We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best price could find and they seem to be trying...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3959 E Clay Street, Vicksburg, MS 39183   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 32 Hotels in Vicksburg
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best price could find and they seem to be trying...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is an economy motel, true, but we had to change rooms as soon as we got there because the heater set off the smoke alarm in the room within 2 minutes of being in the room! They did send someone right away and moved us to another room after trying to tell us that the heater smell was typical...we know how heaters can smell first few times used in a season but this really really stunk!!
They put us in another room which worked out fine.

Too many people hanging out on balconies, we were worried about our vehicle but the parking lot is very well lighted. Had no real problem, just concerned during the night.

They have a nice breakfast included with the room, but they water down the orange juice so it was like orange-colored water. A few other things were not quite right, cleaning crew was breathing down our necks to come in and clean room in morning, etc.

Overall it was an acceptable experience for the price. We both feel that they are trying to provide a decent place to stay at an affordable price, but they need to watch being overly 'cheap' on what they provide to their paying guests.

Room Tip: When you book tell them to put you in a room as far away from I20 as possible so noise is not a fact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Om P, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to write about your recent stay at our hotel in Vicksburg, ms. It gives us an opportunite to improve. Please accept my apology for the heater and the orange juice. We will ensure for review is passed onto the appropriate department, who always strive to ensure our guest expatiation are always exceeded.

sincerely,
Om Patel
General Manger
Econo Lodge Of Vicksburg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    54
    29
    15
    6
See reviews for
37
54
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Graham, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was the 3rd hotel of 5 that was in a family trip. Hotel says they offer a full breakfast (if you like boiled eggs and packaged oatmeal and grits its ok) Was next door to a Waffle house, so we opted to eat there. Killed a roach in bathroom 2nd night but did not see more. Staff was friendly.
Hotel is close to a lot of attractions and is across the street from the Outlet Mall. The Historic Society is down the road a bit so was easy to get around.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised with the room itself, clean and spacious. One of the receptionists wasn't very friendly but other one directed us to a great local steakhouse which was so good it made up for the military park being shut! (Beachwood restaurant - the best steak I have ever had and walking distance from this hotel)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

My mom was recently put in nursing home near Vicksburg. After spending money for gasoline, I was looking for a good, clean, and safe hotel for a solo traveler. Got a fantastic deal through a promotion. Hotel room large, carpet looked fairly new, bed and pillows clean and adequate. Tub had new enclosure w/ no mold or anything in grout. Room had microwave and fridge. Older hotel but really OK. Staff very nice. Felt safe in my room. Was so impressed, I have booked for 3 more stays. Thanks Econolodge!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were driving through Vicksburg and looking for an inexpensive place to stay. This is an older, but very clean place to stay. There was a nice variety for breakfast and very good coffee. This was a great value. The staff was friendly and very helpful, they suggested a FANTASTIC place for dinner. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Om P, Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Om Patel
General Manager
Econo Lodge, Vicksburg, MS
601-634-8438
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owasso, Oklahoma, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Econo Lodge was decent for the price. It was clean and I wasn't scared to use the restroom! Nothing Fancy but for the money it was ok. One misleading thing was that there were NO COFFEE Pots in the room. I am pretty sure it said they came with coffee pots. But they did have free coffee in the lobby. Overall not a bad experience I would recommend it to others who were looking for a good deal in a decent place to stay for a night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca Lake, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

It's an EconoLodge; don't expect top-level amenities. That said, it was a great deal for the price. The room I had was spacious, with one of those half-height dividers separating the bed from a sitting area with a comfortable sofa. It was nice to have a little extra room.

The bed wasn't the best (old & ought to be replaced pretty soon, I hope) but the linens were nice and clean. The sink and bathroom, while not exactly dirty, were tired-looking & badly in need of sprucing up. Wallpaper starting to peel above the shower.

Breakfast had limited options, and the space is a little weird, so you'll have to look for the juice & coffee (it's kind of off to one side.) Wifi signal was great in my room. Staff was pleasant both on check-in and check-out.

Hotel is very convenient to the battlefield, which was why I was visiting Vicksburg. I only stayed one night, but the room was comfortable enough for a stay of multiple days.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 3959 E Clay Street, Vicksburg, MS 39183
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Vicksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Vicksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Vicksburg
Vicksburg Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.