We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Couple's Dream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Grove Mansion Inn & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vicksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Grove Mansion Inn & Restaurant
Save
You added Cedar Grove Mansion Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   2200 Oak Street, Vicksburg, MS 39180   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Vicksburg B&B and Inns
Mobile, Alabama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Couple's Dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay. We stayed in the Library Suite because we wanted the living area and the sleeping area separate. The room was beautiful; it met our needs. We agree that this room is perfect for a couple wanting a romantic getaway. The breakfasts that were served were "true" Southern dishes. We ate dinner at the mansion one evening and enjoyed it. The food and drinks were delicious, and our server, Anthony, was polite, friendly, and helpful. The bartender was friendly and fun to talk with. I tried the Cream Brûlée martini and loved it. We did participate in the tour and found out a lot of historical and fun facts about the mansion. As we were touring, we found out a lot of interesting facts about the suite we stayed in.

As we checked in, the desk clerk did not give us a lot of information on the mansion policies and procedures that should have been given to us as we checked in. However, later, another desk clerk was more helpful and gave us the materials and information that we should have received when we checked in.

Room Tip: If you are a Civil War fanatic, stay in the generals' suite...Gen. Grant; Gen. Lee; or Gen. Sher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    37
    19
    23
    21
See reviews for
31
78
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed in the Garden Room which was full of period character, spacious & comfortable with a fireplace in both the bedroom & bathroom. The building is in the garden with easy access and has a brick porch facing across the beautiful grounds to the main house where we could sit & enjoy the surroundings. We did the self-guided tour through the house which was incredibly interesting & informative, but I would not want to stay in the house itself, it would be like sleeping in a museum exhibit. It was only when doing the tour I realised that the guestrooms are part of the tour itself (don't worry, if the door is shut visitors can't go in and just have to miss out seeing that room).We also dined there; the meal was fine but not memorable, but the service was really friendly & the chef gave us free dessert when he heard we hadn't had any lunch that day.
So beware, choose your room to suit your level of history immersion carefully.With the Garden Room I felt we had the best of both worlds. Also, trains go past tooting their horns at night,only 1 block away, thank goodness we were at the back of the house!

Room Tip: Choose a downstairs room if you have a lot of, or bulky, luggage - the stairs are steep & tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband & I stayed 2 nights at this beautiful bed and breakfast. Our first night was in the Grant Room, the second night in the Sherman Room. Despite some of the negative reviews, I chose to book here anyway because of it's historical significance. The whole point of staying here is because of it's history. Really, if you can't appreciate that, go stay at the Hampton Inn. My husband and I are not normally bed and breakfast type of people --I'm not a people person and they make me feel awkward. But it wasn't so at the Cedar Grove Mansion and I am SO GLAD we stayed there! Imagine staying in a place that has ties to President Ulysses S. Grant --even staying the the same bed (different mattress LOL) and Tecumseh Sherman! Imagine staying in a place that was once used as a Union hospital during the siege of Vicksburg! A lot of the furniture is original so yes, that means it is OLD. Like I said, stay elsewhere if you can't appreciate history. But they are such beautiful, ornate pieces. We spent some time exploring the entire mansion and the grounds. We saw the canon ball which had entered through the front door and lodged itself into the wall near the piano. You can still see the patchwork that was done over the door. We were given a little pamphlet that explained a lot of interesting things about certain rooms or certain pieces of furniture. In the dining room is what looks like a wooden buffet but is actually a metal safe --hidden in plain view! That is how the Kleins kept a lot of their wealth while many others lost theirs. Both the Grant Room and the Sherman Room had comfortable beds. The Grant Room is on the first floor right next to the door so you will hear people who are going in and out or going up the squeaky stairs. The bathroom has a tub with a handheld shower so it was a little weird sitting while showering. The Sherman room is more comfortable but not as grand as the Grant Room. It is on the 2nd floor with a regular shower. Breakfast was delicious --southern style grits, eggs, sausage, muffins, and fruit. We chose to eat in the restaurant on our second night and the food was delicious! We also had free wine vouchers for staying at the inn. :) Staff was courteous, rooms clean, and absolutely no issues with checking out. I definitely recommend this hotel for the history buffs out there. BTW, I was kind of fearful of it being haunted... we didn't have any issues. LOL

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a friend in from Virginia so we stopped over in Vicksburg on our way to the gulf coast. This was my second stay at this quaint B&B. we stayed in the carriage house and it was clean and spacious. The only problem we had is the wireless wifi did not work. Other then that , I would recommend this to anyone spending the night in Vicksburg.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I and our two toy Pomeranians had an absolutely wonderful, but, unfortunately, short stay at Cedar Grove Plantation in Vicksburg, MS. We stayed at the Carriage House which is pet-friendly, and all eight rooms there are very spacious two-room suites with antique furniture and modern conveniences. The bathrooms are a bit dated, but that's minor. If you fancy historic accommodations and get excited by the fact of experiencing the grandeur that the original owners created for themselves, this majestic Mansion Inn is for you. If only walls could talk ! There is a bit of the ghostly theme there as well.......... just ask a few people at the reception who have worked at the inn for at least several years........... The restaurant is good and the service - impeccable, so you feel as if you have traveled back in time. It's not a cheap eatery, but if you want an unforgettable romantic evening - go for it. All bedrooms in the main house have their own character, and we would have loved to stay in any of them, including the ones in the basement and the library. Maybe next time when we are not traveling with our pets. The rooms are quite reasonably priced. The grounds are inviting to take a stroll in good weather. In bad weather it must be awesome to sit in front of one of the working fireplaces ! Some updates need to be made around the property in general, especially in the mansion's front garden closer to the kitchen area. Overall, being in Cedar Grove Mansion we felt so very relaxed and simply taken with the old-world atmosphere and charm, that there seemed to be no need for a computer, a TV or any other modern gadget that we cannot picture our life without nowadays. Just a sense of tranquility that is so essential in our modern times. Thank you, Mr. & Mrs. Klein for creating this dream-home. We wish we had a house like yours !

Room Tip: If you are solo, you would be comfortable in the queen size bed that most of the rooms are furnished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Let me start by saying, I rarely leave reviews, but when I do they are usually because my experience has been exemplary. In this case, I hardly know where to begin as I describe what is, for us, a rare exception to the b&b experiences we have had all over the country. This inn was described in the Mississippi B&B directory as one of the "largest and most elegant bed and breakfasts in the South." There is no truth in advertising here!! This inn has seen its better days, if it ever had them. The cottage we were in had numerous issues....plumbing that "gurgled" and backed up every time the toilet was flushed or water was turned on, an ant infestation that covered the bathroom counter (which we didn't discover till morning and they were in our toiletry bags), a fireplace that couldn't be used because "the flues hadn't been cleaned in ten years" (according to the desk clerk), a rusted, moldy shower floor and sheets that looked like they had already been slept on, did not fit the mattress and pulled loose from the corners when someone laid down on the bed!!! Honestly, a Motel 6 would have been a better choice! Management here is nonexistent....no innkeeper on the premise and the staff is poorly trained to respond to concerns. The restaurant food was passable...barely. This place should be avoided at all costs!!

Room Tip: We changed from a room inside the "mansion" to a cottage because the original room we chos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullard, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Whenever we head east-west on I-20, we make it a point to spend a night at Cedar Grove Plantation. Nice people. Good accommodations. Reasonable prices. The bar makes the best mint juleps to be found, and the restaurant is superb. Walk to and from dinner and return to a turn down service that includes a glass of sherry and a chocolate. Have stayed many times and never been disappointed.

Room Tip: Avoid the pool court room in the summer due to noise from swimmers. Cottages across the street back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Grove Mansion Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Grove Mansion Inn & Restaurant

Address: 2200 Oak Street, Vicksburg, MS 39180
Location: United States > Mississippi > Vicksburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Vicksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Grove Mansion Inn & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Also Known As:
Cedar Grove Mansion Inn & Restaurant Hotel Vicksburg
Cedar Grove Mansion Inn And Restaurant

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Grove Mansion Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.