We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for fried catfish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rusty's Riverfront Grill

Rusty's Riverfront Grill
901 Washington St, Vicksburg, MS 39183
(601) 638-2030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 108 Restaurants in Vicksburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
san francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great for fried catfish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Im a snooty San Franciscan and doubt I've ever had catfish. For nine bucks, I got more tha n I could eat accompanied by an overdose of fine onion rings. Desert was A-1 bread pudding. We need a place like this By the Bay.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    137
    60
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Fried Green Tomatoes!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We drive from Dallas to have dinner here! The fried green tomatoes are memorable- and so southern! The crab and shrimp gratin ` bliss!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“GREAT DOWN SOUTH COOKING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Downtown Vicksburg looks like a town that's fallen on hard times, but this restaurant certainly hasn't. It's crowded and lively even in off season, and reason is the great food. We had the best grilled shrimp, succulent fried oysters and the crab cakes had big, juicy lumps of crab. Topped it all off with strawberry pie for desert. It was one of the best meals on our cross-country trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Good, Not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We had the gamut of fried seafood - clams, calamari, grouper and scallops. It was good - not succulent, but good. The tartar sauce was very different and excellent! Sides were fine.

Lots of TVs tuned to sports so it's a good place to go if you're trying to keep up with whatever game is going on.

I wouldn't make a special trip to go here, but I wouldn't hesitate to go if I was in the area and needed dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogart, Georgia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Local favorite, local flavor, terrific food/service in historic district.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Located right down the street from the Coca-Cola and Doll Museums and very near the old Yazoo Train Station and waterfront murals in historic old Vicksburg. Nice atmosphere, bar room separate, pleasant and efficient waitresses (ours came to see if I needed something because she noticed me turning around to view all the TV screens). Rusty, a trained chef who specializes in seafood, serves an oyster Po-boy that's supposed to be phenomenal but I ordered a cup of seafood gumbo and a cheeseburger. I'm 59 and a meat lover...I have never eaten a better cheeseburger in my life! The gumbo was great too. Prices might be just a hair steep for a family to all eat entrees but this place is good and you can find something to fit your pocketbook.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rusty's Riverfront Grill also viewed

 

Been to Rusty's Riverfront Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rusty's Riverfront Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.