We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice when its what you expect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Vicksburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Vicksburg to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Vicksburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3330 Clay Street, Vicksburg, MS 39183   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Getaway Package
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Vicksburg
Chattanooga, United States
1 review
“Nice when its what you expect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Just a layover for a trip. But when its late at night and you just need a clean place to lay your head down for the night, nice to open that door and find a room you were hoping for. Staff was very pleasant and professional. Will definitely stop again when making the trip in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron B, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Vicksburg, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Mark S,

So glad you chose to stay with us for your trip and that everything met your expectations. Thank you for writing a review to let us know it was satisfactory. Be sure to plan some time to visit the area on your next trip. Any Associate can tell you about the great historic attractions in the area and other "don't miss" opportunities while you are here. Just ask during your visit and they will be happy to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    71
    21
    8
    4
See reviews for
117
115
23
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houma, Louisiana
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

My friend and I spent 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The room was very nice and comfortable. The staff at the front desk were excellent-very helpful and friendly. Perfect location for everything in Vicksburg!! Every where we went in Vicksburg the people were so friendly. The person {I think his name was Randy} serving at the Manager Reception was the only one on our whole visit that didn't seem to like serving or being around people. Never once responded to anything that was said. In spite of that, I would gladly return to the Hampton in Vicksburg. We like to try local restaurants and found the ones we dined in to be good food at reasonable prices. Less than 2 miles from the downtown area which has a lot to see.

Room Tip: Military Park and thoroughly enjoyed the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron B, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Vicksburg, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
wheelingaway,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We loved having you here and we look forward to your return. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the service while you were here. Be sure to start your day of exploring the right way with a hot, complimentary breakfast served in our dining area. From fresh waffles and oatmeal to fruit, pastries, eggs and more, there is something for every taste.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

quiet hotel, nice staff and lovely breakfast area. Breakfast was a wonderful selection of eggs, muffins, etc
They had fresh papaya on the buffet. Outside area has jasmine blooming.
Close to Battlefield, which is a must for Vicksburg

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron B, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Vicksburg, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Lynn M,

Thanks for writing a review of your stay. We loved having you here and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. We are glad you enjoyed our location and the breakfast while you were here. Be sure to join us on Mon - Sat evenings for our Manager's Reception featuring complimentary snacks and beverages. Ask any Associate for more details the next time you check in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Recently stayed at this property while visiting Vicksburg with my family. The hotel is located just across from the entrance to the National Battlefield and is a few short minutes downtown Vicksburg. According to our guide, this hotel is located at the spot where one of Grant's Generals had his encampment during the 47 day siege. Unfortunately for him, he didn't enjoy the same comforts we did while at the Hampton Inn.

The layout is comparable to most Hampton Inn properties, our room was extremely clean, and the lobby was bright with very clean marble floors, friendly staff, and a very pleasant breakfast area. My children enjoyed the pool, which was indoor and very clean. The front desk staff made an outstanding recommendation for dinner (the Beechwood), and was very knowledgable about the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron B, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Vicksburg, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
FishDurango,

Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we appreciate you writing a review of your time here. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and the location to the park and restaurants. Be sure to ask an Associate about other historic attractions in the area. There are numerous museums and historic buildings in the area that offer tours. Any Associate will be happy to provide you with more details and directions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

We were visiting the Vicksburg Military Park as part of a tour of the South and stopped here for one night. Excellent location for the park as it is just across the street. The hotel has a really nice little patio area that is walled off from the car park and was a nice place to sit for the Manager Reception, which offered bottled beers and snacks. The guy serving looked and behaved like his wife had just left him and took the house and car, could be been perceived as rude if it wasn't so funny. Nothing within easy walking distance, restaurant wise though... Made it to a Pizza Hut though. if you are going to the park it's a good place to stay, Vicksburg town didn't look like it had much else to offer from the little we saw.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron B, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Vicksburg, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Gary P,

Thank you for visiting with us and writing a review of your stay. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and the reception while you were here. We apologize for the server at the reception, guess he was having an off night. We pride ourselves on our service and providing the best possible stay for every guest and will forward your comments in our ongoing goal to always improve. If you need suggestions for restaurant ask any Associate and they will be happy to provide you with suggestions and directions during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hattiesburg, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Excellent hotel overall. Very nice accommodations and great location. Very nice large rooms. Bedding was great! Great parking and nice amenities. Complimentary breakfast was more than enough. Staff made me feel welcomed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron B, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Vicksburg, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Paul C,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We loved having you here and we look forward to seeing you again. We are glad you enjoyed the rooms and the service while you were here. Be sure to join us Mon - Sat evenings for our Manager's Reception where we serve complimentary snacks and beverages. After the reception ask an Associate about some of the great local restaurants located near the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

My second visit to this Hampton Inn. Across the street from the battlefield, you cannot beat its location. 1 block from Route 20 exit/entrance. My only disappointment was not getting side facing battlefield and had to look over the back parking lot. Always try to upgrade to the 5th floor. The managers reception does not take place on Sunday, I found out, but this is one of the better Hampton Inns. Breakfast was good, including eggs and yogurts. Parking is tough and when full (FEMA convention there) you can park under a tree which sheds dirt or in the back lot. I also thought the staff seemed friendlier on my first visit...maybe I looked more lost or engaged them more often. there is no other place I would stay in Vicksburg than this Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: 5th floor best. Face national battlefield park. Fun to watch walkers and joggers early in morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron B, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Vicksburg, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Kimo688889,

Thank you for staying with us again. We love hearing from repeat guests and we appreciate your review. We are glad you enjoy staying with us and the rooms that overlook the battlefield. Be sure to check out the battlefield and other historic attractions while you are here. Any Associate will be glad to assist you with suggestions for what to see and directions for getting there. Just ask during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Vicksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Vicksburg

Address: 3330 Clay Street, Vicksburg, MS 39183
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Vicksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Vicksburg
#1 Romantic Hotel in Vicksburg
#1 Family Hotel in Vicksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Vicksburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Vicksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Vicksburg Hotel Vicksburg
Vicksburg Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Vicksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.