We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Value, and View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Skyline at Island Colony

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aqua Skyline at Island Colony to your Saves list
Aqua Skyline at Island Colony
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   445 Seaside Ave, Waikiki Beach, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Island Colony)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #41 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Location, Value, and View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

For me location, comfort, value, cleanliness are key to a good hotel. I do not need the services of a 5 star resort, I need a good "home base" while I am out busy beach hopping or seeing the sights. This hotel fit the bill for that. It does not have a fancy spa onsite or room service, or any of the other amenities the 5 star places have. If you don't need that, this place will meet your needs. Most important was the value paid for the room...if was a fair price and I had no complaints other than the shower head was way too low for me and showering was very uncomfortable. I was on floor 34 and had a nice view of the ocean and Diamond Head and the balcony was quite large. Waikiki beach is not that far, but do yourself a favor and find another beach...there are so many great "locals beaches" a quick drive away that are 100 times better with 80% less people crowding the beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room on a high floor for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your Skyline experience with our online readers. As you have stated, "location, comfort, value and cleanliness", are what we believe sets us above the rest. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you again in the very near future.
We will more than happy to assist you with booking your next reservation.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    78
    29
    5
    9
See reviews for
54
56
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
cascadia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Honolulu is getting increasingly un-fun, but this is a pretty place. The remodeled rooms are quiet and comfortable and affordable. The higher you stay, the less noise you will hear, and the more of the topography you will see..

Thanks, Island Colony, for upgrading our room.

Sue S

Room Tip: high floor for noise protection and grand views of deveatated Honolulu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your Skyline experience. We are happy that you were upgraded and was able to enjoy our comfortable and clean rooms. With all the amenities we have to offer, our property is like "a home away from home".
We look forward to serving you again in the very near future.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My partner my 8 year old son and myself stayed at aqua skyline on 20th march for 13 nights, we have never been to hawaii and didnt know what to expect, the hotel was going through some reconstruction which didnt impact on our stay at all, we stayed on the 38th floor so didnt hear a peep. Perfect location, 10 min walk to the beach lovely view of the canal, 2 min stroll to the shops my best holiday by far, saving up again!!! Would recomend this hotel to everyone, would suit all ages and kinds of people!!! Didnt visit the fitness room or restaurant so cant comment

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony. We appreciate the positive comments and look forward to serving you again in the very near future. Lobby upgrades have been completed with the addition of our new dining facility, Jagger's Café. They are open daily from 6 a.m.
Please call us directly should you need to make future reservations.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yelm, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We are locals here and wanted a special get-away for our daughter's 14th Birthday / Slumber party! What a great find! The price was perfect and we were not disappointed with our stay. The room was so very clean and modern, loved the kitchen and large family room. It was great for a group of 5 teenage girls to enjoy their time together, playing board games, eating, watching movies, swimming, eating, singing and dancing, and of course eating! We actually saved so much by making full use of the kitchen, which was spotless. The bedroom was large, bedding smelled so clean, and the balcony was spacious. Mahalo nui loa, thank you so much for making her birthday so perfect!

Room Tip: It is walking distance to everywhere! Perfect location, yet off the beaten path for some nice peace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony. We appreciate the positive comments and look forward to the possibility of serving you again in the very near future. As you experienced what Skyline has to offer, we are happy that you found our product clean and spacious with all amenities needed right here in one location.
Please do not hesitate to call us to book your next vacation.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 10 nights March 11th to 21st in a studio kitchenette on the 28th floor. the room was renovated and we loved the large Lanai. The bathroom is small but who spends alot of time in there! The housekeeping was better some days than others but overall fine. We enjoyed our view and sitting out on the Lanai for breakfast in the morning and drinks in the evening. We could see the fireworks from the Hilton on friday nights.
The 6th floor has a pool and jacuzzi, BBQ's and plenty of room for lounging or having some quiet time to read etc... There is also a small fitness room we used for a morning work out and enjoyed the new equipment that was provided. They were still working around the pool and the jacuzzi was closed down half way through our vacation. It would have been nice to know about this prior to our arrival. Overall the pool area is great and there is lots of space compared to many other hotels/condos in the area. Towels are provide for the pool and beach at the front desk. We even took extra towels when we went on our road trips and it was not a problem.
We went to a managers reception on the Tuesday and had drinks and snacks. There were two staff singing and playing guitars, which was a nice touch. The manager joined in for a couple songs as well and we chatted with other guest...very nice!!
We found the location to work well for us. A short walk to the beach area and close to shopping and a variety of restaurants. We rented a car for the last 3 days of our vacation and parking was $25.00 per day at the hotel. Very easy to drive any where on the Island. We loved paddle boarding out at Kailua and went to the North Shore another day and found some great beach areas there. The West coast of the Island was nice as well and great to do some snorkelling.
Our vacation was wonderful and we would have loved to stay another week. We would definitely stay again at the Aqua Skyline and recommend it to other friends and family.
Thank you to all the staff who were very friendly and helpful. They always said hello, had a smile and asked about our day. Mahalo - Pt, Steve and Leilani for your exceptional customer service!!!! =)
Vancouver, Canada

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your Skyline experience with our on-line readers. WOW, what a great vacation you had. It's great to see that you enjoyed your stay and all that Aqua Skyline at Island Colony has to offer. You also mentioned sevaral of our team members who gave that special touch while you were here which i will be sure to commend at our next employee event. We thank you for your patronage and for choosing Aqua Skyline at Island Colony. We look forward to a another visit in the very near future, should you need assistance with reservations, please do not hesitate to call me directly.

Mahalo!
Brian "Kovy" Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawai, Hawaii, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We loved the modern look and the kitchenette. The location was very convenient. The pool and hot tub looked very inviting. They are still doing some construction and remodeling but that did not impact our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony. As you can see, we have transformed the property to new levels and are finalizing some public area locations as we complete all renovations. We look forward to serving you again and we thank you for your patronage.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had the opportunity of staying at this property from February 11 to March 7th. We were in room 3221, a one bedroom suite. In Hawaii, you spend very little time in your room.......right?
Wrong....... we actually ran into some unfavorable weather with high winds and rain and cool temperttures, on those days you really appreciate the comfort of your room and the amenities of your hotel. My wife and I were very pleased. The property, staff and amenities are excellent.
The 24 hour laundry with the newer washers and driers were appreciated. The new excercise room with the excellent equipment is a definite plus for the property. The hot tub and pool are very nice, however the hours of operation in the evening could be extended so the guests could relax after a long day.

We appreciated the daily free newspaper, and the onsite store on level 6.

All and all we had a wonderful vacation, thanks especially to Moana and of course Steve! Steve you "Are the Island Colony" We look forward to seeing you again next time we have the opportunity of visiting Hawaii.

Thank you all so much!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your Skyline experience with our on-line readers. We appreciate the positive comments regarding your accommodations and we are happy that Mona and Steve went above and beyond to ensure you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to a visit and thank you for choosing Aqua Skyline at Island Colony.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Skyline at Island Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Skyline at Island Colony

Address: 445 Seaside Ave, Waikiki Beach, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Island Colony)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Skyline at Island Colony 3*
Number of rooms: 740
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Skyline at Island Colony infuses the Honolulu cityscape with contemporary urban design in an ideal location just 2 blocks to the beach and near Waikiki's best shopping and dining. Soaring above the city, the hotel is the tallest building in Waikiki at 44-stories. Here you'll find modern 3-star accommodations and spectacular panoramic views of Waikiki's skyline and Diamond Head. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Aqua Skyline at Island Colony allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, you'll enjoy renovated studios and suites appointed with modern decor, deluxe bedding, kitchenettes with granite countertops and stovetops, spacious balconies, and 40" flat screen LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aqua Skyline at Island Colony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Island Colony Hotel Honolulu
Hotel Island Colony
Island Colony Hotel
Aqua Skyline At Island Colony Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.