We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monica M” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg

Save Saved
You added Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4116 Washington Street, Vicksburg, MS 39180   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 hotels in Vicksburg
Jacksonville, AR
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Monica M”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We planned our trip to Biloxi to include staying at Ameristar one night, as it turned out we needed another night at Ameristar a few days late on our return trip home, I called Ameristar and the Hotel Clerk informed me that they were full but she would turn me over to a Slot Host to see if she could help me. As it turned out, the Slot Host gave me a complimentary room for the night , and the room and staff were absolutely WONDERFUL!!!!!! We will be making more trips to Ameristar in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
I'm so glad we could accommodate you! Thanks for visiting and for sharing your review. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    39
    15
    7
    6
See reviews for
18
50
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ridgeland, Mississippi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

i come here about 3 times a mo. and i have enjoyed everytime, allways a friendly face, very clean rooms. im allways very satisfied. i tell all my friends and family when in vicksburg the best place to stay and best casino is ameristar. keep up the good work. and thanks for making my stay a great one. johnny.

Room Tip: any room i stayed in is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thanks Johnny for your recommendations to friends and family! We really appreciate your feedback and loyalty, and love to hear that you're always happy with your visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was our eighth visit to this hotel. We have always been very satisfied. For some reason, this hotel's housekeeping has gone completely bad.

We checked into the hotel around 1:00 PM, and were assigned room 307. We took our luggage to the room and unpacked. The room was very dirty and dusty, but the sheets and towels were fresh. We then went down to the lobby and told the front desk about the condition of the room. The lady acted surprised and said she would have the room cleaned. Being hungry and anxious to gamble, we went down to the casino for the rest of the day.

Returned to the room about 10:00 PM. Very surprised to see that nothing obvious had changed. Being angry, we decided to document the things that we found wrong with the room - now it is obvious we should have insisted on another room. The following is what we found:

*cigarette burn marks on wall paper ~ 6 places
*dirty sock on floor under window
*broken luggage rack
*mildew on bathtub caulk
*plastic trash and pubic hairs on bathroom floor behind door
*~4 boogers on outer bathroom walls
*light bulb burned out over bathroom sink
*scum on bathtub walls
*window dirty with hair oil and hand prints
*vinyl on arm of white chair peeling
*food particles stuck on top of dresser
*dresser wood trim full of dust
*cleaning rag raveling hanging on front of desk
* trash on carpet
*heavy dirt and lint along baseboards
*inside of front door dirty
*less than 1/4 roll of toilet paper - no spare. Had to call in middle of night to resupply

The next evening when we returned to the room we found the only things that had changed were:

*toilet not cleaned
*glasses not washed
*beds made and towels replaced

I hope the corporation that bought out Ameristar reads this review and takes the appropriate action.

Room Tip: Insist on a room inspection prior to commitment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
I am so sorry to hear this. Cleanliness and quality guest service are top priorities for us and I greatly apologize that we fell short. Thank you for bringing this to our attention; I am passing your review along to our hotel team. We would also like to follow up with you. Please feel free to send your contact information and details of your experience to AtYourServiceVI@ameristar.com so that we can personally apologize. Thank you for being our guest and we do hope you return so that we can provide you with the quality experience you have previously known.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eudora, Arkansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

No comp breakfast, rooms were clean, but not worth the overcharge when they said "completely sold out" and NO ONE WAS THERE (other than us & few others). You can find better deals in area & buy your breakfast at casino, which my spouse said was good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Have been staying at this hotel for almost 10 years now when we visit this city (3-4 times per year).

Hotel was rennovated about 6 years ago and still has that 'new' look and feel. Rooms are clean and comfortable with modern fixtures/furnishings/appliances. Not the largest room, but still ample room for two people.

Bummer the hotel guests no longer receive free breakfast buffet at the casino, but they do offer free fresh coffee in the lobby. (you can use your room coffee maker, but easier to get from the lobby).

Small pool and no fitness center, but these can be overlooked since we do not use. Nice patio area for sitting and enjoying the outside.

Over the years, some front desk persons were not the friendliest, but have not had any issues with 'less attentive' guest service personnel for some time now. Other hotel employees have been nice, friendly, and say hello with no false actions.

The only 'dislike' is the need to take a shuttle bus to the casino. The bus does stop at the hotel frequently, so usually only max of 5-10 minute wait. Many times I will just walk down the hill from the hotel or walk back to the hotel from the casino, just to get some exercise. I do not mind the walk; not difficult for me. They had plans to build a hotel next to the casino, but the country's economic meltdown a few years ago stopped the plans.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cara M, Social Media Coordinator at Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thanks for sharing your review and for visiting us throughout the years. We certainly do value your feedback and loyalty as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Place is clean. Wonderful grassy area for dogs enough space to let your dog off leash for a bit (make sure you clean up after). Staff is delightful. Nice grassy area by each space. Price was $27.00 for 50 amp. $22 for 30. Really great feature is shuttle to casino that drops you off by your coach at night. Super walmart 1/2 mi. away. Good overnight or 2 nights if you're going to the Military Park. Small laundry room inside office was clean and open and you can watch t.v. in lobby while you wait. Nice hookups but we had to go to Walmart and buy an extra 10 feet of septic hose because the septic was 30 ft. away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here as a stop off on a fly drive holiday. The hotel itself was great, huge room, very clean, comfortable bed. Easy and safe parking. Had to get a minibus over to the casino (where they serve breakfast) but it turned up every few minutes and was only over the road. The casino was empty and a little sad when we visited during the week but it's not really our thing anyway. Had the buffet for dinner though, which was actually quite tasty. Didn't repeat for breakfast though. Good location, easy to drive into VIcksburg.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg

Also Known As:
Ameristar Hotel Vicksburg
Ameristar Casino
Address: 4116 Washington Street, Vicksburg, MS 39180
Location: United States > Mississippi > Vicksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Vicksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg is designed with a crisp, modern look and unparalleled comfort in the 149 guest rooms. The Ameristar Casino in Vicksburg is housed on a riverboat and contains 70,000-square-feet of gaming excitement. Just a short shuttle ride across the street from the hotel allows you to choose from three restaurants at the Ameristar Casino and you’ll be sure to find something that suits your taste buds. The shuttle service is free to all guests and makes stops every 15-20 minutes from the Ameristar Hotel to the Ameristar Casino and its restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.