We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great mexican food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant

El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant
1820 South Frontage Road, Vicksburg, MS
601-638-1388
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 108 Restaurants in Vicksburg
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Spanish
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
chicago il
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great mexican food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This offers excellent mexican food at reasonable prices. The decor is typical but fun. It's a great place to bring the family and is very child friendly. We really liked the food and think it is one of the best choices in the area.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    39
    21
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We had good food and a good time at El Sombrero! It has a fun, family friendly atmosphere, good service and a varied menu. The raspberry margaritas are super!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food. Fun atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stopped here since it was close to hotel after a long day on the road. The food was good. The beer was cold. A nice way to end the day. Could be improved if bar area was non-smoking.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I'll call it good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My friends and I go from time to time because the margaritas are great and it's fairly close to work and home. Unfortunately, I've tried a variety of menu items and have yet to be impressed by any. It ALL tastes like it came out of the same pot and -nothing- tastes fresh. I usually order the nachos now, which are pretty good when you just want something to go with your margarita! Service is always prompt and friendly, and the restaurant itself is beautiful.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

You don't expect to find really good restaurants on interstate service roads. El Sombrero is a pleasant surprise. Just off I-20 in Vicksburg, El Sombrero combines a colorful Mexican ambience with very good Mexican food and good service. The chiles rellenos are a must, but everything we had was very good. My wife and I will make this a regular stop on our way from Pensacola to points west.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sombrero Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.