We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great old building, civil war era displays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Courthouse

Old Courthouse
Vicksburg, MS
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 26 attractions in Vicksburg
Type: Government Buildings, Historic Sites
Attraction Details
Santa Rosa, CA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great old building, civil war era displays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We saw the building while driving around town the night before, and again in photos from during the civil war, sitting high up on the hill over town. Huge, imposing and grand. I love old buildings and historic things, so of course I had to drag the family here. My kids were getting a little tired of museums, still, I think they really enjoyed the civil war room which is the first room you encounter in the museum. The rest of the building had a few interesting things from post war era, pioneer era, and early 20th century Vicksburg, but mostly just a quick walk through for us. I would say the building itself is as much of an attraction. Be sure to walk around the grounds and see the old cisterns and the tunnels dug by confederate soldiers for ammunition storage.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    33
    13
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“old court house stands out on top of the hill in Vicksburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

great for history lovers and the furnishings and chlothing give people a real sense of what it was lke in the 1800s great gift shop too

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
111 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Great historical experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

The old courthouse in Vicksburg is located on beautiful grounds that overlooks the Mississippi River area. The courthouse is filled with civil war artifacts and interesting exhibits. We also enjoyed seeing the courtroom that has many of the original furnishings in it. This tour is worth taking a stop off the highway for if you are a student of history.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Priceless Civil War Artifacts, Antebellum Clothing and Furnishings and so much more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

The Old Court House Museum (1008 Cherry Street) is Vicksburg's most important cultural site. Inside you'll find several battle flags used in the Civil War; displays of civil war weapons, cannon balls, etc; Native American crafts - including an awesome pipe effigy; Beautiful antique furnishings; a room all about CSA President Jefferson Davis; and much more. The building itself is terrific; It was built by slave labor in 1858. Admission is very reasonable at only $5.00 per person. There is no audio guide, but all displays are very well marked. Visitors should note that there is a lot more at this museum than there is on display at the National Park Military Park.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

This lovely old courthouse hosts a museum full of memorabilia, mostly from the Civil War. Lots of old bullets and shells from the siege of Vicksburg, as you might expect. A nifty old courtroom. A few real curiosities, like Ulysses S. Grant's chair and Jefferson Davis's tie. Too bad you can't go up to the tower and get a view of Vicksburg from up there, because I bet the view would be spectacular. Oh, and I heard (not from the museum folks) that the museum is haunted by the ghost of its first curator.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Courthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Courthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Old Courthouse to your Saves list