We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Skyline at Island Colony

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Aqua Skyline at Island Colony to your Saves list
Aqua Skyline at Island Colony
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   445 Seaside Ave, Waikiki Beach, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Island Colony)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #32 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great views!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Skyline is great value for the money one pays, especially in Waikiki, which is a very expensive destination.
We stayed in a one bedroom suite which afforded us much needed space for my wife"s shopping outings! I loathe walking but all the shopping is only a short distance away.
I was in a corner unit at Seaside & Ala Wai and overlooked the canal and had spectacular views of the ocean and the city at night. There is an unbelievable breeze that blew into our 25th floor suite from the canal side. Windows don't open far for obvious reasons as there is no balcony.
A young man named PT has been mentioned in previous reviews and deserves mentioning again. A credit to the Aqua group he is and you need to hang on to him. All staff as a whole are very helpful.
I have already recommended this establishment to many family and friends. Is there a commission to me if they book with you?
Only disappointment was that some cretin had thrown a bottle into the hotel pool and we could not use it during our stay BUT that wasn't the hotels' fault.
Cooking breakfast and eating on the oceanside balcony made for incredible starts to the day
In Arnie's words...... I'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for writing a review of the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony. Yes, you are correct about the value of the property. The amenities we offer we top notch with breathtaking views of the city, ocean and mountains. Being centralized in Waikiki helps as we are within walking distance of many shops, restaurants and even the beach. A big "mahalo" for recognizing PT and the staff. We all go above and beyond to ensure we go above and beyond in ensuring our guests are given the best service possible.
We look forward to serving you again in the very near future and we thank you for your patronage.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    85
    30
    5
    9
See reviews for
58
63
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at Aqua Skyline (we were there for 6 nights). Location is convenient. 2 blocks from the beach. Near to shopping strip and lots of eateries. Booked a studio kitchenette. Room is big enough for 4 of us (2 adults and 2 kids). Kids enjoyed being out on the balcony with the breeze and view.

Toilet is small but has all the essentials, bath-tub, warm water, enough pressure etc. Aircon is a bit noisy and there is a bucket outside on the balcony that collects the water from the aircon and one day, it overflowed, and I had to throw the water into the toilet bowl on my own. Kitchenette is small but ok and I managed to cook on the stove and use the microwave to heat up stuff. Hotel also have laundry area where you can wash and dry your clothes - cost $1.25 each cycle. but do bring your own detergent. There is a small mini mart in the building that sell food, detergents, drinks etc etc., which is good. Free wifi in the room which is a plus!

Carpark is expensive at $25/day for hotel guest. One downside was the swimming pool was closed for renovation as some guests threw / left behind broken glasses in and the management had to clean up the pool during the entire stay we were there. And it will be good if the hotel can provide portable beach chairs and beach towels that guests can borrowed to the beaches.

Do ask for high floors and view to the Diamond head and golf area as there are fireworks on one of the night we were there and we thoroughly enjoyed the fireworks from our balcony.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor with the view to the mountain and beach. Bring your own detergent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is definitely centralized in Waikiki near many shops and eateries, all within walking distance.
We apologize for the inconveniences you endured during your stay. We are working at fixing the issues to provide a better experience for all our guests.
We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again in the very near future. Please email me directly, I will be happy to assist you. bkovaloff@aquaresorts.com

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Just had a short stay over for a couple days of business. I wanted a hotel within walking distance of Waikiki without all the noise. This hotel is clean, well managed and the staff is great. Free wi-fi in the lobby but getting it in your room can be a challenge. The price is very reasonable and all the rooms have private balconies. I will definitely stay here on my next trip to Honolulu.

Room Tip: The store in the hotel is great! A little more expensive than going out to buy something but worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for writing a review of the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony. The staff work hard everyday to ensure all the needs of our guests are met, including cleanliness. Being centralized is a plus, walking distance from many shops, the beach and restaurants. Looking forward to hosting you again in the very near future.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I called the day before our arrival to request a king bed and a high enough floor for a view. The person that took my request was very efficient and accommodating. Every morning of our 7 day stay, my husband walked to the corner Jamba Juice and would get me oatmeal and coffee, returning to our beautiful lanai to watch the rest of the world go to work!
Our room at the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony was perfect. The bed was very comfortable, the rain shower was a plus and the housekeeping service was excellent, with a very clean room each day.
The mini market on the 6th floor was very handy and the laundry facilities a plus. Pleasant Hawaiian tour operators are in the lobby and booked a tour of Pearl Harbor that was so worth it.
From Kuhio St one block away, you can get the bus to Diamond Head and have an awesome two hour experience hiking to the top with exquisite views. Hotel is great for easy walking to most designer shopping, restaurants, Waikiki shuttle stop, or just take a walk around the canal.
We will definitely be back!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for the lovely review. Our entire staff strives to make all our guests feel welcome and we go above and beyond to make sure all requests are met. The property is near many shops and restaurants and just a few blocks from the beach. Our recent renovations and upgrades have taken us to new heights and we are happy that you were able to experience this.
We look forward to a future visit with us and we thank you for your patronage.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had only stayed two nights but found this to be the perfect stop over spot on Oahu. We were checked into a room on the top floor with a terrace overlooking the skyline and beach. We were given chocolate covered macadamia nuts and a bottle of white wine in our room upon check in. The room was clean and well decorated. Great proximity to Waikiki Beach and overall no complaints about our stay here!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your Skyline experience with our on-line viewers. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay and the amenities that were provided by our team. As you stated, the property is centralized to everything and our Housekeeping staff work hard everyday to ensure our rooms are always clean and comfortable for our guests. Looking forward to your next visit with us, hopefully soon.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Clean room. Friendly and extremely helpful staffs. We requested a high level for better views and we were given the 43rd floor! One below penthouse :) we stayed for 8 days altogether~~~would stay again without a thought :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Mahalo for the lovely review of the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your return visit in the very near future.

Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

My husband and I had a pleasant stay at the Colony for 12 nights in May 2013. We arrived around 4 hours early but got checked in straight away by the friendly concierge, who also moved us to a room higher up to get a better view when we asked. The staff are friendly and the hotel is in a great location - close walking distance to the major shopping strip and markets, restaurants and the beach, but far enough away that street noise is not an issue (except for the nightly police sirens). Having a parking garage on site was also very handy, but pricey at $25 a day) . The hotel is undergoing some renovations so the pool is updated and the room we stayed in was more modern and had wifi. One issue - there was only one aircon unit in the suite which was located in the bedroom so the living room was often quite warm because their airflow wasn't great. But all in all it's a good hotel in a fantastic location and is really good value for money compared to other places we looked at staying. If we come back to Waikiki we'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Note: there don't appear to be any room balconies facing the mountains - only windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that we met your expectations. The hotel, being centralized in Waikiki makes it convenient to get to shops, restaurants and even the beach. We look forward to a future visit with us and we thank you for your patronage.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Skyline at Island Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Skyline at Island Colony

Address: 445 Seaside Ave, Waikiki Beach, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Island Colony)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#42 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Skyline at Island Colony 3*
Number of rooms: 740
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Skyline at Island Colony infuses the Honolulu cityscape with contemporary urban design in an ideal location just 2 blocks to the beach and near Waikiki's best shopping and dining. Soaring above the city, the hotel is the tallest building in Waikiki at 44-stories. Here you'll find modern 3-star accommodations and spectacular panoramic views of Waikiki's skyline and Diamond Head. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Aqua Skyline at Island Colony allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, you'll enjoy renovated studios and suites appointed with modern decor, deluxe bedding, kitchenettes with granite countertops and stovetops, spacious balconies, and 40" flat screen LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aqua Skyline at Island Colony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Island Colony Hotel Honolulu
Hotel Island Colony
Island Colony Hotel
Aqua Skyline At Island Colony Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.