We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Anchuca at Anchuca Historic Mansion

Cafe Anchuca at Anchuca Historic Mansion
1010 First East Street, Vicksburg, MS 39183
601.661-0111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 108 Restaurants in Vicksburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Our Café offers a casual elegant dining experience for both lunch and dinner featuring award winning gourmet southern dishes. Our lunches include signature salads, sandwiches, and the best burgers in town – especially when paired with our Seafood Gumbo or Asparagus Bisque. Our dinners feature the Café Filet, so tender you won’t need a steak knife. Guests consistently say it’s the best steak they’ve ever had. Other specialties include Roast Catfish Florentine, pan seared Shrimp Creole, and seasonal specials. Top off your dining experience with one of our homemade desserts. A full service bar is also available featuring specialty martinis, and fine wines by the glass. Have a “Taste of Anchuca.” See for yourself what everyone’s talking about. Reservations are encouraged, but not necessary.
Niceville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Excellent meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The chef here is outstanding. Varied menu...three different meals...every meal was wonderful. Can't go wrong no matter what you order. We did not stay at the mansion but were invited to walk around and see the home(main floor) and grounds...Beautiful! Highly recommend this restaurant if visiting historic downtown Vicksburg.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    20
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Sunday Brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We just enjoyed the Sunday Brunch which had the most perfect combinations at very reasonable prices. For around $16, I had gumbo with cheese grits, biscuits with piminto cheese, salad, white chocolate bread pudding and coffee. The biscuits were light and not greasy at all. Portions were perfectly sized.

The other selections chosen by others at our table were equally interesting and well-balanced.

Kudos to Anchca. I never miss coming here when I am in town and will try the other brunch items next time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Beautiful restaurant in historic Anchuca Bed and Breakfast. The service is fast and friendly. The ambiance is warm and welcoming. The food is exquisite. We ate both breakfast and dinner at the B&B. It is hard to say which was best. Both meals were awesome!!! Menu items are a little pricey but the experience is worth every penny. If you are there for breakfast, make sure you order the cheese grits. Absolutely the best grits I have ever eaten. Words can not even describe how wonderful they were. I also highly recommend the mushroom ravioli. Very tasty!! The home is available for tours which is highly recommended as there is a lot of history behind this house.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful place and great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The beautiful home is great to tour. The staff is very welcoming and accomodating. Gumbo is great and cream of asparagus soup is perfection. Loved the seafood combo; 4 large succulent shrimp (we did tempura, which is super lite breading) and catfish nuggets and cheese grits with fantastic seafood over them and excellent seasonal vegies with a biscuit. The meal size was generous and every flavor perfect and distinct. We went for a weekday dinner and enjoyed every moment. Wish we had room for desert. Truly a couples dining place for special occasions or great dining.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springdale, Arkansas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Artistic preparation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful dinner here, the service was excellent, and our meal was very good. Try this place, it's an excellent choice in Vicksburg, and the family running it is very hospitable .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Anchuca at Anchuca Historic Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Anchuca at Anchuca Historic Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Anchuca at Anchuca Historic Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.