We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MORE THAN LOVED IT!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head to your Saves list
Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2885 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #6 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“MORE THAN LOVED IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was my first trip to Hawaii and I did a lot of research on TripAdvisor prior to going.

This hotel was FABULOUS, exactly what I wanted... but it's important to know what you want: I was looking for a smaller, quieter, boutique-style hotel where I could get a great room with fantastic views and high quality service at a reasonable price. I wanted to be right on the ocean (not across the street from it), away from the crowded bustle of Waikiki (yet within easy walking distance of it). This hotel was all that and more: view of the ocean and Diamond Head, Triple A staff, right across from Kapiolani Regional Park (lots of fitness activities going on there), within in walking distance of zoo, aquarium and plenty of bus stops (bus system is pretty easy to navigate and inexpensive, but no problem getting a cab any time if you prefer - I did both).

The hotel offers complimentary WIFI and wine between 3-5 PM, there is now a restaurant open on the premises (dinner only). There is complimentary coffee/tea service in the morning on the 2nd floor where you can also purchase. simple continental style breakfast items. My room (8th floor corner) had 2 balconies, complimentary water, refrigerator and a Starbucks Verissimo coffee maker that produced first rate lattes! Room service was twice/day. The decor was lovely,the room/bathroom was large,and the beds were extremely comfortable.

There is an ATM in the hotel's spacious, serene and tastefully decorated lobby, a nearby convenience store and the award-winning Michel's Restaurant (French Haute Cuisine with an amazing view... you will not regret ordering Cherries Jubilee).

I would re-book or recommend this hotel in a heartbeat, unless you ABSOLUTELY want a large, noisy, cookie-cutter, crowded hotel within the high end shopping district where you have to cross a heavily trafficked street in order to be at an over-populated beach.

Room Tip: If within your budget, get best possible room, higher up, away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Aloha Jschur11,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. I do not think I could have written a better review myself. The importance of knowing what you want is key, when choosing a boutique hotel. There are so many "little" things that we offer that sets us apart from other hotels. I believe you found a lot of them! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    152
    37
    8
    7
See reviews for
133
288
58
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walkerton, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Very comfortable and everyone was super friendly and accommodating. I love the Breakfast Room, particularly the granola, the Dining Room, and the wine list. The view was marvelous and I could watch the sun rise over Diamond Head. I appreciated the tone of the hotel which was not as commercial as many hotels.

Room Tip: Explain exactly what kind of room you would like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Aloha Anne-Louise G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. The next time you come, you will have to watch the moon rise over Diamond Head. It is a spectacular site! Hope to see you soon and keep warm during the winter.

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great hotel! Been visiting the Lotus for years, very help and friendly staff. Excellent restaurant and breakfast terrace and enjoying the complimentary wine in the afternoon. Great location and the rooms are a great size and well kept. Enjoyed the peaceful surroundings and the easy access to the neighborhood. Will be back soon...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Aloha Coups2013,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. Peaceful surroundings and easy access to the neighborhood is exactly what we are trying to provide! We thank you for your patronage over the years and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Amazingly clean, professional staff, love the bikes, yoga and wine every afternoon. A fantastic value! The staff was fantastic, restaurant nice and the breakfast bar excellent! The people that managed that were great!!

Room Tip: The room was as billed..beautiful, quiet and clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Aloha shirley p,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. I'm delighted to hear that you took advantage of some of our complimentary amenities. We hope to add more amenities in the coming year. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the staff. We look forward to seeing you again.

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills. Ca
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A fabulous property directly across from Diamond Head. Very special, very romantic, light years from your typical bustling Waikiki hotel. Terrific service, beautiful ocean view rooms tastefully decorated and surprisingly very reasonably priced. A crowning touch is the Park Restaurant located in the hotel. Very creative menu wonderfully executed with top notch service. Looking forward to returning on our next visit to Hawaii.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Aloha Estahler,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. Our service and location are two of our greatest assets! We are very happy to have Park Restaurant open for business and we look forward to many more creative dishes in the future.

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The room is bright, airy and both the room and bathroom are spacious and comfortable. It is modern and the staff are friendly. It is an easy walk to the main Waikiki area along the beach and park.

We ate at the restaurant 'Park' on our first night as we were exhausted from international travel- it was fantastic- food was great as was the service.

The lobby is nothing fancy nor the lift but the rooms and restaurant do feature- we would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a corner room and the views were good a higher floor they would be even better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Aloha Rusky_13,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. We are delighted that you had a "bright and relaxing" stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the Chef at Park. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Good:
- The rooms look new, with a modern decor that is kept clean.
- The hotel is a little off the beaten path of Waikiki in a quiet part of Waikiki, yet still with walking distance of the shopping, restaurants, and bars. I prefer the quiet area, as I come to Hawaii to relax - not eat at Cheesecake Factory, shop at the Ferrari Store, and get over-whelmed by a "World War Z" swarm of tourists on the beach.
- The hotel has its own restaurant for dinner (no breakfast or room service, however), and there are three nearby restaurants (Michel's, New Otani Hotel, and Beach Front Cafe).
- The hotel has free wine from 3-5PM (legit!), and coffee/muffins for a charge during the morning (lame).
- Next door is a small convenience store selling sundries, snacks, hygiene products, alcohol, etc.
- The staff is efficient, friendly, and cool as [--] (offering paper cups so we could take our "juice" to the beach).

The downsides:
- Hotel is not beach front, and the "ocean view room" pictures are terrible misleading. The "ocean views" are the backsides of two taller buildings (which are beach front); in fact, you are better off getting a Diamond Head view, as they may offer great vistas of Kapiolani Park and Diamond Head. However, the hotel is within very easy walking distance (like ±150 feet), and they offer beach chairs.
- No pool or gym. But whatever, you can swim in the ocean and do a few hikes.
- No breakfast. The Beach Front Cafe is really good (and offers cheap eats), but requires a short walk to the park. But, damn, why not serve a basic breakfast, even for a charge?
- No Room service. You have a restaurant, why not go the slightly extra step?
- And, the travesty of travesties, no MINI BAR! How do you expect me to get "housed"?

Bottom line: I would stay here again if I stayed at a high room facing Diamond Head... and brought a supply of cereal and wine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Aloha Harold_Crick,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Lotus Honolulu. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would come back in the future. Our restaurant, Park, is coming along quite well and some of the suggestions you made are actually being considered. We hope to see you again soon.

Mahalo,

Joshua M. Gray
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Address: 2885 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated enclave located on the famed Gold Coast of Waikiki, the Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head is a fusion of Asian inspired decor and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Nestled between Kapiolani Park and a spectacular white sand beach shared with Outrigger Canoe Club, this hotel offers a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki with remarkable views of majestic Diamond Head and the Pacific ocean. With our boutique fee, guests will enjoy amenities including: WiFi Internet access throughout the hotel, Valet Parking, unlimited DVD movies and Playstation 3 games, in-room Coffee, in-room Safe, Coffee and Tea service in the lobby, daily Wine Service in lobby, Concierge Services, daily Newspaper, Bicycles and use of Beach Towels & Chairs, outdoor Yoga Classes, and Waikiki Shuttle Service. We also offer admission for (2) at the Honolulu Museum of Art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Lotus Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Hotel
Lotus Honolulu At Diamond Head Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.