We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have sat there for hours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Memorial Chapel

Washington Memorial Chapel
Rt 23, Valley Forge, PA 19481
610-783-0120
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Religious Sites, Historic Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This small place of worship is famous for its stained glass window depicting George Washington at prayer.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Could have sat there for hours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is a small, but beautiful chapel. The stained glass windows are amazing! The intricate detailing and wood/iron works was fabulous. There are small carved figures of George Washington kneeling in prayer. Just a quiet, peaceful place of beauty.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    16
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Minnesota
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
“Old Chapel and Bell Tower”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

A beautiful old chapel with many interesting images and figures of George Washington throughout - how many can you spot? The 26-ton bell in the tower is amazing, as are all of the stained glass windows throughout both structures that tell interesting stories - not just religious ones. The chapel overlooks the Grand Parade where George Washington trained his army, and how many churches have you been to where cannons are on the grounds? I had the place completely to myself on a Saturday morning and was delighted to find many hidden gems and treasures while being able to take the time to really look carefully at the details within both structures. Nestled in the woods along the Valley Forge National Historic Park's drive, it's a quiet place for contemplation as well as a great place to discover some interesting historical facts. The little cabin gift shop at the back of the property, operated by local volunteers, was filled with baked goods the local ladies had made as well as some typical touristy finds. There's also a used bookstore at the back of the property with lots of great browsing to be had.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
“Don't bother on a weekend....or ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Our trip to the Valley Forge National Historic Park was fantastic except for our last stop at the Washington Memorial Chapel. While the chapel is beautiful, at least what I got to see, the staff was incredibly rude. We went on a Saturday during their listed open hours but they were preparing for a wedding, so not only could we not see the chapel but we were rudely told that it was closed as we tried to walk in. No signs to alert us of this fact. So we thought that we would visit the gift shop. The door was wide open and again nothing to alert us that it was also closed. A woman came in yelling that they were closed and that the bottles of water in our hands (that we had intended to purchase when we were done browsing) were not FREE. As we had not opened them yet, we replaced them and immediately left the chapel with no intention of ever returning. It was a horrible experience. We were not some trouble makers- our group included myself, my children and my parents. I have never been treated so poorly in a place of business, let alone a church!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This chapel is at the end of the Encampment Tour. It is well worth the stop. I was able to locate one of my ancestors on the Patriots of the American Revolution panels. There are listed patriots of different wars on other panels inside the room that has the Justice Bell. This is a very beautiful church. I also enjoyed the gift shop and food located behind the church.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wescosville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
213 attraction reviews
Reviews in 147 cities Reviews in 147 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Beautiful and moving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

One of the stops on the encampment tour at Valley Forge National Historic Park. Inside, look at the stained glass all around that tell a story. The one over the main door is Washington's life. Look at the beautiful hand carved choir stalls up front. Check out the altar and the flags. Finally look at the hall of heroes and Veterans room before you leave.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Washington Memorial Chapel also viewed

 

Been to Washington Memorial Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Memorial Chapel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.