We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming and comportable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Corners Mansion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Corners Mansion to your Saves list
The Corners Mansion
601 Klein Street, Vicksburg, MS 39180   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct And Save 10%
Ranked #4 of 14 Vicksburg B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“welcoming and comportable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

the coners is welconing and eaygoinng and in same time elegant/. spacious rooms, nice porch. very good breakfast . all guests sitting togetherwith the owner. tour of the house a the history are intrensting

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    16
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
22
46
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I grow a bit tired of reading reviews by people who go to properties that are more than 140 years old and reference peeling paint, plumbing issues etc. If you want a spotless place with all the latest gadgets, gizmos and everything functioning like it was installed last week. Go to chain locations and enjoy their corporate ambience. If you want to meet people who are passionate about providing you an experience that includes history, a wonderful breakfast and the opportunity to stay in a property that has been a significant part of local history as the Corners Mansion has been, I can highly recommend Macy and Joe as Innkeepers and people. Have a problem? Ask, accommodation will be made!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Auto Club-- this is NOT a 3-star property. It pains me to write of the deficits of this charming property and its charming owners. However, peeling paint and rusty heating vents are not so charming. I tried to close the drain in the bathroom sink, and the drain stopper pull came out in my hand. The drain could not be closed. We saw other mechanical issues as well. "Antique" does not equal "broken-down." The breakfast was terrific. As another reviewer has noted, it is late if you are an early riser. The owners could not have been more helpful in arranging our tourism of the Vicksburg area. The "owner's tour" was quite interesting. Breakfast and the tour will take up the whole morning. Good if you are here to relax, perhaps for the weekend. There is still time to tour the battlefield or go antique-ing in the afternoon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This place has the "small inn" formula just right. The home is lovely and historic without being creepy. Our suite was very comfortable. There were enough appointments around to make it friendly, but there was still plenty of room for our things. The bathroom was meticulously clean and surprisingly luxurious with wonderful towels and lots of
hot water, excellent lighting for putting on makeup or shaving, etc.
Too, the house and rooms smelled fresh, but not heavily of candles and so
forth---this is unusual for an old house but what a relief!

Also, we enjoyed the beautiful living room, its gorgeous windows and the way we
could get coffee or hot tea in the morning and sit around before breakfast. Moreover, that room was so pleasant at all times of the day and had interesting things to read about the home and so forth. My husband felt like Van Cliburn playing their well-tuned grand piano. There is a huge front porch with wonderful swings and a nice view---what a great place to unwind or enjoy a glass of wine.

Lastly, the inn keepers know the area, where to eat, what to do and will make reservations for you. The tour of the battlefield was scheduled for us exactly as requested and every place they
recommended to eat was just wonderful. As an added perk, the people seemed to
know and like the inn keepers. They also accomodated my daughter's and my dietary restrictions. It was extra trouble, and we were grateful.

The house is an amazing piece of history. While the inn keepers are experienced, we never felt "processed." As we drove along we talked about the albums of stories that the owner's mom had written and left in an album. How nice it was to have her history there since she and your dad started the business.

This inn is a modern-day Vicksburg treasure.

Room Tip: We had the master bedroom suite for ourselves and our 12 year old. The master has a fireplace which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Corners for one night on our way from Memphis to New Orleans. Our primary reason for stopping was to visit the military park in vicksburg.
We found the corners to be a delightful little b and b and were made to feel very welcome by the owners Macy and Joe.
It was easy to get into downtown Vicksburg and you can watch the sunset from the porch.
If you're looking for an impersonal and functional hotel then this is not it - staying here was more like staying at someone's house and that was nice - only observation was that maybe breakfast time could be more flexible especially if you need to get on the road.
Breakfast was huge and I must say it was the best cup of tea I've ever had in the US.
We finished with a tour of the house which was really interesting.


  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Corners two nights while visiting the military grounds. We received a warm welcome and the host suggested where we could eat and what to see in the area. Breakfast at 9am suited us however if you like to rise and get on with your daily adventures, this was a little late. The only negative was the musty smell as we entered the house but I guess that happens when a house is as old as this one. It was a very interesting home and our host gave us some background as to who originally owned the home and a tour as well. Another negative was that we had no coat hangers in the wardrobe or iron but I'm sure if I asked they would have been supplied.

Room Tip: I think the downstairs rooms have more character and charm than the one we stayed in upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Loved our stay at this charming and historical mansion located in Vicksburg near the Mississippi River. It is like a step back in time, and we enjoyed the tour provided by Macy as much as our tour of the military park that she set up for my mother and me during our stay. There is a lot of attention to detail and expense required for a historical mansion of this size, and the care is evident. The breakfast was plentiful, delicious and presented beautifully in the gorgeous dining room hosted personally by Macy. While sipping our wonderful morning coffee provided by Joe, we enjoyed pouring through the scrapbooks of history and photos in the parlor filled with perfect time period antiques, rugs and decor. It was delightful sitting on one of the many swings and rocking chairs provided on the huge typically Southern front porch with a view off the river. Their little Jack Russell Terrier, Ellie, added even more personality to this place. Macy was very helpful in recommending wonderful places to eat , and our personal favorite was The Tomato Place. Thanks to Macy, John, and Joe for the warm Southern welcome and hospitality.

Note: I believe that the recent negative review is unfair. If you are trying to decide, go with the majority of the reviews that are very positive. Take into consideration that this is an old home and if you have problems with antiquity or natural fibers, you can request the more "modern accommodations" in a separate building adjacent to the house but with the same Southern charm. You will get the best of both, the true antique "flavor" of a 19th century mansion with a more up-to-date room for relaxing and sleeping. While there, they were in the process of updating the servants' quarters rooms. I am sure this is always a work in progress and a labor of love as this home has been in the family for many years.

Room Tip: My mother and I stayed in the master suite which had additional room and was very pretty with spacio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Corners Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corners Mansion

Address: 601 Klein Street, Vicksburg, MS 39180
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Mississippi > Vicksburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Vicksburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buffet served in the Formal dining room for up to 125 people. Seating for up to 40 people with linen tablecloths on 60” round tables and wooden folding chairs provided in rear courtyard (weather permitting) and glassed in veranda. Additional seating is available in the Double Parlor and front Galleries overlooking the Mississippi River valley and Yazoo River Canal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Corners Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Corners Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.