We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the price.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travel Inn

Save Saved
You added Travel Inn to your Saves list
Travel Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travel Inn
1675 North Frontage Road, Vicksburg, MS 39180   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 32 hotels in Vicksburg
Clarkston, Georgia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not bad for the price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The hotel was a good value for the price. The rooms and bathrooms were clean, and the AC worked extremely well (which is important for Mississippi in the summer)! If you like to take a hot shower in the morning, DO NOT adjust the knob to the maximum hot setting - you will burn yourself. The only down side of the hotel was the towels were to small, and the washcloth was more like coarse sandpaper.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the back of the building - away from the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

My wife and I simply needed a place to overnight so I could see the battlefield the next day. We were very fortunate to a find a clean and reasonably priced place like this. The owner was extremely hospitable and did much to insure a pleasant stay. Not a lot of frills but none were needed for this stop.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

My first warning was the LARGE roach on the wall outside the office after I checked in. Then there was a smaller bug at the door to our room. Once in our room, after seeing the first inside bug, we didn't look anymore. We also slept with the light on and the bathroom light on to try and keep them away. I think we saw 3 in the room before all was said and done. And the "breakfast" they claim to have was only muffins, very small muffins. I don't even think I recall seeing coffee! No juice or bananas even! Horrible place and I couldn't wait to get out!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2008

We took a chance on this motel. We needed a pet-friendly hotel in Vicksburg and read a single review on the Econo Lodge on this website that was positive. Since then this hotel has become the Travel Inn.

After staying in some really grody motels on a long road trip with our pooch I was ready for the worst. But this motel was a wonderful surprise. It is nothing special in terms of ambiance or location, but it is clean, clean, clean. And, there is not a single stitch of wear and tear in the rooms. The walls are clean, newly plastered, the paint is fresh, the upholstry is clean, and everything works. It's was a joy to open the room and actually find a cool, clean place that I didn't mind hanging out in for the night!

The room we had had a King bed, small couch, AC, fridge, microwave, large vanity and separate bath. The bathroom looks new too. All very nice...and super clean, I loved it!

There is also free wireless. Nice!

The down-side? It is not in a beautiful area. It's on a boring frontage road, but hey, so are all the other chain hotels that cost just as much. Our cost for the night (with dog) was $77 per night. I think this is a very reasonable deal.

Overall, we were pleased as punch by the condition of the Travel Inn. We only needed a place to stay for the evening and did not need it to be cute, quaint or historic. This hotel did the job.

I should also add that the motel is reasonably close to the Military Park. We made arrangements the day before to have a private guided tour of the Military Park--so that we could see the hightlights relatively quickly and then hit the road again. If you call ahead you can arrange a guide for the hour the park opens (8am; when it is less hot in the summer). The guides are $35/2 hr tour and they can do the Military Park and downtown Vicksburg if you like. The number to call is [--]. They are super helpful and will even recommend restaurants!

  • Liked — Very clean. Very reasonable. Everything is in good shape.
  • Disliked — Nothing given the cost.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn

Address: 1675 North Frontage Road, Vicksburg, MS 39180
Location: United States > Mississippi > Vicksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 32 hotels in Vicksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.