We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bazsinsky House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vicksburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bazsinsky House
Save Saved
You added Bazsinsky House to your Saves list
1022 Monroe St., Vicksburg, MS 39183   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wifi
Ranked #5 of 14 Vicksburg B&B and Inns
Orlando
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Bazsinsky House Bed and Breakfast is really a delightful place to stay for many reasons. The large historical two story home by all rights probably would have been bombed during the Civil War except that Union Troops were being held as hostages right across the street in The Old Courthouse and Grant spared the Courthouse. So how is that for history? Pretty Cool. After looking at the possible places that we could stay in Vicksburg, I realized it was either a Bed and Breakfast or a more traditional arrangement that serves a breakfast that tastes like plastic. There are casino hotels near the expressway about a 15 minute drive away, but we were there to enjoy historic Vicksburg and the Vicksburg Military Park. And the Bazsinsky House B&B turned out to be the perfect place to stay. I read the reviews on Trip Advisor and felt comfortable with my decision.

The B&B is located right in the heart of the historic district of Vicksburg on a bluff looking down over the river. The home has two guest rooms on the second floor. There is a elevator inside the home. The décor and furnishings are really quite lovely. So you can pretend like it is your home for the weekend. We were made to feel very welcome right away.

Our room had a large four poster bed and a smaller second bed and a private full bath with a Jacuzzi tub. The rooms & baths have been remodeled. There is another beautifully appointed room available too. We enjoyed the full southern breakfast every morning. It was a bargain and delicious. David is a good cook. The guests have access to the whole house. We spent most of our time on the second floor, and some leisure time on the first floor. The second floor has its own kitchen and dining room. There are two sets of stairs that access the second floor. Guests are encouraged to use the kitchen to make coffee any time and store small items in the frig upstairs or the frig downstairs. The formal dining room upstairs where you have breakfast overlooks the river and is very comfortable. There is a washer & dryer available for guests if needed.

The room was cool and quiet. Each room has a thermostat. The beds were comfortable. We were impressed that there was a floor fan stored in the closet in case you want white noise.

We parked our car right out front on the street one night and also off street on the side of the home in the garden area. The home seemed very safe and secure and has a side entrance that guests can use. There were no offensive smells to deal with. The owner owns two little dogs that yap when you come back in the evening; but they the yapper dogs live outside.

The home is located on a corner and we walked to most of our restaurants. David can recommend restaurants and answer all your questions. Try to visit the Old Courthouse museum across the street up the hill.

We really enjoyed Vicksburg and the Bazsinsky House and getting to know the two gentlemen who run the House. We felt like we were home away from home.

Room Tip: Either room is very nice. We wanted the one with two beds. The other room has a king size bed, als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
13
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

David and Andrew were very welcoming. We had the room with the kingsized bed, which was very comfortable. There was a Nespresso-like coffee maker free to use all day with good quality coffee varieties. We went for the "lighter continental breakfast" (instead of the full cooked one) which consisted of a fresh fruit platter, blueberry muffins, toast, eggs, jams and orange juice, excellent!

Room Tip: Our room (kingsized bed) had a view over the Mississippi river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We loved this house--- renovated property with beautiful high ceilings and an array of art on display. Definitely feels like you're in a home-the owners were so nice and helpful. Our room was perfect/ breakfast was delicious and we found it a great deal! Couldn't recommend the house and Vicksburg more!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Miss.
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

While I was in Vicksburg on business, I had the opportunity to enjoy an evening reception at the Bazsinsky House on Monroe Street. The historic home (written history dates it back to at least 1840) has a generous ground floor for receptions and events. First of all, there are two large sitting rooms that open into one another. Adjacent is an expansive gathering area, punctuated by a beautiful bar, and a sun room and refreshing front porch. All of these spaces flow together, meaning that the home can accommodate quite a large group on a balmy night. All rooms were beautifully appointed, and we enjoyed live music in the marble-tiled area on one side of the bar.

In addition, bedrooms at the property are available to rent. If one is interested in staying in a historic Vicksburg property for the night, I can hardly imagine more gracious hosts than those of the Bazsinsky House. They saw to our every need during the evening we visited. After good drink, good food, and good company, we lingered on the porch, laughing and talking, before finally deciding to allow our sweet hosts to go to bed.

The only reason I can't give it five stars is that I didn't have the opportunity to stay overnight! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atoka, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our hosts made us feel right at home! The house is in walking distance of Washington Street and across the street from the old courthouse. Our room was quiet, very comfortable and roomy. The house itself is full of history and the gardens are just beautiful. Our only regret is that we could not have stayed longer, but we will return. Thank you Dave and Andrew for making our stay so wonderful!

Room Tip: The room with the west view is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The home is beautiful and the owners are very kind. The room was spacious. The bed squeaked really bad. The TV is very small and in an awkward location. Right inside the door there was an outlet that was open. Also in the bathroom part of the wall is not finished. There was a front staircase and a back one and we were told to park out back which was fine. The problem was coming up the back staircase and at the landing is the laundry and there were dirtly clothes left on the floor the entire time we were there. They were preparing for a party the following weekend so there were sweepers left out, Christmas lights on the floor and an empty cardboard box at the front door. Guess I just expected more as a guest.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Do you want to be treated like family (the ones you really like)? Two blocks from the quaint and intriguing shops and galleries of downtown. Off-street parking. Beautiful house, comfortable beds, modern bath with whirlpool, luciously thick towels, just a fabulous place to stay. This will be my choice every time I stay in Vicksburg. We only had the continental breakfast, but it was more food than we could eat - fresh fruit, toast and jelly, muffins, and boiled eggs, with drink of your choice. Very reasonably priced for a B&B with all the ammenities. Do yourself a favor and stay at the Bazsinsky House. You will be glad you did.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bazsinsky House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bazsinsky House

Address: 1022 Monroe St., Vicksburg, MS 39183
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Vicksburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Vicksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms are inside the main house. Located within two blocks of museums, restaurants, shops, and bars. Incredible views of rivers, downtown, and Old Court House Museum. Amenities include king-size beds, private bathrooms with whirlpool tubs and granite slab shower enclosures, central heating and air conditioning with individual thermostat controls, elevator, and off street parking. All major credit cards accepted. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bazsinsky House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.