We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little boy's adventure in history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vicksburg National Military Park

Vicksburg National Military Park
3201 Clay Street, Vicksburg, MS 39183-3495
601-636-0583
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 26 attractions in Vicksburg
Type: Battlefields, Parks
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: 1800 acres of now peaceful countryside, this park was once the scene of a bloody 47-day Civil War battle.
Crossett
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
119 attraction reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“A little boy's adventure in history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We took our 7 year old grandson to the park this weekend and he was totally mesmerized by the site. History came alive for him at this well preserved park...I have heard those say that children get nothing from National Parks and I scream "hogwash" to them. This little boy said Gran, "can't you just hear the soldiers marching through the fields!" This park is pristine and well done. The Cairo is so interesting and such a gift to our nation's history. Imagin 7 of those ships built in 100 days. The film is informative and professional We will return.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    124
    17
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
“battlefield”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

very interesting, nice drive, film was very well done. Only $8.00 per car was very reasonable included the Cairo exhibit

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“One of best Civil War Battlefields”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This park requires a full day to visit. We recommend buying the driving tour CD and seeing the extra stops on the Park Service map as well. It is so impressive to see how close to each other the two armies were and how many lives were lost in Grant's attempts to breach the Confederate lines before he settled on a siege. The monuments put up by the states, first the northern ones and then the southern ones, and by the friends and family of the dead soldiers, are the most impressive anywhere. Excellent architecture, including a reproduction of the Pantheon in Rome, excellent sculpture, and wonderful bronze casting. They must have kept those industries busy for decades.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Excellent overview of the battle of Vicksburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We're not Civil War buffs and were told by b&b proprietor that 2 hours was sufficient. Hardly - we spent over 4 hours and felt rushed. It's necessary to get out of your car and walk the battlefield to understand the intricacies of the battle. The free telephone tour is quite good - surprised us.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, AL
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The monuments are Impressive.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Visksburg National Military Park is impressive. The 16+ mile driving tour carries you through both the Union and Confederate lines. If you go, be sure to allow at least four hours to stop, read, and enjoy. The USS Cairo Musesum is part of the tour. As a history lover, I found the whole experience exhilitrating.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vicksburg National Military Park also viewed

 

Been to Vicksburg National Military Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vicksburg National Military Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Vicksburg National Military Park to your Saves list