We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good comps!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg

Save Saved
You added Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4116 Washington Street, Vicksburg, MS 39180   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 32 hotels in Vicksburg
Florence, Mississippi, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good comps!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I don't mind spending money on entertainment if the rooms and meals are comped! I feel that I'm getting something for my money even when I don't win. These are great mini vacations, and Vicksburg is near other attractions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha T, Social Media Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thanks for choosing us for your mini vacations, Alice. I'm glad you enjoy the benefits of our Star Awards program and we look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    46
    16
    7
    8
See reviews for
21
57
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

the casino is clean spacious new machines all the time parking is easy to get in and out. the buffet could be up graded a little. the bathrooms are always clean. love the hotel very nicely done. the workers are all friendly. will try and come up again soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha T, Social Media Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thanks for posting your review and staying with us. We are glad you had a fun time and appreciate your feedback. We hope you can visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calhoun, la
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Ameristar Casino and Hotel is a great get away for me and my Wife....We live in Louisiana about 100 miles from the Casino...but the drive is well worth it. Ameristar Rewards program is very generous and we never have to pay for our room...but if we did...it would be worth the price. What I like best about the hotel is that it is clean and quite. The beds are extremely comfortable and I like having a safe in the room. The food at the casino is great.... if eating at Bella's or the Hertitage Buffet....but Bourbon's Restaurant is world class...you have got to try the ribeye and lobster tail.
It is dining at it's finest....but you can dress as casual as you wish. The casino is a blast with more table games and slots than any other casino in Vicksburg. The $5.00 slots are always loose.....and the penny machines are very entertaining. There is something for everyone...from the high roller to the person only wanting to wager a few bucks. But be sure to use your players card.....people who don't are really missing out on great Rewards.

Room Tip: If you stay on the first floor...avoid the side with the pool....there is a lot of traffic to and fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha T, Social Media Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thanks for posting your review, Carl. I'm glad you are taking advantage of our Star Awards program and make the trip to see us from Louisiana. We hope you and your wife can visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Tennessee
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at the RV Park, the Park Hostess, Kimberly Winship, is the BEST! Very helpful with area attractions and local restaurants and shopping. The park is very clean and well-kept, the shower facilities and laundry areas very clean. Highly recommend staying there in your RV to visit area attractions. We did go to the casino to try the restaurant, however, we had our 18 YO granddaughter with us, and the guards acted like we were trying to get her in to gamble! We did NOT stay to eat. Can't recommend the casino or the eateries.

Room Tip: Any of the RV Sites!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockdale, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Great hotel! the employees were helpful and friendly and check in was easy. our room was clean and the housekeeper got us extra towels when we asked. we were a little worriend since it wasn't connected to the casino but they had shuttle that was always availabel. hot tub and pool were great too. if we go back thru the area we'll definitley stay here again!

Room Tip: we could see the river from our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha T, Social Media Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
Thank you for posting your review and staying with us. I'm glad you found our 24/7 shuttle service convenient and enjoyed our pool and hot tub. We look forward to seeing you if you pass through again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW area, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Great beds and nice rooms! Only complaint is no food available on the property.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha T, Social Media Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for posting. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have several restaurants located in our casino, which is a short shuttle ride down the hill from our hotel. The shuttle service is complimentary to our guests and makes stops every fifteen minutes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meadville, MS
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

First appearance is nice... second glance you notice the dust :) room was spacious and comfortable... front desk and check in was a breeze... keep in mind there is not a bellman or valet... parking was free which is a plus but... nothing to eat on site... everything was across the street and down the hill on the casino... this was a major negative.. I didn't have a "safe" feeling.. to the point I was glad when no one was in the elevator with me! I witnessed a drug deal in the parking lot on one of my trips bringing luggage to my vehicle.. (wrong green truck) not any place I would bring my children or stay without the security of my husband..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisha T, Social Media Manager at Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
I'm so sorry you did not feel comfortable during your stay. Safety and security of our guests and team members is our number one priority. Please feel free to contact our hotel directly to talk to our hotel manager about your stay. We are sending you a private message with our manager's contact information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg

Address: 4116 Washington Street, Vicksburg, MS 39180
Location: United States > Mississippi > Vicksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Vicksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg is designed with a crisp, modern look and unparalleled comfort in the 149 guest rooms. The Ameristar Casino in Vicksburg is housed on a riverboat and contains 70,000-square-feet of gaming excitement. Just a short shuttle ride across the street from the hotel allows you to choose from three restaurants at the Ameristar Casino and you’ll be sure to find something that suits your taste buds. The shuttle service is free to all guests and makes stops every 15-20 minutes from the Ameristar Hotel to the Ameristar Casino and its restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ameristar Hotel Vicksburg
Ameristar Casino

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ameristar Casino Hotel Vicksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.