We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but needs some electrical work.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Vicksburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Vicksburg to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Vicksburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1296 South Frontage Road, Vicksburg, MS 39180   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Vicksburg
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good, but needs some electrical work.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is really quite a nice motel, with clean, well-furnished rooms and a friendly staff . . . . and a decent, if not marvelous, enclosed pool. The one problem we had was with their electrical system -- we kept blowing a breaker in our breaker box (each room has their own), and we weren't using any 'heavy' appliances . . . . no hair driers, no curling irons, nothing that should stress the system. But we had to have the maintenance guy down 2 or 3 times while were were there, and there were times when he was off-site, so we had to wait a while 'til he got back.

I'd go back -- but I'd try to pick a different room and cross my fingers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    10
    10
    1
    8
See reviews for
11
14
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We came with my family and for business so we needed a place that was good for extended stay and included a kitchen. Generally, it was a good place. However, it was not clean. My 1.5 year old who was still crawling got filthy and I ended up cleaning the linoleum floor myself while we were there. After that, I cleaned everything my baby touched that I could. Additionally, it is visibly poor construction inside and has been quickly constructed. This hotel will be falling apart and soon. Made me wonder if the structure had been slapped together as ill as the inside. Stay there if you must but I cannot whole heartedly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Vicksburg, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear purpleapple7,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I'm sorry you were unhappy with the cleanliness of the property. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. Rest assured that this concern will be forwarded to the Housekeeping Department. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

If you are staying in Vicksburg for work or extended stay, one week in this hotel is enough. Poor housekeeping and poor waste disposal in hallways. Front desk staff are friendly. Try The Valley for anything longer than a week.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

We booked Candlewood Suites not realising that we'd booked 'Suites' - drrr. We were travelling using hotels offering breakfast, so this was somewhat unexpected. That said, the room was large enough for our needs, well appointed, full service kitchen. Front of house staff were very helpful and we'd recommend this hotel. No problem using this chain again - next time we'll know to provide our own breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindale, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

My family and I recently visited Vicksburg for Spring Break, we stayed for 5 days. When we checked in, our information and room key was waiting on us and all I had to do is show ID, credit card and sign. The room was very clean! The beds were very comfortable. The pool is in a separate building directly outside of the back door which we loved because the kids did not have to be quiet, they could enjoy themselves. The service was great, anything I asked for was given to us with a smile. My FAVORITE thing about our stay was that there was not people in our room at all. Housekeeping has a daily or weekly service. This means that I did not have to worry about some one going through my belongings. We absloutely had a fabolous stay and will use Candlewoods Suites again anytime.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whit89
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed here overnight so that we could do a little casino play together. Everything here was great from location, check in to check out. The hotel is right off the I-20 exit, next door to walgreens, with a central location. Alex was very friendly at the desk and made me feel very welcomed! Our room was stocked with a full size refrigerator, stove top, microwave, dishwasher, and the necessities for cooking/ eating. Free popcorn in the microwave, complimentary free sodas. The mattress was a Sealy posturepedic- slept great! This hotel is new and everything is very clean. Pets are welcome, which was a must for us with our puppy! If we ever go to another location with a Candlewood suites-- that is where we will be staying!! :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Tx
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

I've stayed here in the past when it was brand new. I normally stay just one night while traveling from Texas to Florida. On the positive side... clean room, comfortable bed and staff was great... even the housekeeping staff. On the negative side.. only one phone out of the two worked. High speed Wi-Fi is a joke. Only got 1/2 of a bar and kept loosing internet access. Another biggie was that the door lever really needs to be checked into. I entered the room just fine but when I got ready to leave the door would not open. I had to call the front desk for help to get out! The dead bolt wasn't engaged so I had no idea why it wouldn't open. Found out, by myself, that the little knob that engages the dead bolt has to be perfectly vertical and it was kinda loose so you really had to play around with it. When I tried getting back into the room again I couldn't. Housekeeping was nearby and she had to help me and even then we both had a hard time getting the door to unlock & open. The light would flash 'green' but the lever to open the door would not work.
I had to report these issues when checking out so hope the next person that stays in this room doesn't have the same problems I had. If a fire broke out god help us.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Vicksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Vicksburg

Address: 1296 South Frontage Road, Vicksburg, MS 39180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Vicksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Vicksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Vicksburg 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Candlewood Suites Vicksburg, we put the amenities where they really count in your room. Our guests can cook meals in their fully equipped kitchen, relax in the overstuffed recliner while watching movies from our free movie library. Business travelers will work more efficiently utilizing the executive desk with speaker phone and free high-speed Internet. Candlewood Suites Vicksburg is within walking distance of many local favorite restaurants. For those guests that prefer to dine in , a fully stocked Candlewood Cupboard provides breakfast, lunch, and dinner options, as well as sodas, snacks, and ice cream. Candlewood Suites Vicksburg provides our guests a free fitness center and a comfortable place to do laundry in our free guest laundry room. Much larger than the average hotel room and significantly more affordable than a corporate apartment, the Candlewood Suites is the perfect home away from home for relocation, project, temporary assignment or training needs. Unlike a corporate apartment, the Candlewood Suites does not require a lease or minimum length of stay. Whether traveling for business or leisure, for one night or several months, Candlewood Suites is the solution to your temporary housing needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Vicksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Vicksburg Hotel Vicksburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Vicksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.