had a bad experience here. We are an older hotel and are making much needed updates. I want extend an invitation for you to come back and visit us here in Vicksburg. I am not sure as to what happened, but it should not have happened. Please don't let that experience be your determining factor with us here. I want you to come back and see if we can get this right. When you decide to come back, contact me personally and I will be around at your service. Thank you for your comment, if things are wrong and no one tells us about it, it will be slow to get fixed. By you letting me know about your stay this soon, I know how to handle the situation. Thanks again for contacting us.


Jacke Hall,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We usually stay at the courtyard Marriott when we come to Vicksburg but decided to save a little $ & stay at the Fairfield.
For the money it is a really great. The beds were nice & upon arrival we got a little bag with goodies for the kids, which they liked. The lady at the front was great! Very accomadating.
The pool was closed, which we didn't know. I agree that it needs updating. It's in a great area alongside I20 which is conveinant. Will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacke H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your stay with us here at Fairfield Inn, Vicksburg. We are delighted to know you wanted to change and you enjoyed your choice. I want to apologise for the pool being out of order. It is now up and running. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you all again.

Jacke Hall,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, MO
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We arrived at the motel at 2:25 PM and were told we couldn't check in until 3:00PM. There were only a few cars at the facility and I really question whether there were no cleaned rooms available.
Though the front desk personnel were polite, I don't feel they were in the least bid accomodating.
We then returned at 5:30PM and were assigned a room. The room was nice, and I loved the pillows, but the bathroom had some mold around the tub. This place is getting old and in much need of maintenance and remodeling.

Room Tip: Check the cleanliness of the room out before you commit to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacke H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us here at the Fairfield Inn, Vicksburg. I am sorry for the check-in process. Check-in is at 3:00 as posted. If there are rooms available, we would have loved to put you in the wonderful room you so much loved. The previous night we were full and checkout time is at 12:00 pm. By the time you arrived, they were just finishing up on the rooms, 3:00 came around, all rooms were done. We are doing all we can to accommodate each and every guest. Thank you for understanding that we do what we can when it comes to making guests happy.

Thanks, again
Jacke Hall, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg

Address: 20 Orme Drive, Vicksburg, MS 39180
Location: United States > Mississippi > Vicksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Vicksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg is a convenient location for guests on business traveling to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Research and Development Center; Grand Gulf Nuclear Power Plant, International Paper and Cooper Lighting to name a few. Leisure travelers will appreciate the easy access onto I-20 for destinations including the Vicksburg National Military Park, Biedenharn Coca-Cola Museum, or Vicksburg's numerous casinos and antebellum homes. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, guests will enjoy complimentary high-speed Internet access, flat screen television with premium cable, and an expanded continental breakfast. Other in-room amenities include mini-refrigerator, microwave, iron, and blow dryer. Featured also are an outdoor pool, business center with computers and printer, and an in-house fitness room. At Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg...Staying is Believing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn By Marriott Vicksburg Hotel Vicksburg
Fairfield Inn Vicksburg
Fairfield Vicksburg
Vicksburg Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.