We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See Grants Chair” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Courthouse

Old Courthouse
Vicksburg, MS
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 25 Attractions in Vicksburg
Type: Government Buildings, Historic Sites, Landmarks
Attraction details
Wausau
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“See Grants Chair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Here you can see some artifacs from both sides of the war. Many confederate pieces here. Also Grants chair is here and a good piece of history to view and read about.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    37
    16
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sylvan Lake, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great value for your dollar and super informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a fantastic place to spend several hours if you love history, tons of civil war memorabilia and all sorts of other local history. Awesome.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Well Preserve Old Style Architect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

It is amazing that this structure is over 155 years old, very well maintained, and endure the siege of Vicksburg. The Old Court House stands on one of the highest hill in Vicksburg and can be seen from a far distance. The court house sustained only one major hit from the Union artillery. The museum house thousands of artifacts from the civil war period and depict life during the siege, and before the Civil War.
This is a must see stop for Civil War buffs.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Very good museum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I think most people have that dear old relative who keeps glass bookcases full of ephemera and can tell you a story about every item inside. My great-grandfather kept a "museum" in his basement - a collection of bits and baubles and oddities that we grandkids just loved to explore. This museum has that same feel. The cases are chock-full of bric-a-brac from the Civil War and Vicksburg history with hand-typed signs from typewriter days. (The Civil War certainly hasn't changed - no need to update perfectly good signs!)

When you enter, you go to your right for the Civil War military room with canon balls, bullets, uniforms, etc. Next comes a room of living room furniture, china, etc of how the people of Vicksburg would have lived during that time. Next, upstairs to a room of Americana, then a room of antique womenswear (beautiful dresses and hair pins and purses, etc), then onto the courtroom (this is an old courthouse after all). The courtroom is beautiful and you feel like you've stepped straight into Inherit The Wind. Behind the judge's bench is a very, very well done room on Jefferson Davis.

The people who run this museum are incredible Civil War scholars - the knowledge they have is unbelievable. Feel free to ask them questions!

Admission was just $5 and well spent for the vast collection of artifacts inside. I wouldn't recommend this museum for young children - there are thousands of baubles, all inside glass cases, and nothing shiny or slick or interactive to amuse the little ones.

One caveat that I think applies to all of Vicksburg as a whole: if you're not a Civil War buff, brush up on your Civil War before visiting Vicksburg. There's so much history here in the area, and so many visitors are Civil War fanatics, that all the exhibits/museums in town assume you're familiar with Vicksburg's role in the Civil War. My husband and I are very educated, but really haven't given the Civil War much thought since high school or the occasional History Channel documentary. We knew there was a battle here, but in a generic way. We felt out of our depth here and at the National Park. We felt more background knowledge on our part would have helped us appreciate this museum and others better. Nowhere in town really offers a basic, set-the-stage "refresher course."

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
90 attraction reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great old building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Even though the exhibits may have been there for awhile, it was so interesting to see all of the variety of things that they have on exhibit. We really enjoyed visiting this museum. The greeter was so gracious and welcoming. It was a fun experience that I am pleased that we did not miss.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Courthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Courthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.