We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy/ not worth the money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Orme Drive, Vicksburg, MS 39180   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 32 hotels in Vicksburg
1 review
“Filthy/ not worth the money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are small & smelly. Housekeeping needs to tighten up. When I asked to speak with a manager, there wasn't one available upon arrival & checkout. Who does this? For the money, I spent, I was extremely disappointed. The only saving grace was the nice lady at the front desk. She was really nice to my little girl & gave her candy & a coloring book. Overall, the stay was not worth the pay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacke H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
I want to first say I apologize for your stay not being what you expeced. When you arrived, we wanted to make you feel happier than when you walked through the door. We knew something was wrong, we did try to make your stay pleasant. Our staff was hopeful to make that happen, we will never stop trying. Please accept our apology and hope to see you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    32
    27
    9
    11
See reviews for
36
33
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Over the past year I have stayed at this Fairfield several times. The last trip will be my last. Every time I have stayed, I have had some annoying issue to look past and each trip the annoyance got bigger and bigger.

First the keys did not work on my door. Two or three times a day I had to go the front desk to have them reprogram it. Often this took several trips to get it to work. I got to where I didn't want to leave my room, knowing I couldn't get back in. The key issue has happened during several stays, so it was not just one room.

The elevator smells like burnt electronics. It is pretty scary riding in an elevator with those smells. My first stay I didn't see it as a huge issue and assumed they would be working on it. After almost a year, I would have thought they could have fixed the elevator smell, so this issue did get more annoying.

Cleanliness was hit or miss. Some stays it would be clean, others I found objects left behind from previous guests, bugs in the room, and weird smells.

About 90% of the staff was great, the other 10% not so much. My last check in was done by a lady with her ta-ta's out for the world to see and an even bigger scowl on her face. I dropped something she handed me, and she rolled her eyes. That pretty much set the theme for this entire visit.

The absolute worst thing of all was my final day. I was there on business and this trip had me working until 2:00 or 3:00 in the morning. I was absolutely exhausted by the end of this stay, so on my final night I turned off my alarms, put the do not disturb on the door, and tried to get a few extra hours before my long drive home. Well I guess this was too much to ask for and I was jilted awake by housekeeping twice banging on my door. Not quietly wondering if someone was in there, I am talking about a - the building is on fire and everyone needs to evacuate type of knock and yells. Once at 8:30 and then again at 9:30. At that point I was almost in tears from frustration and exhaustion. Apparently "do not disturb" meant something closer to do not disturb housekeeping if they want to clean your room first thing in the morning regardless of having paid for the room until 11:00. I packed up and left immediately having the angriest drive home I have experienced in many years of travel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacke H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Wow, let me be the first to say I'm sorry. I see you have had a lot of bad stays at Fairfield Inn's and you have stayed here at ours and you have had a bad experience here. We are an older hotel and are making much needed updates. I want extend an invitation for you to come back and visit us here in Vicksburg. I am not sure as to what happened, but it should not have happened. Please don't let that experience be your determining factor with us here. I want you to come back and see if we can get this right. When you decide to come back, contact me personally and I will be around at your service. Thank you for your comment, if things are wrong and no one tells us about it, it will be slow to get fixed. By you letting me know about your stay this soon, I know how to handle the situation. Thanks again for contacting us.


Jacke Hall,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We usually stay at the courtyard Marriott when we come to Vicksburg but decided to save a little $ & stay at the Fairfield.
For the money it is a really great. The beds were nice & upon arrival we got a little bag with goodies for the kids, which they liked. The lady at the front was great! Very accomadating.
The pool was closed, which we didn't know. I agree that it needs updating. It's in a great area alongside I20 which is conveinant. Will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacke H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your stay with us here at Fairfield Inn, Vicksburg. We are delighted to know you wanted to change and you enjoyed your choice. I want to apologise for the pool being out of order. It is now up and running. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you all again.

Jacke Hall,
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, MO
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We arrived at the motel at 2:25 PM and were told we couldn't check in until 3:00PM. There were only a few cars at the facility and I really question whether there were no cleaned rooms available.
Though the front desk personnel were polite, I don't feel they were in the least bid accomodating.
We then returned at 5:30PM and were assigned a room. The room was nice, and I loved the pillows, but the bathroom had some mold around the tub. This place is getting old and in much need of maintenance and remodeling.

Room Tip: Check the cleanliness of the room out before you commit to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacke H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us here at the Fairfield Inn, Vicksburg. I am sorry for the check-in process. Check-in is at 3:00 as posted. If there are rooms available, we would have loved to put you in the wonderful room you so much loved. The previous night we were full and checkout time is at 12:00 pm. By the time you arrived, they were just finishing up on the rooms, 3:00 came around, all rooms were done. We are doing all we can to accommodate each and every guest. Thank you for understanding that we do what we can when it comes to making guests happy.

Thanks, again
Jacke Hall, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Booked a room at the Fairfield Inn by Marriott, Vicksburg, MS, however when I arrived, I found out that I made an error on the date for reserving my room. When I reserved the room, I had mistakenly reserved it for the previous night. The manager, Jacke, was very courteous about my mistake and he helped me get a room at the Fairfield Inn for the night. My stay was a good one, clean rooms and a very friendly staff. Since I travel through Vicksburg a few times a year, I am sure Fairfield Inn is the place I will stay. K. Stafford

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacke H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
I am delighted to know you had a wonderful stay with us here at Fairfield Inn, Vicksburg. We are always pleased to have you and your family. We enjoyed having you, you are are family when you are here. We strive to make each and every stay enjoyable. We seem to have done just that. We will be looking forward to seeing you again, soon. As we say in the south, we'll leave the light on for ya.


Thanks,
Jacke Hall, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Very friendly staff. Drinks/appetizers fr 5:30 -7 were extremely appealing aft long drive. Older bldg w/ narrow halls; well-worn, soft mattress. Prepared oatmeal pot w/ dishes of condiments, among other hot breakfast offerings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacke H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay here at Fairfield Inn, Vicksbug. I am glad you had a great stay with us. I wish you had the restful night as you wanted. We are getting better at taking the initiative at pleasing every guest. If you will, contact me upon your next visit and we will chat, perhaps at our evening social. I trust you will have a safe drive and trip.

General Manager,
Jacke Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The front desk staff was great! Everyone was very nice. The room was so clean! The manager was extremely kind and very handsome he always asked "How was your night?" with a great big smile and handled all if any issues i had. I love great handsome managers like the one here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacke H, General Manager at Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Wow... Thank you very much for the compliment. It sure was a good way to start my morning. We here at Fairfield Inn would like to thank you for visiting and sharing such a good experience with us. I am so pleased me met all of your expectations especially dealing with cleanliness and comfort. I hope the breakfast was what you needed also. We pride ourselves on exceptional guest service and satisfaction and it seems as if we have done that. I want to say thank you again for your visit. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg

Address: 20 Orme Drive, Vicksburg, MS 39180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Vicksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 32 hotels in Vicksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg is a convenient location for guests on business traveling to the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Research and Development Center; Grand Gulf Nuclear Power Plant, International Paper and Cooper Lighting to name a few. Leisure travelers will appreciate the easy access onto I-20 for destinations including the Vicksburg National Military Park, Biedenharn Coca-Cola Museum, or Vicksburg's numerous casinos and antebellum homes. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, guests will enjoy complimentary high-speed Internet access, flat screen television with premium cable, and an expanded continental breakfast. Other in-room amenities include mini-refrigerator, microwave, iron, and blow dryer. Featured also are an outdoor pool, business center with computers and printer, and an in-house fitness room. At Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg...Staying is Believing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn By Marriott Vicksburg Hotel Vicksburg
Fairfield Inn Vicksburg
Fairfield Vicksburg
Vicksburg Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn by Marriott Vicksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.