We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vicksburg after the storm- nice place to be” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vicksburg

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vicksburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vicksburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4330 S Frontage Road, Vicksburg, MS 39180   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #7 of 32 hotels in Vicksburg
Texas, USA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Vicksburg after the storm- nice place to be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Checked into the hotel right after a violent storm had blown through town. Most of the area was without power, but the Holiday Inn was up. The staff was very apologetic about the situation and explained up front that no TV or WiFi was available yet. Nice quiet place off I-20 and very near the discount malls and Cracker Barrel. Sunday morning the breakfast room was packed, but the food was good and plentiful. Recommend it when visiting the Battlefield Museum or area.

Room Tip: Parking can be tight. Try to get a spot near the side or rear doors for easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    39
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
29
25
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed one night, but we were very pleased and would stay again if we are ever in Vicksburg again. The hotel is located near Vicksburg National Park, a must see if you're in Vicksburg. Also easy highway acess.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We stopped for one night on our way home from a vacation. The staff was helpful. They even had a "guest reception" that night that included fajitas, chips, salsa, wine, and drinks. Room was very clean and had everything we needed. We enjoyed the fitness center which included fresh towels. Breakfast was good, too.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Staff friendly , room nice, only reason didn't give it 5 stars, because an old banana and bell pepper had been left in the fridge, otherwise everyone was very nice, clean room, nice breakfast, room very quite . We got a room on the first floor which made it very nice to move it and out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here overnight while traveling back to Shreveport. Hotel was nice, staff was very courteous. Bar closed as soon as I got there at 9pm. It is worth noting I had made a last minute reservation here a week prior when traveling through and got a call 30 min later from the hotel saying they actually had no rooms. Overall met expectations on this stay though.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We were in Vicksburg for a wedding and the block of rooms had been reserved here. My husband and I arrived a day earlier than the other guests to do the military park, etc. The food and bed were so bad here, we cancelled our second night AND the reservations of our immediate family who had not yet arrived, and moved all of us across the street to the LaQuinta, where we proceeded to have a very nice stay for the same price.


The Good

The staff was very friendly (I interacted with 4 different people). The rooms were clean.

The Bad

The cable is snowy as if you're watching with old rabbit ears; there's no channel directory provided and you can barely read the TV Guide channel because of the snow. The elevator is slower than molasses. Gaudy decor.

The Ugly

My husband and I both served in Iraq and Afghanistan and we both agreed that the food and the beds overseas were better than this hotel.

First, the bed. The springs in the bed poked us throughout the night. I woke up feeling black and blue all over. I've had occasion to sleep on a 30 year old mattress and that's exactly what this bed felt like. My 4" foam pad in Afghanistan laid on a sheet of plywood was more comfortable than this - it didn't stab me throughout the night.

Next, the breakfast. This was a junk food breakfast. There was practically nothing available that wasn't processed within an inch of its life: sugary instant oatmeal, sugary cereal, high cal muffins, gloppy gravy for biscuits. In an attempt to be healthy, I tried the "omelet." I've eaten a good amount of powdered eggs and otherwise shelf-stable eggs in my day, but these "omelets" were awful. An egg product was formed into a pancake shape with a slice of American cheese shoved in the middle, served at room temp. Needless to say, I did not finish it. There was no fresh fruit available; I grudgingly settled for a cup of full fat, full cal yogurt.

I know swearing off all Holiday Inns is a bit dramatic, but I simply don't care to throw away money. Holiday Inn obviously has a corporate culture where uncomfortable mattresses and junk food are ok, and that's not worth my money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStaff39180, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vicksburg, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Anonymous980,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback for the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. I agree with many of your points of dissatisfaction. I would like to let you know that we have an improvement project already on the books for the upcoming months. We will updating the decor as well as getting all new mattresses. I have already implemented healthier food options for the breakfast bar. I apologize that your stay wasn't what you expected and we are working hard to make improvements. We would love for you to give us another shot next time you are in Vicksburg. If there is anything I can do for you, please let me know.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

An early check-in request was accommodated and we received directions to find the nearby Battlefield Park (and getting out of town the next day as well). A newer hotel with nice décor, clean room with nice appointments as well as fridge and microwave, good breakfast. The fifth star is not granted this time because my preferred membership was completely ignored (usually worth a few goodies), but mostly because the staff just could not produce a smile. Everything was done rather perfunctory.

Room Tip: The main thoroughfare in front of the hotel lies below it, so no traffic noise seems to impair the a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vicksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vicksburg

Address: 4330 S Frontage Road, Vicksburg, MS 39180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Vicksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Vicksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vicksburg 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Vicksburg, MS is one of the city's premier hotels. Conveniently located off Interstate-20 and within a minute of the Vicksburg National Military Park, the Holiday Inn Express Vicksburg is your ideal choice of accommodations during your visit to Vicksburg, MS. The Holiday Inn Express Vicksburg is within close proximity to an array of attractions, entertainment, restaurants and businesses such as; Ameristar Casino, Army Corps of Engineers, Port of Vicksburg and Ergon Ethanol Plant. While in Vicksburg, MS some great choices for dining are Beechwood Restaurant, Rusty s Riverfront Grill, Toney's Restaurant and Lounge and commonly known dining such as Cracker Barrel and McAllister s Deli. Come and relax at the Holiday Inn Express Vicksburg, where you will enjoy the pleasures of a warm and inviting Fireplace and a wonderful complimentary breakfast. Our hotel is equipped with Wireless High Speed Internet Access throughout the entire hotel. As an Interior Corridor Hotel, we take great pride in maintaining our beautiful and up-to-date guest rooms and meeting space. Our manager s reception on Monday through Thursday is a great way to relax and enjoy a beverage and Hors d' Oeuvres. Remember with Holiday Inn Express Vicksburg s latest bedding package and delicious signature cinnamon rolls, you will always Stay Smart. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vicksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Vicksburg
Holiday Inn Vicksburg
Holiday Inn Express Vicksburg
Vicksburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Vicksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.