We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feel disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head to your Saves list
Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2885 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Feel disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I decided to write my first hotel feedback for this hotel is because it really brought me down. First of all my BF and I picked this hotel as it highly recommended by trip advisor. The hotel itself is clean. But things turned down when I lost my most expensive and most meaningful necklace at this hotel. And the stuff did not even really try to help we to find it at all. so watch out your belonging if u chose at this hotel

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Aloha Rita,

I would like to apologize for the loss of your necklace. We take issues of theft very seriously and if you did not receive the assistance that you needed while here, I take full responsibility for that and I will correct the matter immediately. My team and I have researched you claim and at this time, we can not find any information regarding your complaint. Please contact me at the email below so that we may assist you further. I look forward to hearing from you and resolving this matter.

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager
jgray@lotushawaii.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    140
    31
    7
    7
See reviews for
123
266
55
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Before we forget, the bad news: this place at the extreme eastern end of Waikiki is tricky to find by car the first time around. That is, the one thing the hotel lacks is a good roadside sign; so we missed it the first time, and had to do a long loop around Queen Kapiolani Park, and try again. And this was in broad daylight; but at least it's a low-speed zone. The entrance to the small parking lot is subtle and easily missed, and the main hotel entrance is off that same parking alleyway, under an overhanging roof.

The parking, being tight, is by valet only, but the valets are quick and polite, and they do not expect tips. The service here is young, but polite and helpful. Room service requests are quickly answered. Our spotless high corner room offered a view of Diamond Head and a partial view of the ocean (it's not a wide building, by Waikiki standards). There was a good stiff breeze in the evenings. The WiFi was free, and strong. Wine "hour" was from 3-5 and involved one white and one red; self-serve.

The "Pascal Morabito" toiletries are great - little odor, and no greasy residue. The room has good towels too.

The hallways are exterior only, and we did hear a child running nearby on occasion. Why do people spoil their children by bringing them to places like this? Please, folks, leave the kids at home, or take them to the Holiday Inn; this is the kind of hotel best appreciated by mature and sophisticated adults. The hotel is right across the street from Queen Kapiolani Park. This is good, and bad. Bad, because on weekends Hawaiian families gather for barbecues and loud music, which can last all day; but they're gone by 10 pm. Good, because you can walk across the park in the morning to the nearby restaurants and breakfast places on the northwest side of the park, on Montserrat (see our other reviews - Diamond Head Grill, South Shore Grill, and so on). Do this, rather than having the "continental" in-hotel breakfast, which is pricey and nothing special.

The bed was low (as we like it), and comfortable. The pictures on the website gave an accurate semblance of our room. No problems at all with water or electricity. A small aquarium run by a university is a short walk along the waterfront, and is a worthwhile place to visit.

We would stay here again if we were in the Waikiki area. But next time, if we can afford it, we'll try the penthouse.

Room Tip: Choose a corner, facing away from Waikiki.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This was my first trip to Hawaii and I was very skeptical on how to choose a hotel but the Lotus was great! The entire staff was extraordinarily nice from check in to check out. The location was nice and quiet from the very busy strip of Waikiki. They offer valet parking, free wine, free wi-fi and housekeeping came twice a day to see if you needed anything from ice to additional towels. Just a few steps from the beach and they provided beach towels and chairs and free bikes for riding! The room was nice and the bed was so comfortable! Everyone was so helpful with any activities we wanted to plan or do! Great choice for my birthday vacation spot!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

My (new) husband and I stayed here at the Aqua Lotus the weekend of our wedding, in a premium Diamond Head and Ocean view room. The view of Diamond Head was spectacular! The ocean view was partially blocked by other hotels, but these days, that's what "ocean view" means. Nevertheless it was all around beautiful. Didn't get to explore the grounds too much but what we saw was great. There's a complimentary happy hour in the lobby and coffee on one of the floors. Will return for our next trip! Thanks!

Room Tip: Splurge on those views! So worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

We just had a thirteen nights in this hotel, both my wife and I really enjoyed our stay. All of the staff are excellent.

I particularly liked that the hotel as bicycles at no charge for use of the guests.

There is free bottled water available at all times, the parking and the internet is also at no cost and every afternoon there is a wine tasting.

The hotel's breakfast is very sparse and the restaurant is closed at lunch but the hotel next door is only a minutes walk away and its restaurant serves excellent breakfasts and lunches.

I ate in the Lotus's restaurant three times and enjoyed the food. Annie our server and Pam the barkeeper were both friendly and helpful with our food choices and suggestions for things to do.

It is an easy ten minute walk into Waikiki. An earlier poster mentioned the "characters" in the park that have to be walked by. At no time was I or my wife ever bothered or approached by any of them. People were walking and jogging by themselves at all hours so I assume they felt safe.

Room Tip: We booked on ocean view room. Ours was on the 11th floor and the ocean view was certainly adequate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We spent 4 nights here and the hotel was wonderful. Very clean, we had a corner room on the 12th floor with stunning views. The wine that was served from 3 - 5 was most welcome. There was a restaurant on site and we used this for dinner on two occasions and breakfast on one morning. The staff were very helpful and in fact this was the best bit of our holiday.

Room Tip: Pay for a room with a balcony - worth the extra. It is really quiet in the whole building so no pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 8 nights and lotus was a retreat from the chaos of Waikiki. Enjoyed the walks into town and walking off the oversized meals of the USA. Whale watching off the balcony was a treat. Large clean rooms and bike riding, wine drinking, internet and no surprise extra charges. Thanks Lotus thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Address: 2885 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#4 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated enclave located on the famed Gold Coast of Waikiki, the Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, formerly W Honolulu, is a fusion of Asian inspired decor and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Nestled between Kapiolani Park and a spectacular white sand beach shared with Outrigger Canoe Club, this hotel offers a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki with remarkable views of majestic Diamond Head and the Pacific ocean. With our boutique fee guests will enjoy WiFi Internet access, in room safe, complimentary coffee and tea service in the lobby, daily wine service in lobby, valet and concierge services, banquet/meeting facilities, beach butler service, complimentary bicycles and complimentary use of beach towels & chairs for Waikiki, which is just steps to Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Lotus Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Hotel
Lotus Honolulu At Diamond Head Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.