We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best best best B&B ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Baer House Inn Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Baer House Inn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Baer House Inn Bed & Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1117 Grove Street, Vicksburg, MS 39180   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Vicksburg B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best best best B&B ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed there during our round trip through the South and it was the best place of nine different hotels/B&Bs we visited during that time. Doug and his family were awesome, so friendly and nice. The house is just beautiful, we felt at home immediately. I loved our room and our breakfast and the 5 o'clock wine and you can play pool there or sit in the yard or relax on the front porch or inside... I was really very happy that we found that place. Professional and personal at the same time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    10
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
11
37
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed at a number of B&Bs in historic Inns on our two week trip and the Baer House Inn didn't disappoint. Our host Doug gave us some background and history to the house when we arrived. We were in the Bonnie Blue room and it really was VERY beautiful. The bed was HUGE. And there was lots of light coming into the room.

There was a previous review that brought into question the hosts availability and lack of "southern" hospitality. I can see how that opinion might have been arrived at depending on one's expectations. I have to say that we found Doug to be very helpful and friendly. However, we are English and so we really appreciated his dry sense of humour and world view garnered through years of overseas travel. That might not be everyone's cup of tea. We did find on our travels through the US that some folk like a lot more "sugar" in their communications than we're used to.

Did he choose to sit with us to chat at the breakfast table after serving us breakfast? No. Did he HUG us on arrival? No. Some of our Southern hosts did and frankly, that's not for us. But if THAT is what you are expecting by way of "Southern Hospitality" then no, I don't think Doug is that kind of guy (from the short time we knew him). But he was friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and he cooks a mean breakfast - and we were perfectly happy!

Doug emphasised on our arrival that this is a HOME! So again, was he sitting at the reception all day long waiting for whatever query a guest might come up with, well no. He was busy getting on with living in his house - and one shout out of "is anyone home" when we turned up at an unexpected time did the job.

So we were really happy with our stay and would happily recommend it to others.

In terms of value for money - we learnt on our trip that all of the old B&Bs are not cheap - a.) I presume they take a fair amount of money to maintain and b.) they're priced to keep out the riff raff who are going to be disrespectful to the property. So no, they're not cheap, but you pay for the privilege of staying in such a beautiful, romantic room.

There was free wifi throughout the house, which was important to us as we were booking accommodation from one night to the next and there was free parking on the premises.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011 via mobile

Beautifully restored home, impeccably decorated and blissfully quiet. Rooms are large & thoughtfully appointed. Wine at 5:00 & very good & filling breakfast. Personable & knowledgeable host. We liked it enough to stay again on our way home. Heartily recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

When you walk in the house your jaw drops at the beauty of the stair case and wood floors. Walk in through the front if you can. We stayed in the blue room! It was beautiful! Breakfast was amazing!! And if you were interested the owner of the house will lay out the full history of the house and area for you during breakfast!! We have traveled to a lot of different places and this one was defiantly memorable! Beautiful! The only tiny downside is the view from the blue room was bad and the street below was a bit noisy at night.
We would stay again and again!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

This is a terrific place to stay in picturesque and charming Vicksburg. Doug and his mother Lois were extremely helpful and hospitable and made our stay a real pleasure. The house is wonderful with great decor and historical nuances. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
118 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

We loved it here. Everything was great - price, location, food, hosts. The only downside was no tea/coffee facilities in room or hairdrier but I have no doubt that if I had asked both would have been supplied as they were very helpful and friendly. We had an issue with the hire car & a slow puncture and they couldn't have been more helpful then.
It was nice to be in walking distance of the old town and a choice of restaurants. They keep a file of the local restaurant menus which is very handy.
Between 5-6 they serve a glass of wine & nibbles which is a nice touch and a great way of breaking the ice with meeting fellow guests.
The breakfast was lovely with a fruit parfait of fruit, yogurt & granola, cinnamon roll & an egg, ham & tomato souffle type dish.
There were two dogs and while I am not really a dog lover, they weren't a problem and stayed mostly in the yard.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Very clean, comfortable and spacious room. Charming old home within close proximity to downtown Vicksburg and historic sites. The owner and his family were very hospitable and friendly (dogs included). They arranged for an excellent tour of the Civil War National Military Park. Breakfasts were delicious. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baer House Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baer House Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1117 Grove Street, Vicksburg, MS 39180
Location: United States > Mississippi > Vicksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Vicksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baer House Inn Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of historic Vicksburg. Walking distance to restaurants, museums, antique shops, book stores and coffee shop. All rooms in the main mansion. Full breakfast with each stay, social hour, gardens with gazebo and pergola, 4 porches and historic 2-story 4-hole outhouse - not to be missed! Off street parking, early morning coffee, dog and child friendly - call first! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz and Tingo so you can book your Baer House Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baer House Inn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.