We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Vicksburg

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Vicksburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Vicksburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   115 Cypress Centre Blvd, Vicksburg, MS 39180 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 31 hotels in Vicksburg
welling
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel is not in a great location as it's a way outside Vicksburg but it is new, clean and very comfortable. Food is good too. Bar area could be bigger, nowhere to actually sit after a meal and the bar closed at 9pm! Not sure why there's a microwave in the room when you can't buy anything there to put in it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Vicksburg, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear hammeretteWelling,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Vicksburg, All of the compliments are deeply appreciated. We are very proud of the renovations and basically new facility we have here as well as the restaurant, bar and lounge. We have worked out all of the glitches you mentioned in your review. We work diligently at accommodating our valued guest.
Thank you once again for your feedback as it will only assist us in improving our services for our guest,
at your service,
Miguel Arana,
general manager,
Holiday Inn Vicksburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    30
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
33
28
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, Arkansas
Top Contributor
765 reviews 765 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 206 cities Reviews in 206 cities
352 helpful votes 352 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My family stayed at the Holiday Inn in Vicksburg on our way to the beaches of Florida this past May. The hotel is a new hotel and is very nice. The service was very good at the front desk and at breakfast the next morning.

Our breakfast was included because we are Priority Club members. It was a very good breakfast. It had scrambled eggs with cheese, bacon, hashbrowns, cheese grits and strawberry pancakes, which were spectacular with fresh strawberries. A server took our drink order. She was very efficient in serving us. We were there on a Saturday morning and we ate early so we had a good selection at breakfast.

The only downside was that our room was noisy. We could hear people out in the hallway late at night after we arrived. Otherwise, it was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Vicksburg, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Razorfish,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. I understand that having a good night sleep is important and it sounds like we fell below your expectations. I am sorry for any inconvenience you experienced due to the outside noise. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We started out a road trip with this as our first stop, very nice place, even though it was close to the hwy the room was very quiet, the staff was very nice and helpful, the place is close to a lot to see in the area, we went on over to the National Military Park which is very close, have stayed at other hotels/motels in the Vicksburg area and this was the best we had stayed at, will return if we are in the area, Thanks to the staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Vicksburg, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear cfd2936
Thank you so much for your kind words, we appreciate you taking the time to share your experience, and we glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Our team always makes the guest experience a top priority, and we are glad your experience was memorable! Hopefully the next time you have to stay over in the Vicksburg area you will once again choose our facility!
Sincerely,
Miguel Arana
General manager
Holiday Inn Vicksburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, nice clean rooms. Breakfast is free for Priority Club members, but previous review is correct -- they charge for orange juice. I thought that was a little strange, but bacon, sausage links, and REAL eggs made up for it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Vicksburg, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Jocelyn M,

Thank you for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Vicksburg, we are glad you give us the opportunity to serve you, we know that you have many hotel choices and we appreciated that you choose us. We also like to thank you for taking the time to write a great review, because comments like yours we have made changes to our breakfast standards and now we offer free breakfast including juices to all our guest. We are glad you enjoy your stay, we are looking forward to your visit, please let us assist you by contacting me directly at 601.630.4240 Sincerely,
Miguel Arana, general manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here one night in April, as a 5000 priority club point special. Our room was located on the first floor and very spacious. Bed was comfortable and the whole hotel seemed fairly new. I noticed laundry facilities on the first floor. There was also a pool but didn't check it out. Our stay included breakfast, which there is normally a charge. I would have been disappointed if I paid for the breakfast. We came into the breakfast area late (half hour before closing), but the food, which is served buffet style, was very sparse and cold. Instead of a help yourself drink bar, there are no drinks (not even water) and you have to wait to for a server. The server was slow to come ask what I wanted to drink, ignoring my boyfriend and not even asking him. I asked for orange juice and was told that was an extra charge, even though there were little advertisements around the breakfast area saying try minute maid orange juice. Since it was so late into breakfast I declined the extra charge orange juice and just told the server I wanted water. I was on the last few bites of my breakfast when I finally got my drink of water. I was not impressed with the server, and not sure why they have one. The breakfast would have been a better experience if a person focused on supplying hot food instead of having a "server" hiding the drinks from everyone. I have had way better included continental breakfast at other IHG hotels than this one where there is a charge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Vicksburg, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear monkeysaurusrex,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the new Holiday Inn! All of the compliments are deeply appreciated. We are very proud of the renovations and basically new facility we have here as well as the restaurant, bar and lounge. We have worked out all of the glitches you mentioned in your review, and are running full steam ahead, now offering free breakfast to all our guest. We work diligently at accommodating our valued guest and I am pleased that we met and even exceeded your expectations! Hopefully the next time you have to stay over in the Vicksburg area you will once again choose our facility!
Thank you once again for your feedback as it will only assist us in improving our services for our guest.
Miguel Arana, general manager, Holiday Inn Vicksburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremore, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Overall, this hotel is great. The room was comfortable and clean. The only MINOR problems we had were at check in and with the air conditioner. I reserved a double queen, non smoking and we were put in a king smoking. The front desk did fix this, but kept saying I booked it wrong or had use Travelocity which caused the problem. However, I used Holiday Inn's website and there is NO WAY I booked a smoking room. Not a big deal, the front desk did fix it, but the manager kept making me feel like this was my fault. The air conditioner was not a huge issue either, but is was a very LOUD unit. When it was on, the room was like a small wind tunnel and got cold quickly (which is good in the hot and sticky south), but it did wake me up a few times in the night (which is unusual as a girl from Oklahoma who can sleep through some pretty nasty storms).
My last minor complaint is again dealing with the staff. I like to travel and often ask the staff what local places they recommend for restaurants. At this hotel, they really pushed their restaurant. I would much rather have a taste of the local food and see the sights rather than stay in the hotel the whole time. Again, not a big deal, but I do not see this particular hotel as a great representation of the local environment.
Our breakfast was complimentary because I am a priority club member (sign up for this on the Holiday Inn website, you get free stuff and some good deals). However, I would not pay for it at $9 a person as it is just a mediocre buffet (eggs, biscuits, bacon, toast, cereal)

Room Tip: Be sure to call ahead to confirm your room choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Vicksburg, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear tjniblack
Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Please accept our sincere apology for the service you received which was unacceptable. We hope that you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.
Thank you once again for your feedback as it will only assist us in improving our services for our guest,
At your service, Miguel Arana,
General manager, Holiday Inn Vicksburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of our Titan ‘Southern Sights and Sounds’ tour of America. It is a nice, smart, clean, modern, quite standard out-of-town hotel with lots of parking and set back from the road. The rooms were capacious, clean and comfortable. The restaurant was attractive and smart and most of our group decided to have dinner there because the only other place within walking distance was a Mexican restaurant. It was then that the cracks showed. Despite knowing that they would have a coachload of people in, all wanting to eat, it appeared that the hotel had only allocated one waitress to the entire restaurant; there were one or two others but they did not seem to be doing much. After waiting about 15 minutes for our bottle of wine, my husband managed to find someone else to complain to and, to be fair, we did receive a free glass of wine each as an apology. However, that did nothing to hasten the arrival of our bottle or our food. The delightful young lass who was trying to serve everyone was quite overwhelmed and got hopelessly muddled. It all took ages. It was not her fault; she needed more support and more training and was trying really hard. The food, when it eventually arrived was fine. I do hope that our experience in the restaurant was just a blip because everyone involved is obviously so well intentioned and it is a very good hotel.

P.S. I thought the story of Miguel and the cake (see below under ‘Incredible Service’) was amazing. A virtual three cheers for Miguel!

Room Tip: There were no complaints about any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miguel A, General Manager at Holiday Inn Vicksburg, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear OxfordTigger,
Thanks so much for the great detailed review. We hope that you enjoy the Vicksburg area and the rest of your tour. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel and the restaurant, we are sorry that our team did not provide you with the service that you deserve, We have worked out all of the glitches you mentioned in your review, and are running full steam ahead. We work diligently at accommodating our valued guest . We hope that in your next trip to our area you can give us a chance to serve you again.
Thank you once again for your feedback as it will only assist us in improving our services for our guest, ! Safe travels!
Miguel Arana, general manager, Holiday Inn Vicksburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Vicksburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vicksburg

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vicksburg Hotel Vicksburg
Holiday Inn Vicksburg Hotel
Address: 115 Cypress Centre Blvd, Vicksburg, MS 39180 (Formerly Wingate by Wyndham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Vicksburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Vicksburg
#5 Business Hotel in Vicksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Vicksburg 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Holiday Inn Vicksburg hotel. Our Vicksburg, Mississippi hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the city off I-20 and only minutes from Historic Downtown Vicksburg and the Vicksburg National Military Park. Families and business travelers alike will enjoy dining in Cilantro restaurant located on site or have a relaxed in-room dining experience. Our flexible meeting facilities can accommodate groups from 4 to 400. Enjoy our indoor/outdoor heated Pool and the 24-hour fitness and business centers. All rooms feature a microwave and refrigerator along with a 32in HDTV.Our new Holiday Inn Vicksburg hotel is perfect for families looking for lodging in Vicksburg, MS. Our hotel is convenient to numerous local attractions, including the Biedenharn Coca-Cola Museum and Vicksburg Battlefield Museum. Other nearby attractions include the Catfish Row Children’s Art Park, McRaven Tour Home, and shopping at the Vicksburg Factory Outlets.Business travelers in Vicksburg will be impressed by the comfort and amenities of our new Holiday Inn Vicksburg hotel. Our property offers you easy access to local companies including Engineer Research and Development Center, Grand Gulf Nuclear Power Plant, International Paper, Cooper Industries, and the Port of Vicksburg.We look forward to having you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Vicksburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Vicksburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.