We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Museum” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Depot Museum

The Old Depot Museum
1010 Levee St, Vicksburg, MS 39183
601-638-6500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 34 things to do in Vicksburg
Attraction details
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Small Museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stopped at this museum while walking around downtown Vicksburg. My children enjoyed looking at all the trains and the miniature battleground. Because of other reviews, I expected to sit down and watch a video about the Civil War in Vicksburg. But I was disappointed to see it was just playing on the tv in the room with the miniature battleground. There were only a few chairs scattered around the room, and the miniature battleground was right in the middle of it all. Needless to say, we were unable to watch it. I wish it had been put in a separate room with plenty of seating. We did go upstairs to see some more model ships and such, but I was worried about my children getting too close and breaking something. If I had known what to expect, I wouldn't have paid to go in. It wasn't worth the money.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    30
    14
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Scotland
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
120 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
“Interesting enough visit, a bit expensive for what you get though.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We has not originally planned this visit but as we were killing time before we could check in to our hotel, we thought why the hell not!
There is so much work gone in to these displays, obviously it will appeal to some people more than others.
You can get around this small museum in probably an hour or less, I would agree with other reviewers that the admission is a little steep for what you get.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Many riverboat models”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I found this museum to be a treasure trove of models of many kinds of river craft used on the Mississippi River. The models are all very interesting. There is also a large layout of the Vicksburg Battlefield which clarifies the whole battle and subsequent seige. This museum is definitely worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We enjoyed our visit to the museum, especially all of the artifacts from the warship and the ship itself. A must see.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianola, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Got to see the Ironclad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Ironclad exhibit is awesome! The park can take all day to drive through and is just beautiful. However, it is the Ironclad that impressed me most as well as the beautiful brickwork around it. A great day trip for the family.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Depot Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Depot Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.