We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and improved hotel !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aqua Skyline at Island Colony

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aqua Skyline at Island Colony to your Saves list
Aqua Skyline at Island Colony
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   445 Seaside Ave, Waikiki Beach, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Island Colony)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #46 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“New and improved hotel !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Having stayed here before Aqua hotels took over was just not what you'd expect from a hotel. Aqua hotels has greatly improved the level of service and the value for rooms in this property. The hotel manager was very professional and made our vacation a wonderful success. Brian is his name and his staff also showed us the real aloha we cone to expect from Hawaii. A good place to stay when coming to Waikiki. We will stay here again. Oh yeah the view Is amazing from our balcony of diamond head and the city lights.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your Skyline experience with our on-line readers. Our recent renovations at the property have been a success and we are glad that you were able to experience first hand what the Skyline at Island Colony has to offer. Our service standards are top notch and are team members go above and beyond to ensure your stay is memorable and everlasting.
We look forward to the oppurtunity to serve you again in the very near future.

Mahalo!
Brian "Kovy" Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    75
    29
    5
    9
See reviews for
54
55
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Waipahu, Hawaii
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel during our anniversary. The front desk I think her name was Haziel, she was really helpful and accommodating. We had such wonderful and very memorable stay and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Aloha,
Happy Anniversary from the Skyline at Island Colony. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the property. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and that Haziel was able to meet your expectations on this special occasion.
We look forward to serving you again in the very near future.

Mahalo!
Brian "Kovy" Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

I was so pleased with our stay at Island colony. I booked our room with this helpful lady, Hazel, and she was very pleasant despite the fact that I wanted to stay at a higher floor. She was efficient and informative. When we checked in, the wait wasn't long. The room was clean and very nice and I loved our view from the balcony. I would definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Skyline at Island Colony. We appreciate the positive comments and that you mentioned one of our employees who gave great service. We look forward to your next stay with us and thank you for your patronage.

Mahalo!
Brian "Kovy" Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Best hotel in Waikiki. Only a block and a half to the main Waikiki Beach and shops. Just down the road to the bus stops that can take you everywhere. Very affordable and the staff are so friendly and helpful. My daughter and I holidayed there, we had a double bed each, comfortable bathroom and kitchenette. The renovations have made it very new looking and trendy. Pool area is also good. 24 hr laundry and the mini mart on the 6th floor are added bonus' and cheap & handy. Free WiFi available in the beautiful lobby area. We will definately be staying here again, and would recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool would be quieter. We were on the 8th floor and it was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share your Skyline experience with our on-line readers. It appears that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our hotel met all your expectations. Yes, we are centrally located in Waikiki near many shops and restaurants and only about 2 blocks away from the beach. Our property has all you need including a convenient store which is open til midnight daily.
We look forward to your next vacation with us and hope that you consider Skyline at Island Colony.

Aloha from Hawaii,
Brian "Kovy" Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

We are locals and like to stay in Waikiki for the weekend sometimes. This is always our hotel of choice. Its location is convenient and safe.

The renovation of the hotel is awesome! The renovated rooms are really nice and modern, and for the price, it's a REALLY great deal! I would recommend booking as soon as you are sure of your travel plans. We've had to go elsewhere a few times because of unavailability, and were very disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We appreciate the positive comments and am glad that you enjoyed your stay. The property room renovations have been a success and we are grateful you were able to experience it with us.

We look forward to your next stay at the Skyline at Island Colony..

Mahalo!
Brian "Kovy" Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

The new renovation of the hotel is incredible. Whenever I stay in Hawaii the Skyline is a must. Staff is incredible. Shows us the true Aloha Spirit.

My only complaint is....hotel is so nice and convenient....rooms are getting booked. I just checked out today and had to move to another hotel because the word is getting out. Sold out....bummer...wish I was still there.

I was tempted to give a bad rating just to make sure they have room for me every trip....but I can't...I love the hotel too much

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Skyline at Island Colony. I apoligize we were not able to extend your stay with us and look forward to the possibility of a return trip to our property. Room renovations have been a success and we are glad you were able to experience first hand all what was done.
Please call us directly when you are ready to return, we would be happy to assist you.

Mahalo!
Brian "Kovy" Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

The perfect experience will definately be back! Very clean and beautiful rooms. Great view from room. I would recommend this hotel very affordable and very very clean! Very friendly staff as well! It was a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, Manager at Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Skyline at Island Colony. We appreciate the positive comments and look forward to your next stay with us. The comment "I would live here" says a lot about our hotel, product and service. We are happy to exceed your expectations and that you found the Skyline at Island Colony be clean and up to standard.
Please call us directly when you are ready to return to the Skyline at Island Colony, we would be glad to assist you.

Mahalo!
Brian "Kovy" Kovaloff
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aqua Skyline at Island Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqua Skyline at Island Colony

Address: 445 Seaside Ave, Waikiki Beach, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Aqua Island Colony)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqua Skyline at Island Colony 3*
Number of rooms: 740
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aqua Skyline at Island Colony infuses the Honolulu cityscape with contemporary urban design in an ideal location just 2 blocks to the beach and near Waikiki's best shopping and dining. Soaring above the city, the hotel is the tallest building in Waikiki at 44-stories. Here you'll find modern 3-star accommodations and spectacular panoramic views of Waikiki's skyline and Diamond Head. With our hospitality fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Aqua Skyline at Island Colony allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, Local & Toll-Free Calls, Water in Lobby, and a Weekly Manager's Reception. In addition, you'll enjoy renovated studios and suites appointed with modern decor, deluxe bedding, kitchenettes with granite countertops and stovetops, spacious balconies, and 40" flat screen LCD TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aqua Skyline at Island Colony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Island Colony Hotel Honolulu
Hotel Island Colony
Island Colony Hotel
Aqua Skyline At Island Colony Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqua Skyline at Island Colony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.