We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good times on the Island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head to your Saves list
Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   2885 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%!
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good times on the Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great Service,Employees and Room.

Positives: Great Views...close to the beach(free towels and chairs - Free Bike usages, close to the Zoo, Aquarium, Waikiki eat and drinking locations, shopping. They provided wines couple nights we were there and even free massage in the lobby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    131
    30
    7
    7
See reviews for
117
253
53
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Let me start with the fact that I am in the hospitality business. That being said, I would be proud to have any of the Aqua Lotus staff work for me. Upon arrival there was a misunderstanding regarding the requested room. The attending bellman, wish I could remember his name, went to the front desk to resolve the issue. It was addressed quickly and without any argument. I live in a rural area and the quieter end of Waikiki work well for my husband and I. The room was clean, the bed very comfortable and the decor pleasant. Although not directly on the beach, it is a very short stroll to a uncrowded beach with calm, clear water (who needs a pool, you're in Hawaii). A short walk through the park and pass the aquarium is the hustle and bustle of Waikiki Beach with dozens of restaurants. I have already recommended the Aqua Lotus to others and look forwarded to returning someday. Great Job!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I got this tip from a family friend, that the Aqua Lotus was the place to stay. I will be back: it's out of the wildness of Waikiki with perfect views of Diamond Head and across from the enormous Kapiolani Park. I could easily get to the fun on the famous beach, but I wasn't in the swirl, a perfect fit for me. The small property was excellent, although they do need to fix the bearings on the elevator door -- it grinds like mad with every open and close and can be heard in the quiet. Rooms were very nice, and it was just right for me.

The lobby had a big carafe of icewater with mint or fruit in it in the afternoon, and the rooms had very sophisticated espresso machines, although the instructions were kind of hard to understand and in general those "pod" machines make awesome coffee but lots of waste, so it's a luxury but a bit too much. (I liked it but wouldn't own one.) The lobby also had lovely koa panels and tasteful decor, and was very small so it felt like a living room.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the elevator, until they fix that rolling door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

i suggest to every european to stay away from this hotel!
after 24 hours of flying you get a room with a beautiful view of.... the car park!
welcome to honolulu!
i had a Room Type: Diamond Head View Premium and asked to be transfered, but was told that the hotel was fully booked.....
while on the internet the rooms were offered with 30% (!) reduction!
5 dreadful days for $ 2000.- !!!! (without breakfast)
they praise themselves with tripadvisor, don’t believe a word (just read below)
the hotel has no pool and no beach front (access between the blocks to 5sqm of sand)
the premium rooms have 2 balconies.... on the second balcony you can’t even swing a cat (see photo)
no restaurant no bar, just a breakfast army dining hall
one elevator for the whole hotel
room is not clean
they are talking about rennovations.... see the mould in the shower and rust on the sink plug (photos)
the peaceful night in paradise starts with street noise. when it finally stops , the cheap fridge must announce loud and clear when the compressor starts working and also everytime it stops!
have a relaing holiday!


and if you decide to book a room in this heaven, don’t book directly with the hotel (let them pay the booking.com/orbitz.com etc commission) even if they talk about cheapest offer!

PS
FEB 22ND THE MANAGER PROMISED ME A PEANUT REFUND OF $200.- ....... I AM STILL FIGHTING FOR IT!!!!!
what is the trip-advisor note doing at their reception......???

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, General Manager at Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Aloha itzibitzi,
Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay. I am very sorry to hear that your stay at the Lotus did not meet your expectations and would be happy to follow up with you regarding the $200 refund issued. If you would care to email me directly at mpickett@aquaresorts.com I would be happy to look into this further.
I am also pleased to share that, since February, all of our bathrooms have been refurbished with fresh caulk and new sink plugs.

Sincerely,

Matt Pickett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our stay there was great! It was off the beaten path and quiet. The staff made us feel very welcome, and every night there was free wine in the lobby! How great is that? You could even go on a bike ride around Kapiolani Park and Diamond Head. The beach outside of the hotel was great for adults and children. Each room has a great view of beach and Diamond Head. Spectacular!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
University Place, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Overall a pleasant stay near Waikiki. Positives include a retreat from the heavy tourist area of Waikiki but close enough to experience it all. Travis is what made this property standout. He was attentive, always helpful and wanted to make our stay special. Allen also was pleasant. We stayed in an ocean view premium on the 12th floor. The full view of Diamond Head and expansive views of the ocean were excellent. It is a smaller property so the feel is relaxed. The beach is close and it seemed more locals were at this end of the beach so we never missed the pool. While they offer free coffee in the morning, it is odd that they have a large area on the second floor for a restaurant but it is largely unused at this time. The wine in the afternoon is a nice touch and we appreciated the lemon water throughout the day. The bikes are fun but both needed air in the tires and it did not appear the staff was interested ensuring the maintenance of the bikes. For the price of the room, I would have expected better soundproofing. You unfortunately hear conversations through the connecting doors in the room. On the plus side, housekeeping goes out of their way to ensure you have what you need for a comfortable stay. The location is great for taking walks around Diamond Head which provide great views of the ocean.

Room Tip: You count go wrong with end units on upper floors that have two balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay of Plenty
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our quiet location although it was a decent walk to town. We made good use of the complimentary bikes which was a fun and faster way of getting around. Taxi was approx $15 from lotus to the pink palace which we thought was pricey but largely due to the maze of one way streets! You are unable to book bikes so first in first served. We stayed in a premium ocean view room which had a wrap around balcony and spectacular views. I would recommend requesting a room number ending in '21' rather than '25' as although they are both premium ocean view they are on opposite sides of the hotel and the '21' has far superior and less obstucted views. We were disappointed that although we had requested a king bed we were put in s room with 2 small double beds and were unable to change because the hotel was full for duration of our stay. Unfortunately they stipulate that they cant guarantee which bedding configuration you will get but this was definitely an issue for us and we would have booked elsewhere had we known we would be in a room with double beds. The lift was slow as there is only one in the hotel so make sure you allow for this. Apart from those two issues it was a lovely hotel. Allen the bell boy was extremely knowledgable and helpful, Sarah at the front dest was extremely accommodating and friendly as was Denise in the breakfast restaurant. The rooms were beautiful, spacious, airy,inviting and quiet and we all enjoyed the complimentary wines between 4-6pm each day down in the lobby and as we were a party of 6 the lobby was a lovely area to socialise and play cards etc. If you would like to travel any distance you need to book the shuttles a day ahead or you will be paying for an extremely expensive taxi fare EG $140 round trip to the outlet stores in a taxi as opposed to $22 in a shuttle but they require a days notice. The beach was lovely for sunning and swimming and the hotel provide you with beach towels and mats. We had two outstanding dinners and both only steps from the hotel. The first at Hau tree Lanai and the other at Michele's .. I would highly recommend both of these restaurants. Happy holidaying :-)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head

Address: 2885 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly The Lotus at Diamond Head)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#3 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated enclave located on the famed Gold Coast of Waikiki, the Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, formerly W Honolulu, is a fusion of Asian inspired decor and warm Hawaiian hospitality. Nestled between Kapiolani Park and a spectacular white sand beach shared with Outrigger Canoe Club, this hotel offers a peaceful retreat from the hustle and bustle of Waikiki with remarkable views of majestic Diamond Head and the Pacific ocean. With our boutique fee guests will enjoy WiFi Internet access, in room safe, complimentary coffee and tea service in the lobby, daily wine service in lobby, valet and concierge services, banquet/meeting facilities, beach butler service, complimentary bicycles and complimentary use of beach towels & chairs for Waikiki, which is just steps to Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Lotus Honolulu Hotel Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Honolulu
Lotus At Diamond Head Hotel
Lotus Honolulu At Diamond Head Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lotus Honolulu at Diamond Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.