We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self guided tour” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anchuca Mansion

Anchuca Mansion
1010 First East Street, Vicksburg, MS 39183
601.661.0111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 25 Attractions in Vicksburg
Type: Historic Sites, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tour Anchuca Mansion, one Vicksburg's most historic antebellum homes. This Greek revival landmark, listed on the National Register of Historic Places, opens it doors to visitor from 9:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. daily. Walk in the footsteps of many famous Americans, including President Jefferson Davis, to see the opulent interiors with fine antiques and art representing the past three centuries. Visit our website www.anchucamansion.com for more information.
South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Self guided tour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

You see a short video, then walk through the rooms that are open; It is a working B&B: Better to stay there and see everything for free.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    12
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Magnificent B & B Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed two nights in the Wilson Suite, June 19-20. The mansion's interior is beautiful. Absolutely top notch accommodations, service, and dining. Exceeded our expectations in every way. Breakfast was just right and we had a wonderful dinner on Wednesday night. Try the Glazed Salmon Salad and the Prince and the Pauper. The pool provides a terrific spot to cool down and/or enjoy the sun. Would return without a doubt.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Took Bridal Portraits Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Wonderful place to take bridal portraits. The rooms were unbelievably beautiful and provided the perfect backdrop.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
65 attraction reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Friendly & interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Upon entering Anchuca for a tour we were warmly welcomed by the lady at the desk. She had us sit down to give us some information & then had us watch a video about Anchuca. After the video we were free to go on a self-guided tour. The home was very lovely & decorated with period antiques. It is also where Jefferson Davis gave a speech from the balcony after the war. I guess one of the things that always throws me off in these houses that are now B&B's is that you find pictures of the current owners families sitting on the desks & hanging on the walls & it just seems out of place. I prefer to tour the homes that aren't actually being lived in but are solely designated for historical purposes. I will add that the price was very reasonable.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Antebellum Vicksburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed in the dependency, which was decorated nicely, but a bit tired. There were insect larvae abd planty of holes in the walls from where pictures had been moved around.

The bed was fairly soft. The airconditioning worked well. Lights right outside the door kept the room lighted all night.

I beleive that the rooms in the main house might provide better accommodations. The breakfast was awesome!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchuca Mansion also viewed

 

Been to Anchuca Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchuca Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.