We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Way to Visit Kualoa Ranch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of KOS Tours

KOS Tours
PO Box 159101, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96830
808-561-2440
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$156*
and up
Ranked #49 of 355 Activities in Honolulu
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are a Hummer tour company that takes guest to Lost, Movie and other TV show locations on the island of Oahu.
Fort Worth, TX
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Only Way to Visit Kualoa Ranch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

My family of 4, including 10 and 14 year old daughters, recently took the 2 hour tour. We drove to Kualoa Ranch for our tour. Our guide met us there. Our tour was solely at the ranch and we loved it. Gorgeous scenery, knowledgeable guide, various stops along the way. We saw the bus tours, but there was no way they could visit the locations we were able to with the hummer. Had a fabulous time. Thank you Ed and crew!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HUMMERHAWAII, Owner at KOS Tours, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Glad you had a great time on your tour. Kualoa Ranch is a great place to visit wether with KOS Tours or taking a tour with Kualoa Ranch. Our guides do their best to entertain and educate people on the tour. The two hour tour, which you took, is none stop locations and goes by quickly. Thank you for your business and a big mahalo for taking the time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    23
    7
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highlight of our holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We did the 5 hour tour & it's well worth the money.

As we had 5 in our travel party we were given a private tour.

This tour is not just for movie or Lost fans but is a great way to get out of Waikiki & see just how beautiful the island really is.

There is a few different ways to see the ranch but this would have to be the most comfortable & best way to do it.

Book early as these tours are popular & you really don't want to miss out.

Loved it. A holiday highlight.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HUMMERHAWAII, Owner at KOS Tours, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to writing a review. It really helps us and our future guest. Yes, the tour is more than Lost and anyone can enjoy it. A big mahalo for your business. Come back to the Islands. Aloha, Ed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not just for LOSTies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was one of my favorite activities done on my trip. Our tour guide Ricardo, promptly picked us up on time at our hotel. The 5 hour tour was fast-paced and filled with information. It was amazing to finally be in the presence of so many iconic scenes from LOST! It was also a great way to see the Eastern side of the island. The hummer ride was like a roller coaster at times, especially when you're off-roading, however it was still comfortable to ride around in with 5 people.

Kualoa Ranch was absolutely breathtaking! I loved that the tour guides have pictures of scenes or even movie clips. It really amazes you how many things are filmed in the ranch! 5 hours wasn't long enough, I would definitely recommend maybe doing the 8 hour tour, especially if you're anticipating the beaches/crash site from LOST. Because KOS has a permit for the ranch, you get to see a lot more than the people who just take tours from just the ranch itself.

Again, you don't have to be a LOST fan to enjoy this tour. Being on the ranch is just an experience of its own. I was a little disappointed that there wasn't too many Hawaii Five-O stops, but then again, the show is filmed throughout the island.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HUMMERHAWAII, Owner at KOS Tours, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Glad Riccardo did a great job on the tour. We continue to add Five 0 when we think the location is worth the time to visit. The film everywhere on the island, but my favorite locations are when they are out of the city. Thanks for taking the time to write a details review. Hope to see you back in the islands soon. Ed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun half day tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Fun tour. 3 of the 4 of us were pretty big Lost fans and our tour guide did Lost trivia along the way which was fun. The ranch was def the best part. The ridge there is very recognizable from Lost, Jurassic Park and other films. Caution: this hummer ride gets VERY rough at times if your tour is like ours. It was fine for us but may be too rough for some. The guide asked us all if it was okay though. Tour was 5 hours but went by very quickly. I would recommend it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HUMMERHAWAII, Owner at KOS Tours, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Yes, the trails are a little rough to get to the more remote locations, but that is park of the adventure. Thank you for your business and taking the time to write the review. I love giving Lost trivia questions during the tour. Mahalo and we hope to see you back soon. ED.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An awesome experience, not just for "Lost" fans, but for all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

First tour, September 2011, second tour, September 2012.

Your first indication of the level of service is the emails: Ed responds promptly with full details and disclosure. You'll feel that your patronage is genuinely appreciated...and that's the best way to start a relationship with any company you do business with.

---September 2011: the full day tour.

Picked up promptly at the given time by Aaron, our knowledgeable tour guide who actually was an extra in Season 6 of "Lost". Aaron was enthusiastic with an encyclopedic knowledge of "Lost" lore. He introduced us to our tour companions, and within minutes it felt like being in a car with old friends.

The full day tour drives you around the island, but you don't go into Kualoa Ranch proper on this one. (Unless it's changed.) You'll hit iconic shooting location from "Lost" and recreate your own scenes, courtesy of your guide. A binder with pictures from the show gives you that, "Oh yeah...that scene...we're here!" feeling, and refreshes your mind to the correct pose to strike. Video at some locations will show you that yes...this location was 'Africa', even if it doesn't look so brown now. The magic of filters & TV tricks will be revealed! Props are also brought along so you can get, say, attacked by the Smoke Monster!

Standout locations were the Valley of the Temples, a serene and beautiful site (Sun & Jin's wedding); Camp Erdman ("Othersville"...you know...the yellow houses Ben & company lived in...); Waimea Falls (Kate & Sawyer's waterfall, which you can take a dip in yourselves!) and a botanical garden I can't recall the name of (Hydra Research station, with the Polar Bear cages...and real life mosquitoes that will snack on you mercilessly, so do follow your guide's advice and buy the insect repellent!)

*The* standout location, though, is Papailoa Beach (the survivor's beach...and I apologize now for any inadvertent spelling errors...no offense is intended!)

Lunch was at one of the shrimp trucks on the north side...it wasn't Giovanni's, which is my favorite, but one must not complain when you're dining in paradise! (It was good shrimp...but that's for another review, right?)

One thing to know about these tours is that it isn't just TV & movies; you're getting a detailed history and culture lesson interwoven into your tour. You'll hear tales of how things used to be, how traditions started, and learn about living in Oahu. My wife didn't see all of "Lost" by 2011, so she wasn't an ultra fan, but the locations are breathtaking enough on their own merit that it doesn't matter if you're a fan or not.

--September 2012, 5 hour tour.

After hounding my wife continually with, "We need to go back!", she agreed that it was an acceptable idea (!) and wanted to watch the series to get a bit more context to the sites we would see. (Watching it back to back is highly recommended to those who'd get lost (pun intended) watching it week to week and waiting season to season...it is much, much easier to follow.)

She's not a fan of revisiting places we've already been to or doing things again, so wasn't thrilled about another "Lost" tour. I told her it was different...and despite 'that' look...the one that says, "Ok...I'll humor you...but it better be good..." we took another tour, this one the 5 hour tour in Kualoa Ranch where you actually go offroading. (Really, a Hummer wasn't needed for the full island tour...)

Ricardo was our guide this time, and he was as friendly and knowledgeable as Aaron. We picked up the other couple, and again it was like a family vacation with long lost (pun again) relatives.

Same deal with the binder of locations with video interludes, along with history of the islands with cultural lessons thrown in. You will not be disappointed if you've never seen a frame from the TV shows, as the inherent beauty of the islands will captivate you.

Before heading into Kualoa Ranch itself, we were lucky to visit the set of "Last Resort", a single season series that was shooting nearby. We got to wander the 'Isle of Saint Marina' for a bit and take pictures. The way Ricardo greeted the set workers shows the excellent relationship Kos Tours has built up with the various sites (also evident the previous year with Aaron @ Valley of the Temples and that mosquito infested jungle...)

When you enter Kualoa Ranch, look back, and see the ocean through the valley, you'll fall in love with the place, "Lost" fan or not. It is simply breathtaking.

But do catch your breath...you'll be bouncing through 'jungle' paths in no time...and see that your guides truly love their jobs! Their grins are contagious...and even if you don't like roller coasters, you'll have a blast. (You could always request a quiet ride, I suppose...but why would you want to! You'll have to take my word for it...Hummers are quite stable beasts, your guides appear to have been very well trained, and you're not in peril despite bouncing around. Just make sure to buckle up!)

You'll visit where they shot the bunker, see one of the submarines (inside the bunker...there's a mini-movie museum inside); and visit Jughead's Tower. (No Jughead...but it still makes for awesome pictures.) You'll overlook the valley, seeing where Hurley drove the van downhill (props come out again, and you'll be photographed pushing said van...and subsequently be attacked by a polar bear!) More pictures (with 'Hurley' himself...heh....) on the 'golf course', as well as taking a ride through other movie locations (Hawai'i 5-0, Jurassic Park, 50 First Dates), mean that you'll have memories to last you a lifetime.

If you are a fan of "Lost", you owe it to yourself to take both tours. Rent a car for the remainder of your vacation, and return at will to the public locations. (For example, have a picnic on the survivor's beach while listening to music from the show, or go for a hike to 'the Heart of the Island', since you know where the starting point for these places is.)

Even if you're not a fan of "Lost"...you owe it to yourself to take both tours. The guides can ramp the "Lost" level up or down as required, and as I've said, the locations speak for themselves even if there was never a frame of film shot there.

The guides are professional: courteous, friendly, outstanding. They will tailor the tour to your desires, and you won't feel rushed at all. You are made to feel as if you are 'ohana'...and that's the feeling you'll get from the majority of places you'll visit on your vacation. They will even give you 'local's' knowledge if asked...such as routes to drive, places to avoid, etc...that will enhance the rest of your vacation. (Listen when they recommend driving tips...traffic here can be absolutely brutal...)

Recommended?

Absolutely.

Bring sunscreen, insect repellent, water & snacks, a towel if planning a dip in Kate & Sawyer's waterfall, along with a pack to carry your stuff in. I shouldn't need to remind you to pack your camera(s), along with spare batteries and media...you do *not* want to run out of film/memory/batteries when you're in photographer's heaven!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HUMMERHAWAII, Owner at KOS Tours, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Wow....thank you so much. That has to be the most detailed review to date. You must be a travel writer. I am glad you had a great time on your two tours. Yes, Aaron is a wealth of knowledge and loves to share his info and the island with our guest. The tour is so much better when you click with the people on the tour with you. This is possible because we usually only have 4 people on a tour at a time. Again, thank you for your business and taking the time to writing the review. I am sure users of trip advisor will find it very useful. Ed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KOS Tours also viewed

 

Been to KOS Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage KOS Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.