We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great range of memorabilia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Court House Museum - Eva W. Davis Memorial

Old Court House Museum - Eva W. Davis Memorial
1008 Cherry St., Vicksburg, MS 39183
601-636-0741
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 34 things to do in Vicksburg
Attraction details
Salisbury
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great range of memorabilia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Deceptively large range of historical memorabilia, largely connected to the civil war. The courtroom was particulatly intersting and it was good that there was very little restriction to access all of the rooms within the building. Very good value.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    7
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

There is alot of historical items in this museum. It was very informative and it was interesting to see how people lived a long time ago and how some things changed and other things pretty much stayed the same. I would definitely go back if I had the chance. Anyone who loves history as much as I do, this is a must see.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England - USA
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Splendid Civil War History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Although slightly gone to seed and crowded, I still found this museum to be well worth the visit. Hundreds and hundreds of Civil War artifacts, uniforms, maps, flags, relics, displays, etc. We only had a short time to go through this museum, but there is enough information here for the better part of an entire day if you wish to stop and thoroughly explore. There is splendid Civil War history here. Definitely a must-see.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Tons of History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

If you're into history, this is a "must see"! I always took my students here when teaching and my g'children have been several times. It has two floors packed with relics and artifacts from civil war times...also souvenirs to browse through. Don't rush through, take your time and enjoy visiting "the past".

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Needs Help”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This could be a very important museum in Vicksburg but not in it's present condition. We visit lots of historic museums and are docents in one in our hometown and this is a shame. The displays are filthy. The building is filthy. The staff was only there to take your money. The Old Court Room was interesting but could be so much more informative with a little effort. For a city with such a rich history you'd think it would be better represented than this.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Court House Museum - Eva W. Davis Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Old Court House Museum - Eva W. Davis Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Court House Museum - Eva W. Davis Memorial, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.