We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking for Mexican food in Vicksburg?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant

El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant
1820 South Frontage Road, Vicksburg, MS
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 101 Restaurants in Vicksburg
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican, Spanish
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Aiken, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Looking for Mexican food in Vicksburg?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Everything was fantastic about the place. I thought by how full the parking lot was when we arrived; we would have to wait to be seated. We walked in the door and were taken to out booth immediately. The restaurant has the capability to handle small groups all the way up to large parties. I recommend it to anyone looking for Mexican food while in Vicksburg, MS>

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    32
    21
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yadkinville, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Nice place to eat, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great Mexican restaurant. Traditional Mexican, large portions, all around nice place to eat. Price is just right. Clean and airy....

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“It's just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I was going to rate this a 4 because they don't have 3 1/2 but I saw so many glowing reviews I thought I would start out lower. I had beaf tacos and they were ok but no spice to them. I did really like the salsa so I tried adding that but that made my taco shell wet. My husband had the beef and chicken chimichanga. the beef one was really good the chicken was ok. The rice and beans were really good.can't say anything about the drinks as we were on the road and had water. It was strange though as the food came out really hot but it got cold really fast, not sure what the reason was. The decor was excellent and so was the service. Would I eat there again? Probably if I am ever through Vicksburg again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great spot for food and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This place is owned by the same ppl who own the other two Mexican food places in town. This is the biggest of the 3 places but it is a great place to come with a large group to have some food and fun.

It gets kind of crowded and noisy but the food is good and the service is great.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We LOVE El Sombrero in Vicksburg!!! The staff is super friendly and the food is AMAZING!! There is not anything that I have ever tried that I did not like!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.