We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“view to die for from the 42nd floor of the tallest building in waikiki” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Skyline at Island Colony

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Aqua Skyline at Island Colony to your Saves list
Aqua Skyline at Island Colony
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   445 Seaside Ave, Waikiki Beach, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Island Colony)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #36 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Seattle
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“view to die for from the 42nd floor of the tallest building in waikiki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

we stayed here for 2 nights in early jan. I was quite surprised to notice an outdoor reception area .. we got an upgrade to a 1 bedroom panoramic unit on the 42nd floor. the view was to die for .. our bedroom lanai faced diamond head and though we were a few blocks from the ocean we still had a good view of waikiki beach.. since we were celebrating our anniversary we got a complimentary macadamia nut chocolate box from the hotel management, nice surprise !!! We had booked the snooze and cruise package which is a great deal if you are planning to drive around the island and not worry about parking in waikiki .. the lobby is a bit dated but the rooms are nicely renovated and clean .. we did not have air conditioning in the living room though .. All the rooms have been renovated with modern touches and I believe there are plans to upgrade the common areas soon .. we enjoyed our stay here, no complaints whatsoever ..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your thoughts about the Skyline at Island Colony. Yes, the views from the 42nd floor are breathtaking and we are happy you were able to enjoy it. The property has gone through a major renovation both in the rooms and common areas and we are slowly finishing up with the final touches.
We look forward to possibly serving you again in the very near future and thank you for choosing the Aqua Skyline at Island Colony. We hope you had a pleasant anniversary with many many more to come.

Mahalo!
Brian "Kovy" Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    82
    30
    5
    9
See reviews for
58
59
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
oshkosh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

booked through expedia for a panaromic ocean view. We were placed in room 2412 and was disappointed. No one can hardly call a glimpse of the ocean a panaromic ocean view. The room however was clean and functional. The beds were good enough to sleep in and spacious lanai. The bathroom is a different story. It was quite small and if you are taller then 5'6 it would be hard to take a shower. It is in a good location and within walking distance to all the shops. The elevators are quite slow and you never know which one will be opening up. I would recommend if you're only staying a short while like we did which was overnight but for longer stays you may want to go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Save your money and don't book a panaromic ocean view to only see a bit of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your Skyline experience with our on-line readers. We value your opinions and will use them as a tool in our upcoming manager's meeting. We hope to have the chance to serve you again in the very near future, please call me directly as i will be glad to assist you.

Mahalo!
Brian "Kovy" Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My partner and I decided to meet up in Hawaii for New Years and found accommodation hard to come by. Ideally we wanted Kitchen facilities to give us flexibility for eating options. Unable to secure a room with a kitchen for 30th and 31st of Dec 2012 so booked into Hawaii Pacific which was a nice experience until we paid the bill + Taxes [$NZD650 per night], Then relocated to our scheduled Five nights at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony with kitchen facilities, sheltered balcony; good size room, small bathroom and handy kitchen; Pool and Hot tub for 12+ adults. Great Location with onsite parking for our rental car. Room rate [$USD 159 + Taxes] - Service was very friendly - Best value in Waikiki.

Room Tip: Recommend North facing room [Seaside st] so that your balcony is protected from prevailing winds fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Skyline at Island Colony. We are grateful that you were experience what Skyline has to offer and that you found us to be friendly. We are indeed a great value, with renovated rooms and a property with amenities to make your stay enjoyable and memorable.
We look forward to serving you again in the very near future.

Mahalo!
Brian "Kovy" Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We booked our family into a room and they were given a 37th floor room facing Diamond Head. Spectacular view of Diamond Head, Waikiki, Ala Wai Canal and the Pacific Ocean. It was a functional room with two double beds, full sized refrigerator, stove and kitchen sink. The bathroom was so tiny the door couldn't be completely opened. Not good. We booked a room the last two nights our family was there and were put on the 15th floor in a renovated room facing Diamond Head. Nice view also but lots wrong. First we found a pair of shorts hanging on the shower rod, the shower head was very fancy but so low we had to duck under it to get wet, the vent was falling out of the ceiling and had to be pushed back in, the sink was a small kitchen sink, very deep and the stopper was like a kitchen sink. At least we could open the door all the way. The beds were queen sized and the mattress sat on a wooden frame which was too big and we often ran into the corners. Moving the mattress didn't help because if anyone sat or laid on the bed it moved and the corner was exposed again. The toilet seat was so cheap it bent when sat on it and had a sharp point on it and the air conditioner was so loud, even with just the fan, you couldn't hear the t.v. if it was running plus our room was next to the trash shute and when we opened the door the smell would permeate the room. Yuck. The front desk folks were actually very nice especially PT and Marynoll. The pool area is on the sixth floor and it is extremely nice. It is also keyed, in and out. They have a hot tub, showers, bathrooms, sauna, washers and driers and several gas barbeque units that are available for use. There is no WiFI except in the lobby and it costs. Also local phone calls are $1. The hotel is convenient to restaurants and only three blocks from the beach. It is the tallest hotel in Waikiki, however, the elevators don't always work and the convenience store on the 6th is very expensive. Pool towels are available on the 5th floor parking area and a separate elevator goes there, then back to the lobby and on another elevator to the pool. All in all, for the money we paid, it was average in some ways and very disappointing in others plus the price is going up for the renovated rooms. By the way, the room keys are terrible and we had to have them rekeyed three times, a pain.

Room Tip: High floors are not yet renovated (12/12) and the lower floors are but need work with the basics lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Skyline at Island Colony. We take pride in our property and your concerns will be brought up to Senior Management in an effort to improve our product.
Our location and amenities are great with our team members giving an added touch to ensure you have a wonderful stay.
We look forward to the possibility of serving you again. Please call me directly, i will be more than happy to assist you.

Mahalo!
Brian "Kovy" Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed at this place over the Christmas/NY break. We had booked for a pamoramic ocean view room, but instead, were given a city view room. At check-out, I was charged for the OV room and when I asked the front desk about it, they gave me the credit. So, recommend that you always check your bill.

Recently remodeled, clean place. Feels like a apt/condo bldg, not a hotel. They have a pool, mini-mart, and bbq area on the 6th floor. About 3-4 blocks from the beach, but really a short walk.

Not bad for Plan B since the Sheraton Waikiki wasn't available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Aloha and Happy Holidays from the Skyline at Island Colony,
Thank you for taking the time to share your Skyline experience with our on-line readers. We apoligize for the inconvenience you endured during your stay and wish you back on a future visit to Honolulu and Waikiki. The Holiday season is always busiest and although your room request wasn't reached, we are happy the issue was resolved and look forward to the chance to serve you again.
Please call me directly should you need assitance in booking a future stay with us.

Mahalo!
Brian "Kovy" Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We are kama'aina who needed a place to stay while our house was being termite-extermination tented. We opted to stay at the Aqua Skytower as its location on the Ala Wai provides convenient routes to out-of-area restaurants without being stuck in traffic. Brian Kovaloff handled our reservation requests professionally and promptly. We were greeted cordially and warmly by Leilani, who despite being the only person at the front desk, managed to juggle phone calls, check-ins and guest requests with an unflappable and calm friendliness. Our door keys failed to work after three attempts and on the last, Leilani accompanied us upstairs to help. My husband dislikes the Waikiki area to the point of winding himself into an angry frenzy anytime he he
is in the area, so we drove out of Waikiki to have dinner. When we returned, Leilani informed us that the lock, rather than the keys, was broken and that we would be moved to another room. The first room was very comfortable, but the second room was a better upgrade. My husband, a geographer, even relaxed and was able to observe and point out the Kaimuki Dome and its place in the volcanic rift zone from Leahi to the Kaneohe Marine Corps area from the lanai of our new room. He thus lightened up a bit and was able to gain something from our stay. The only drawback for me was the lack of central air-conditioning in the second (one bedroom) room, which kept the bedroom cool, but left the living and dining area warm. Both Brain and Leilani were super! Accommodations in the hospitality industry have everything to do with how one is treated and I loved the cheery and efficient customer service provided us by these two outstanding professionals.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your Skyline experience. We thank you for choosing Skyline and although it was only a short stay we are happy you enjoyed all that Skyline has to offer. We look forward to your next stay with us, please call us directly and we will be glad to assist you.

Mahalo!
Brian "Kovy" Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Having stayed here before Aqua hotels took over was just not what you'd expect from a hotel. Aqua hotels has greatly improved the level of service and the value for rooms in this property. The hotel manager was very professional and made our vacation a wonderful success. Brian is his name and his staff also showed us the real aloha we cone to expect from Hawaii. A good place to stay when coming to Waikiki. We will stay here again. Oh yeah the view Is amazing from our balcony of diamond head and the city lights.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your Skyline experience with our on-line readers. Our recent renovations at the property have been a success and we are glad that you were able to experience first hand what the Skyline at Island Colony has to offer. Our service standards are top notch and are team members go above and beyond to ensure your stay is memorable and everlasting.
We look forward to the oppurtunity to serve you again in the very near future.

Mahalo!
Brian "Kovy" Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Skyline at Island Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Skyline at Island Colony

Address: 445 Seaside Ave, Waikiki Beach, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Island Colony)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Skyline at Island Colony 3*
Number of rooms: 740
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Skyline at Island Colony infuses the Honolulu cityscape with contemporary urban design in an ideal location just 2 blocks to the beach and near Waikiki's best shopping and dining. Soaring above the city, the hotel is the tallest building in Waikiki at 44-stories. Here you'll find modern 3-star accommodations and spectacular panoramic views of Waikiki's skyline and Diamond Head. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Aqua Skyline at Island Colony allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, you'll enjoy renovated studios and suites appointed with modern decor, deluxe bedding, kitchenettes with granite countertops and stovetops, spacious balconies, and 40" flat screen LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aqua Skyline at Island Colony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Island Colony Hotel Honolulu
Hotel Island Colony
Island Colony Hotel
Aqua Skyline At Island Colony Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.