We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get em and freeze em” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solly's Tamales

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Solly's Tamales
Washington St, Vicksburg, MS
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 108 Restaurants in Vicksburg
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Get em and freeze em”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Every time I am in Vicksburg I buy 3 or 4 dozen, take them home and freeze them for when I really have a hankering for them. Usually with beer, friends and a ball game. Better than pizza.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Great traditional tamales.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great old style tamales. Corn-husk wrapped, then foil wrapped per dozen, then newspaper wrapped to keep them warm. You can load up a few dozen for your cooler and microwave them. They came out great a day later. Mild with a small hint of spice. If you want to juice them up, use the salsa or the hot sauce of your choice.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good tamales”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The tamales were tasty but pretty small. The prices are excellent and they also have pralines. They aren't as good as the one's in Savannah..but do satisfy your sweet tooth!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Tamale Trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I'm trying to hit as many places as I can on the Tamale Trail. Starting at Solly's was the thing to do. These have been the best I've had so far. Ms. Betty is a real treat to talk with and it's a great place to people watch. Now I'll have to have a couple of dozen shipped home to share with my friends.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver, Pennsylvania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Try it. You'll like it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The appearance makes one want to turn and run, but don't. Be adventurous. I have not eaten many tamales but these were darn tasty to me. My husband and I split a dozen and wished we had bought more. Would return for sure.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Solly's Tamales also viewed

 

Been to Solly's Tamales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solly's Tamales, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.