We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Past and Future” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Skyline at Island Colony

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aqua Skyline at Island Colony to your Saves list
Aqua Skyline at Island Colony
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   445 Seaside Ave, Waikiki Beach, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Island Colony)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #37 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Utica, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Past and Future”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

In may of 2011 myself, wife and 82 year old mother stayed at the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony. At that time major renovations were being done at the hotel. Because of the construction and having a room next to the trash chute I wasn't sure how our stay would be. The convenient location of the hotel and the pleasant and helpful attitude of the staff made our stay a positive one. We are planning another trip to Hawaii in April 2013 this time taking our Grandson. After talking to the staff and especially the Manger Brian K.of the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony who really show the Aloha spirit we will be staying at the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your Skyline experience with our on-line viewers. Our recent room renovations and property transformation has taken us to new heights and we are excited you have chosen us to seve you again in April.
Yes you are correct, we are centrally located in Waikiki and our staff go above and beyond to ensure you have a pleasant stay.
Please call me upon your arrival and should you need anything prior, please do not hesitate to call me directly.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    100
    36
    7
    11
See reviews for
67
74
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sparks, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

On the way to our room out of the elevator, we immediately smelled the aroma of rotting garbage. Our one bedroom room on the 26th floor was two doors away from the trash chute. If we did not keep our window open, the garbage smell would permeate the entire toom. The floors were not cleaned very well. There were hairs (not ours) in the entry tiled area as well as the edge of the carpets as soon as we got into the room. I'm not sure how good housekeeping is as those hairs were never cleaned and our bathroom mirror was never wiped down (same water spots everyday) during our entire stay. On one occasion the maid swept the tiled area with a broom and left whatever was collected right outside our door. The hotel must have a very good photograher since the pictures posted on their site are nicer than the actual room. Our room had one window air conditioner in the bedroom. There was a rubber hose connected to the A/C with it draining into a plastic bucket on the balcony. The view was very nice and the location was good however we will not be returning to this hotel because of the cleanliness issues.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms close to the trash chute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony. We do welcome both praise and areas of improvements and your comments are valuable as me move forward to ensuring these areas are addressed. I do hope that you will consider staying with us again on a future visit to Waikiki.
Please call me directly should you wish to reconsider and make reservations with the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The bathroom was extremely small, room was ok, nothing special! I really love the view from the balcony. I wish this property was closer to the beach. Had to do a lot of walking to get to the happenings..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony. The hotel is centralized in Waikiki and just a few blocks from the beach. Although we are not a beach front property, you will find views of the city, diamond head, Ala Wai Canal and the Ko'olau Mountain Range within sight. We look forward to the possibililty of serving you again.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We were traveling in January and staying at Military hotels. We couldn't get a room one night so I called triple A (AAA) and they called back with this hotel. It was very nice with a good location and reasonable price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for your review of the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony. We appreciate the positive comments and look forward to a return visit in the very near future. Our location is key and rates are very affordable.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The room and view were superb: room 4403 on the top floor gave us a view of Diamond Head, part of Waikiki Beach, and part of the house-studded hill behind the Ala Wi Canal. As well, the staff were friendly and helpful. A young woman named Leilani, working on the check-in desk, was especially helpful. She has a gentle spirit and a kind way with strangers - very well suited to her job. Then, too, there was a resourceful young man named "PT" who helped us get beach mats on loan from the hotel. We're now toying with the idea of visiting your paradisal state in a year's time or so. Mahalo.

Room Tip: Get as far up as you can with an east-end or ocean-side corner view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to post a nice review. As you can tell, service is a priority here and we appreciate the shout out to Leilani and PT. They are an integral part of what makes our hotel unique along with the rest of the staff.
We are looking forward to the possibility of you booking again next year or in the very near future.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waimea, Hawaii, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We had a great time at the island colony hotel. We were on the 28th floor and the room was really nice - the view was amazing! There was a full moon last night and the view of that over the Honolulu skyline was splendid! Plus during the day you can check the surf ;) Great king bed, small kitchenette with sink, microwave, refrigerator and even dish soap and sponge (came in handy with a baby!). Parking is $25/day with in and out privileges, free internet in the lobby. 6th floor has a sauna, pool, convenience store and bbq areas - fun place to lounge!

Room Tip: Get one of the renovated rooms on a higher floor - better view and nice rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Aloha,
Mahalo for the lovely review. Our recent room renovations have been a success and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The Aqua Skyline at Island Colony has many amenities to offer our guests and its nice to hear you took advantage of them. Being the tallest building in Waikiki, the views are breathtaking no matter where your unit is.
We thank you for your patronage and look forward to a future visit.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was not expecting that the room was that big. The hotel service was great; they gave me the highest floor when I requested. They gave me some restaurant tips when I asked. Everything was great, I only had that one night but I am definitely going back with friends or family in this hotel. I was not expecting that my room comes with a stove with necessary kitchen utensils unlike other regular rooms. I am recommending it to my friends who are planning to visit Hawaii.

Room Tip: Request for a higher room and you will have the best view of waikiki and the diamond head :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for posting a review of your experience at the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony. I am pleased, you were able to receive such great service from our team and that you enjoyed your stay. The property has transformed into upscale product and we look forward to the oppurtunity of serving you again.

Mahalo!
Brian Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Aqua Skyline at Island Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Skyline at Island Colony

Address: 445 Seaside Ave, Waikiki Beach, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Island Colony)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Skyline at Island Colony 3*
Number of rooms: 740
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Skyline at Island Colony infuses the Honolulu cityscape with contemporary urban design in an ideal location just 2 blocks to the beach and near Waikiki's best shopping and dining. Soaring above the city, the hotel is the tallest building in Waikiki at 44-stories. Here you'll find modern 3-star accommodations and spectacular panoramic views of Waikiki's skyline and Diamond Head. With our hospitality fee, Aqua Skyline at Island Colony allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include WiFi Internet throughout the hotel and in guest rooms, DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), beach towel and chari rentals, Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, you'll enjoy renovated studios and suites appointed with modern decor, deluxe bedding, kitchenettes with granite countertops and stovetops, spacious balconies, and 40" flat screen LCD TVs. Relax and lounge in the pool area and sundeck, featuring amazing views and BBQ grills for your use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aqua Skyline at Island Colony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Island Colony Hotel Honolulu
Hotel Island Colony
Island Colony Hotel
Aqua Skyline At Island Colony Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.